We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but worth it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Alpine Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Inn & Spa
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   920 Stateline Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheap but worth it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Found a great deal for this hotel online. Was within walking distance of Harvey's. Room was great for two people. The room was average but had a blow dryer, shower, clean towels, room was clean, small frig and tv too. I visited during the winter so pool was closed but looked large enough to accommodate a full vacancy. Was worth it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    10
    3
    9
See reviews for
5
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've stayed at the Alpine Inn a couple of times this winter and will be returning again. The rooms are nicely appointed and very clean. The bathrooms are also very clean with adequate towels & washcloths. Small packets/containers of soap, shampoo/conditioner & deodorants are provided. Some rooms have a combo jacuzzi/shower, & while quite nice after a long day on the slopes, do take up a good bit of the room. There is also an outside hot tub and a pool. The pool is available in the summer. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker & hairdryer. A large, older style, tv is in each room. The beds are very comfortable with large pillows. The Alpine Inn is 1 block from the big casinos and a short walk to the Heavenly gondola. Winter midweek rates are around $32 with the weekends about double that. The family that runs the motel is friendly and most attentive to the property. Can't beat the price, particularly with the location and the care that is taken with the property. Also, rather than book on-line, just give the owners a call and you will get the same rates without a good percentage of the money going to the on-line booking agencies. .

Room Tip: Rooms with combo shower/jacuzzis are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here with a couple of friends for New Years. The location of the hotel was great, walking distance to the big casinos, shopping and food. The rooms were pretty small but were clean and had updated bathrooms. It was a little noisy during the night but nothing unbearable. The hotel is surrounded with pine trees and is really cozy, I would definintely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Decent value for a 1 night stay for 3 people during a weekend of skiing.
Great location: 5-10 minutes walk from the Heavenly gondola station and just 1-2 minutes walk from the casinos. Plenty of parking on site - friendly staff allowed us to park there while we skied before checking and after checking out the next day.
The bedroom and shower were clean, warm and had everything we could ever need: comfortable beds, wi-fi, tv, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, microwave, fridge, hair drier, heated floors, wall-mounted heaters etc.
Would certainly go back for a short stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived on a Wednesday in October and the motels were virtually empty. We found a coupon online for $35 for two in a king size bed. They accommodated us for this price plus tax for $41 for two nights and cut a deal for $50 (tax incl) on Friday night. The grounds were clean with an aroma of sweet allysum mixed in with curry as the stairs to our room were just above the house kitchen.

For that price it was a great deal! Internet, tv with HBO, fridge and microwave.

By the way we ate inexpensively and well at Sprouts Natural Foods restaurant on Harrison (US 50) about 3 miles away. Check out the reviews.

Room Tip: Room 204 was good.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location of this place is great its around 1 minute walk to the Casino's if that is your thing or 5 minutes walk to the Gondola. 20 minutes walk down to the marina.

The rooms are fine, not big but adequate for what we needed which was just a place to sleep as we were out all the time. Bathrooms are small with a shower but again that was fine. The place is clean. The Spa was warm but not very deep which is a shame. Some people complained in the reviews about noise from next door, we didnt have any issues with this although if you do have noisy neighbours I could see that sound would travel.

The room did have air conditioning but I had no need to use it.

for under $80 night then I would stay here again if I was in Tahoe for a short time.

Room Tip: We asked for 2nd floor room to elivate any noise from footsteps above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were travelling in the States for a month and stayed at a variety of places of all different costs and standards, and this place was really a good base for travelling round Lake Tahoe. We were staying 2 nights as we needed to set off at 4am on the 2nd day so didnt want to spend much on a room that we would be leaving so early. It was excellent value. It was clean and comfy and for the price we paid £49 for the 2 nights it couldnt be faulted. It is in a great location within walking distance to the Lake with free access to the beach. Right on the state line so on the other side of the road you are in Nevada. If you want a place on a budget this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Tahoe Chalet Inn
Tahoe Chalet Inn
#34 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Vil...
#41 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. La...
#33 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#30 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#40 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#25 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn & Spa

Address: 920 Stateline Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Inn & Spa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alpine Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpine Inn And Spa
Alpine Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpine Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.