We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect For a Family” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Richardson Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Camp Richardson Resort to your Saves list
Camp Richardson Resort
1900 Jameson Beach Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect For a Family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Don't expect TV's, air-conditioning, telephones or WIFI. There are however a wide array of recreational activities and lodging options including: cabins, an historic hotel, marina/beach duplex, beach side inn, RV park and campgrounds. Also, lakeside dining, a general store as well as an ice-cream parlor. The Mountain Sports Center offers rental as well as hiking maps. My traveling companion and I had the Buick cabin with two bedrooms, each with a double & single bed. There was a pull-out couch in the living room and a full kitchen. The one bathroom had a rather small shower. Outside each cabin there is a grill which all our neighboring cabins seemed to utilize.
On the plus side we were steps from Lake Tahoe and only 50 feet from the back entrance to the historic Valhalla site. The narrow road from the hotel to all the cabins is only wide enough for one car. Luckily, we never had a problem getting to and from our cabin. If you are there with a family or need to relax, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Hope that your neighbors are not loud or have wild parties. Opening the windows at night let in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    39
    20
    14
    18
See reviews for
55
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I was on a 5 week road trip with my family in July, and stayed 2 nights at Camp Richardson (Badgers Den campground). The facilities at the campground are really bad, and the owner should definitely spend some money fixing the place. During the 5 weeks we stayed at app. 25 different campgrounds in 8 different states, and Camp Richardson was, by far, the most disapointing experience. Not recommended!

Kjetil, Norway

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed a night in the campground, which is ok. It is more expensive than a national park campground, and the sites are much smaller, but that part was ok.

What went wrong is that I wanted to go fishing, and had only few hours ahead of me. So I went to their Information center, were I was offered different solutions, including the Fallen Leaf Lake (beautiful!) and the Lake Tahoe itself. I pointed out my interest for pedalboat rental (we were three, and as we did before, that would allow my family to have fun while I catch the meal ;) ). It said that it was completely doable, gave me the info, and we headed to the marina.

When we arrived, the young lady that was in charge got us registered, and once everything was set, we went on the paddleboard. As soon as we were on it, another lady helped us go backwards and showed us the limits we were not supposed to cross: what a joke !!!! We couldn't go further than 50 feet, obviously not enough to fish, and just not enough to get away from the crowd and explore the area.

So 10 seconds after we got onboard, we were back to the registration desk to tell the lady that it was not going to work. She immediately said that there was no refund, that it was written on the form we signed and that she couldn't do anything. She even stated that there was no fish anyway in the lake.... After trying to discuss with her we just left, as she didn't want to even reconsider, stating that they had to pay a fee for the credit card (she was not using a terminal, what would it had changed if she canceled the rental ????). So we lost $30 out of the worst customer service possible !!

As a side note, we then went to the fallen leaf lake, and they also have a rental booth there. I talked with the guy and explained what happened, and out of nowhere the guy offered us to take one of his 3-people canoe for an hour for... free. Just because he wanted us to have a good day after all. Fortunately the world is not filled with brainless people !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and camped at the rv park and had a great time. You can stay here a few days and not need to leave. The campground was very clean and nice and they have partial ofr full hookups and hot showers and flush toilets . There is a great restaurant and bar, very nice beach and hiking trails. Overall a nice place to relax for a few days, I will be going back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We only went here to rent a speedboat from the marina which is the second time we have done this from here. The team are all excellent and offer you great advice for the trip and to ensure you do not da,age the boat which will cost you. Just take the advice it is well worth it. We only had an hour and a quarter but more than enough time to go round Emarald Isle which we stopped at and swam around in which was amazing. The beach here is also very good and a great place to relax in. Well worth the time and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were not staying at this property but wanted to check it out for maybe a future place to stay next trip. We walked the grounds and beach. It was crowded for a Monday. We didn't find the atmosphere relaxing at all. We waited about 30 minutes to get a table in the restaurant. Ate outside at a front table on the deck. The food and service were average. The lobster and shrimp in my Po-Boy sandwich were overly deep fried. My husband enjoyed his Philly cheesesteak much more. Two people started playing volleyball on the beach 4 feet in front of our table while we were eating which was more than a little annoying. Vote still out on whether we will return to this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

As part of our California trip we stopped off at this site for a couple if days.
The place itselve is in a stunning location.
We stayed in the main hotel which was compact & clean. Problem was the squeaky floor boards. The people upstairs sounded like they were dancing from very early hours of the morning.
There is also a limited choice of food & drinking places with in walking distance.
The main bar & grill only allow you to sit outside if you order food.
I like eating inside (because of flys) & then sitting outside for a drink. It was very packed so you needed to book.
The small gift store/cafe did a nice sandwich which we took on a bike ride. I can recommed that, the cycling paths are well maintained. The lakes really are stunning.
We also took a trip on the Rum runner. Really did not get the point, you pay $39 each for an 1 1/2 with no information on the lake & a charge of $8 for the so called rum runner cocktail.
I would go back again (if i was in this part of the world agsin) but would recommend booking really early & getting a cabin.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
4.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#12 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
5.4 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#8 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
2.6 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#28 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Richardson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Richardson Resort

Address: 1900 Jameson Beach Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic year-round resort secluded in old-growth forest on 125 acres adjacent to Lake Tahoe's longest stretch of sandy beach, features 26 hotel rooms, 7 motel rooms, 43 cabins (19 year-round), the 7-bedroom Richardson House, 100 RV sites and 200 tent campsites. Property amenities include a General Store & Cafe, the Beacon Bar & Grill lakeside restaurant, Mountain Sports Center (bicycling in summer, X-C skiing & snowshoeing in winter), as well as seasonal full-service Marina, Ice Cream Parlor and Coffee & Confectionery shop. Horseback riding is available 0.2 miles north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camp Richardson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Richardson Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Camp Richardson Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Richardson Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.