We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Perfect Location, Just a Little Worn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Jay Lodge to your Saves list
Blue Jay Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4133 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Value, Perfect Location, Just a Little Worn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at this lodge just before Memorial Day. It's in the shadow of Harvey's Hotel and Casino and about four blocks from the beach so an almost perfect spot. The price was $38 a night for two weekend nights so a tremendous value. Front desk staff was friendly. Room was fairly spacious. Amenities were a little old but you'd expect that much from a private motel at this price. It was very clean. It had a microwave, fridge, hairdryer and video cassette player. Closet was large. Bedding was a little old but bed was comfortable. AC was incredibly loud when it kicked into high gear but worked fine. TV was an older tube set but functioned well and had many channels. Breakfast was very basic and I didn't partake. I told them not to make up my room but they still knocked on the door and offered me towels. I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    35
    27
    14
    22
See reviews for
25
31
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We thought the photos did not reflect what was there when we arrived. Although the room was large and clean the carpet was absolutely dirty in our room. Huge black marks all away around the door like someone has taken a bike apart in it. You couldn't walk around the room in bare feet or you would have dirty feet in a second. We didn't have breakfast there as we were told there was one pastry per person. You have microwave and fridge in the room and there is a large Safeway nearby so we made our own breakfast in the room. There is a large sign up saying under new management so maybe the horrible carpet will be replaced. Fabulous surroundings and the area is so pretty

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I can only say some people must have the standards of HRH The Queen! This hotel was in the most beautiful location within walking distance of the ski lifts and some lovely eateries. The couple who run it were more than helpful with suggestions of where to visit, eat and things to do. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. I didn't make breakfast BUT that was my choice. I would definetly go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I don't know where the other reviewers stayed, but it was not this hotel! This place has never been anything but clean in all my visits over the years. Rooms are good sized, lots with beautiful wood beamed ceilings, huge closets and clean bathrooms. This will always be my choice of place to stay when at the Lake! It is within walking distance of the strip. It was quiet at night and peaceful. I always ask for room 104! Great place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north shields
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

booked this motel with my family on a last min thing we arrived for newyears eve but was shocked
when we got there as we were expecting something a little better we walked in to the room and it smelt of dampness and looked uncomftable so we all checked straight back out but still had to pay the ful cost for 5 mins stay we headed back to the pepermill in reno to see the newyear in which was were we were staing any way but thought it would be nice to stay in heavenly the blue jay was the only place that had availabilty now i know why dont stay there is you like your comfort

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We got an excellent rate for this hotel.
1. The rooms are small, but you're only in the room to sleep, so we didn't really care. Breakfast is minimal but also didn't care as we aren't much breakfast people. Internet was spotty, had to use it right by the window.
2. Lots of parking and free!
3. Location a BLOCK away from Heavenly, so we just walked to ski lift every morning. And a block away from the casinos/stateline, so no problem going out to party!
4. Always clean and service was good.

We plan on someday moving to Tahoe, we will use this hotel as a base until we find an apartment. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Been here for little less than 3 weeks.I have been very happy with my room and service.For the price the hotel is excellent value.The room is very clean and kept clean throughout my stay.Bed is super comfy and pillows great.wifi works most of the time. you can park out the front of your room,great because dont have to carry boards etc too far. Never heard any noise even on the weekends. great stay thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Address: 4133 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Jay Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Jay Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Jay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.