We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blue Jay Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Jay Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4133 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Been here for little less than 3 weeks.I have been very happy with my room and service.For the price the hotel is excellent value.The room is very clean and kept clean throughout my stay.Bed is super comfy and pillows great.wifi works most of the time. you can park out the front of your room,great because dont have to carry boards etc too far. Never heard any noise even on the weekends. great stay thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    22
    9
    21
See reviews for
21
23
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went there we reserved a room the same day morning we got to the hotel and it looks under construction and also we didn't got a confirmation number so we cancel it, right the next day they charge us. We been calling them since then and no anwers also via email and they have not call us back.. They are good to take money but no good to call back or respond to our emails.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Pros: 1. Location- as others have mentioned, this property is very close walking distance to the casinos, the gondola, and the lake. 2. Separate fridge/ freezer- dorm sized fridge, but w/ a separate door for the freezer, so your items will stay frozen. Microwave is attached to the unit. 3. Real art- not a big selling point for everyone, but my room had a limited edition (numbered) print, which shows attention to detail.

Cons: 1. (At least my room) really needed an overhead light operated from a switch. My room was dark when first returning in the evening, and the closest lamp was not on the switch, meaning walking across a dark room. Maybe this is not an issue in all rooms though. 2. Office isn't always unlocked (but they can be reached via doorbell or phone).

Bottom line: There are about 30 hotels w/in 3 blocks. If this property is lower priced than others on one of the hotel aggregation sites, book it. Housekeeping was good, parking not a problem, and you might be able to get a good late check-out if no one is in your room the next night. Wifi worked fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harmony, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This lodge came up on my phone at a very reasonable rate for 1 night. The front desk staff was quick with check in and very friendly. He suggested some great local activities as this was my first trip to Tahoe. My room was great when I walked in. New carpet, new bedspread, clean bathroom. I liked it so much I actually stayed a second night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talkeetna, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It's a typical motel except that the service is pathetic, the wifi does not work and the staff is hardly pleasant. The rooms were functional and strictly okay. When we asked for the Wifi to be fixed we were told that there was a problem and a technician had been called who was working on it. Except the same excuse was dished out for 2 days. Must've been a pretty slow technician or they just generally dont have wifi service in the rooms. STAY AWAY

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ande9418, Manager at Blue Jay Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Its So Not True we have had many Guest Staying with us only you seems to have problem....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Well , This was a quick trip to South Lake Tahoe , so much to see so i didnt have much time in the room , however the room was soo basic and old , they have a free parking lot and the room was oldy and needs renovation . i would recommend it for those who wanna spend only 1 night with a few hours in room , the price vs value was not really good, paid like 180 usd .
The place is close to the gambling and Gondola if that is your destination . ( 10 mins walk )
The Breakfast was soooooo simple , some milk , tea and basic bakery ( 1 piece ) :)

But again u r not here for luxury , its just meeting requirements and needs of the place .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels and motels in South Lake Tahoe, so I have something to compare this motel with.
What's good about this one: outstanding location:1min from Harvey's casino,5 min from Heavenly Village,5 min from the lake. (Walking !). It's clean and very well organized:you'll have a refrigerator, coffeemaker and a toaster oven. It's very good to have all these, providing that within 7min of walking distance you'll find a good supermarket Raley's. Also they serve good breakfast: cereal,oatmeal,pastry,fruit,juice,coffee. The rooms are small,but being at Tahoe you don't spend much time in the room.
Finally, the price is great. We were staying for $60 total on Friday, high season.
Strongly recommend for all ages , to those who love fun and love south Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Address: 4133 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Jay Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Jay Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Jay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.