We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 24 Hours Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Richardson Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Camp Richardson Resort to your Saves list
Camp Richardson Resort
1900 Jameson Beach Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best 24 Hours Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We came up to Tahoe for an overnighter. Room was awesome, weather was great for this part of year, no one was around. Very Quiet for this area, the summers are packed as it should be. We stayed at the rooms near the water, very nice, pine trees and lake views from room. Rates very reasonable for off season. Next stay will be in one of the cabins for longer that one night. Thanks to staff for their courteous service!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    14
    12
    16
See reviews for
47
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our Family, Sr. mother and father, adult son and wife and 2 young children, and single adult son stayed in the two bedroom T-Bird Cabin. Great view of Lake Tahoe. Cabin was well furnished. It was warm in 30 degree weather. A gas fireplace added to the wintertime ambience The kitchen had all needed dishes and equipment. Hot water for showers.

Room Tip: The T-Bird cabin seems to be closest wintertime cabin to the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family wanted a little getaway to celebrate two birthdays. We decided to spend a long weekend at Historic Camp Richardson cabins. We rented two cabins that faced beautiful Lake Tahoe. The cabins were ready when we arrived which made the grand children very happy. These cabins are rustic but very clean and equipped with everything you need to have a very enjoyable time. The two cabins we rented were Tbird and Willy's knight. These two cabins were close to each other which made it very easy for the ten of us to travel between cabins. You can check Richardson's website for room configurations. Our family had a amazing time making memories while enjoying the beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed there for two nights on Christmas Eve and Day. We had 7 people, so we rented one of the large cabins. It was awesome! It had a living room with a fireplace, kitchen with supplies, and two smaller rooms with beds. Overall, very clean, very warm, and a great experience.

Warning: Snow is big in the winter. Your driveway may be no more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and we had a blast. Octoberfest and the Salmon Festival was within walking distance. The staff there were friendly and informative. The campsites were very clean. The bathrooms when we first arrived were very clean but as the weekend went on they seemed to get more "campground bathroom" status. But was doable. We slept in our car because I was affraid of the bears, but we didn't see any or hear any. We kept all our stuff in the bear locker and didn't have any problems. Next time we will sleep in the tent. They have a fence around the campground, and even though that won't stop a hungry bear, it made me feel alittle better. We had site # 360 in the Badgers Den area. This sand #361 would be perfect for large group. You can fit 5 big tents easily. Only room for 1 car at each site.

Room Tip: We had site # 360 in the Badgers Den area. This sand #361 would be perfect for large group. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sac delta
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We rented a cabin overlooking Lake Tahoe for the weekend and it was incredible. Our cabin was clean and the grounds around it were incredible. My family including my grandkids had a wonderful time. The marina next door had music until 6:00pm which we sat outside and enjoyed. 9:00pm it was so peaceful outside you could hear a pin drop. The views, the walks around the lake, seeing the old mansions, etc. was great. The staff that checked us in where funny, helpful and professional. .General store is pricey, But there is a Raley's and Safeway in town for supplies. Cabin is fully stocked with everything you need in cookware, plates, cups, silverware. Great Refrigerator and stove. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week in the turn-key trailer parked in the RV sites. The trailer had a walk around queen with closets on either side and cabinets above the bed and storage under the bed. There was a flat screen tv with DVD player that you could have face the walk around queen or face the main living area. It also had a couch that folded out to a bed and a wrap around dinette that folded down into a bed. Plus, my kids favorite...bunk beds. There was a large slide out that had the dinette and the couch on it. The trailer was clean as if it was brand new. And fully stocked like a hotel room. The bunk beds and Queen bed were made with freak clean linens and there were plenty of more linens in the storage cupboards to make the other beds if you choose as well. The kitchen was stocked with everything you could need except the food. Plates, glasses (including wine glasses), flatware, pots, pans, cutting boards, cooking utensils, coffe maker, toaster, mixing bowls, pot holders, dish towels, sponges, dish soap, paper towels...I'm sure I missed something, they thought of everything. Bathroom was fully stocked with endless amounts of shampoo, conditioner, soap, towels and toilet paper(there was even a hair dyer). Plus more than plenty extra supplies in the storage bins. Trailer had full hook-ups (no cable), plus heat & AC. Great campsite under the beautiful trees with a fire pit and picnic table. The kids loved riding their bikes around the campground and even found a area where someone had set up a little track with some small jumps. The beach is just across the street, we would ride our bikes down there each day and drive a truck over with easy up, ice chest and chairs. It is $7 to park at beach, but comes with a $7 coupon for the Beachcomber restaurant that is right there at the beach. The beach was really crowded so we would drive over in the am and claim our spot then come back to enjoy when we were ready. You can rent paddle boats, kayaks, paddle boards and I think jet skis and boats as well. Campground isnt too far from town to run and grab supllies or see a movie or donate some money to the casinos. The Edgewood, just over the NV border is a great place for a nice evening out (without kids). We went up and floated down the Trukee river one day...highly reccomend. The kids (4,7&9) loved it.. We had 3 adults & 4 kids in one raft plus a small ice chest. A great time was had by all. Plus you end at a great outdoor restaurant/bar overlooking the river and then they bus you back up to the starting area. We also took the kids on a horseback trip with the Camp Richardson Corral guides. The kids loved it and we saw some amazing views of the lake from up on the mountain.

I highly reccomend Camp Richardson and the turn-key trailer for a wonderful family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Camp Richardson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Richardson Resort

Address: 1900 Jameson Beach Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic year-round resort secluded in old-growth forest on 125 acres adjacent to Lake Tahoe's longest stretch of sandy beach, features 26 hotel rooms, 7 motel rooms, 43 cabins (19 year-round), the 7-bedroom Richardson House, 100 RV sites and 200 tent campsites. Property amenities include a General Store & Cafe, the Beacon Bar & Grill lakeside restaurant, Mountain Sports Center (bicycling in summer, X-C skiing & snowshoeing in winter), as well as seasonal full-service Marina, Ice Cream Parlor and Coffee & Confectionery shop. Horseback riding is available 0.2 miles north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camp Richardson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Richardson Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Camp Richardson Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Richardson Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.