We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Jay Lodge to your Saves list
Blue Jay Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4133 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Cairo
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“1 Night Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Well , This was a quick trip to South Lake Tahoe , so much to see so i didnt have much time in the room , however the room was soo basic and old , they have a free parking lot and the room was oldy and needs renovation . i would recommend it for those who wanna spend only 1 night with a few hours in room , the price vs value was not really good, paid like 180 usd .
The place is close to the gambling and Gondola if that is your destination . ( 10 mins walk )
The Breakfast was soooooo simple , some milk , tea and basic bakery ( 1 piece ) :)

But again u r not here for luxury , its just meeting requirements and needs of the place .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    25
    9
    21
See reviews for
21
27
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels and motels in South Lake Tahoe, so I have something to compare this motel with.
What's good about this one: outstanding location:1min from Harvey's casino,5 min from Heavenly Village,5 min from the lake. (Walking !). It's clean and very well organized:you'll have a refrigerator, coffeemaker and a toaster oven. It's very good to have all these, providing that within 7min of walking distance you'll find a good supermarket Raley's. Also they serve good breakfast: cereal,oatmeal,pastry,fruit,juice,coffee. The rooms are small,but being at Tahoe you don't spend much time in the room.
Finally, the price is great. We were staying for $60 total on Friday, high season.
Strongly recommend for all ages , to those who love fun and love south Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County Ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Perhaps the best budget buy in town. Printed a discount coupon online for $25 and upon check in on Tuesday 10-30-12 the very friendly lady even took another dollar a night off, $72 for three nights. After adding the outrageous local taxes, which the local inn keepers have no control over, the total was $88 and change. When a desk lamp in my room did not work the gentleman in the office came at once and quickly fixed it.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the heater worked just fine, plenty of hot water in the shower, and housekeeping each day left the room spotless. In addition, there is a coffee maker, a fridge, and a microwave. The TV was never turned on, so have no opinion about that, besides, who comes to Lake Tahoe to watch TV? Each morning there is coffee, juice, fruit, and rolls in the office. For those that enjoy a short walk, you are only a couple of hundred yards from the back entrance of Harveys, can leave the car at the motel if you wish.

This is not really the place for a romantic getaway, but for solo travelers, seniors, and couples on a budget, for thrifty visitors that do not require plush amenities and are comfortable staying in a budget level room, the BJL is hard to beat, and will be back my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed here one night before we could check into our time share. It's not the newest, nicest or most extravagant place but it's OK. Rooms are small, although I believe they have different sizes. Pool is small but perfect if you have kids and don't want to get a chill in the lake waters. Price was decent although it was jacked up due to the big celebrity golf tournament going on. It's walking distance to the casinos which is a plus. However, on the down side.....we came in from the casinos at about 11:30 at night. Tried to turn on the TV....didn't come on. Went to microwave some popcorn.....didn't come on. Tried to call the office......phone didn't work. Come to find out, after some searching we found nothing was plugged in. After plugging in, everything worked except the phone. Then at around 2 am, the young men in the room next door came in and made enough noise to wake the dead. They kept locking themselves out and pounding and yelling to those inside to open up. Finally settled down until around 3:30 am when the last bunch came in and did the same thing. While I realize that this is not the fault of the motel management, I had to mention it.
Furnishings were out of date and worn but clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean room, plenty of towels and hot water. As healthy eaters we boycotted the sugar based breakfast that Americans consider normal. Great location, easy parking, private beach close by. Small dipping (rather than) swimming pool in the shade of a few trees, swept clean of leaves every morning. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Close to beaches. Nice staff. Free beach passes,WiFi & simple breakfast. Rooms good, liked that they had tubs, clean. Bad: Old toilet tearing seat (rest of bathroom nice) No air conditioning w/ only a filthy stationary floor fan. Windows had no screens & are at ground level- unsafe for our 3 yr old who could walk out of one. Would have stayed more nights had it not been for those things. Overall a good deal for a decent room if the weather is not too warm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I needed a place on sunday the 12th we stoped in at this place to see what the rate was, it was only $42 and the manger aloud us to park our boat and truck in front of the office where we could keep an eye on it through out the night. The room was small but clean with nice new windows and heating and air unit. I could tell that the owner is putting some money into the place and it was paying off because my boyfriend and I will be returning to this inn because of the service and clean rooms and not to mention the $. It is also centrally located so easy walking to downtown. Thanks for the enjoyable experience can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Address: 4133 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Jay Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Jay Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Jay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.