We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience! Great Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basecamp Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Basecamp Hotel to your Saves list
Basecamp Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Experience! Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Was traveling through to Arizona when I came across this brand new and amazing 50-room place tucked into the Cal-Nev border. As a world traveler I have not often stumbled upon such a pleasurable find and can not say enough about the bespoke-to-the-location experience I had. Wow-Wee-Woo-Woo!

Everything from the room design to the s'mores by the fire at night seemed tailor-made for the location in which this hotel sits. On top of these attributes were the little touches like....granola in serving sized brown bag, hair-dryers that simultaneously massaged and dried my head, a wonderful coffee bar that turns into a beer bar out night, a hot tub with very clean water, as well as the most comfortable mattress I have slept own since childhood.

Then there was the service....the lads who checked me in knew soo much about the area that my two day stay was never boring. For example, they were kind enough to direct me to a nearby park and hiking trail where I saw salmon mating, bears climbing, and moles moling. Also, one of the managers I met (Christian Stroopel?) was generous with his time and smile as he showed us how to use the property's very comfortable cruiser-style bikes to get around town and down to his restaurant on the beach of Lake Tahoe.

Not much more I can say expect that after I left I felt like I had lived as a local at this Base Camp Hotel. I hope to find more soon!

Ride Da Wave!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    54
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
58
108
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for a whole week (apparently only the second family to do so since opening) and it was the best hotel experience we've ever had. The staff were super friendly and will give out tons of recommendations for dining and exploring. A special thanks to Robbie, Dan and Brian who were immensely helpful on their tips.

The hotel has a completely hip modern and rustic decor and I especially loved the original art touches in every room. It's reminiscent of a great boutique hotel (Ace) and is definitely not your run of the mill hotel. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the porch overseeing Heavenly Valley made for a great spot for an afternoon or evening drink sitting in their awesome lime green adirondack chairs. The location couldn't be better, as you are in short walking distance to a private beach, marina (which can take you across the lake to Camp Richardson for one of their amazing Rum Runners), Heavenly Village and the casinos.

By far the best hotel experience and we will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here with some friends in early Oct. The weather was spectacular but it was offseason so it wasn't crowded around town. Love the fire pit and the smores - nice touch! Service was friendly and very helpful. Nice design touches throughout - you can see the attention to detail the owners put in to the property - all the way down to the lighting in the room. I would definitely recommend basecamp to folks who want to get out of SF for the weekend and decompress and hike Tahoe or for families as I heard they have bunk bed rooms. Can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: Ask to see the "great indoors" room if you want something fun and different
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Ditto as per all the other comments. Brand spanking new, cool design touches and super comfy bed after a day out exploring Tahoe. In short, it was excellent! Breakfast buffet was OK, but then I can eat for England!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here after reading reviews and was not disappointed. Fabulously comfortable beds, great little design ideas in the room. Very importantly the room was spotlessly clean. Staff are young and really enthusiastic. Good continental breakfast included in the room rate. Good location for access to the beach and also local places to eat. Enjoyed staying here.

Room Tip: Away from the bar area where enthusiastic sports fans were watching something till around 11 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A great wee find. Stayed here with some work colleagues and we were made to feel really welcome. The rooms are awesome; comfortable and decorated nicely. It was a great location for access to the Lake and pretty convenient to get anywhere else. The hot-tub was fantastic after a hard day on the mountain. Would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California and Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We decided to extend our stay in Tahoe and stayed at the Basecamp Hotel for our extra night.
The hotel is located about a block away from the main boulevard and about a block away from the Nevada state line.
There were some lovely touches to the hotel, especially on the design front. Rooms had artwork which captured the spirit of the hotel.
Breakfast was included and was a lovely touch (fresh orange juice, coffee, tea, bagels, delicious pastries).
The staff were also very knowledgeable and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Basecamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Hotel

Address: 4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a new hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Basecamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basecamp Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.