We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints for the Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Alpine Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Inn & Spa
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   920 Stateline Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
White Rock, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“No Complaints for the Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived on a Wednesday in October and the motels were virtually empty. We found a coupon online for $35 for two in a king size bed. They accommodated us for this price plus tax for $41 for two nights and cut a deal for $50 (tax incl) on Friday night. The grounds were clean with an aroma of sweet allysum mixed in with curry as the stairs to our room were just above the house kitchen.

For that price it was a great deal! Internet, tv with HBO, fridge and microwave.

By the way we ate inexpensively and well at Sprouts Natural Foods restaurant on Harrison (US 50) about 3 miles away. Check out the reviews.

Room Tip: Room 204 was good.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    13
    3
    9
See reviews for
5
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location of this place is great its around 1 minute walk to the Casino's if that is your thing or 5 minutes walk to the Gondola. 20 minutes walk down to the marina.

The rooms are fine, not big but adequate for what we needed which was just a place to sleep as we were out all the time. Bathrooms are small with a shower but again that was fine. The place is clean. The Spa was warm but not very deep which is a shame. Some people complained in the reviews about noise from next door, we didnt have any issues with this although if you do have noisy neighbours I could see that sound would travel.

The room did have air conditioning but I had no need to use it.

for under $80 night then I would stay here again if I was in Tahoe for a short time.

Room Tip: We asked for 2nd floor room to elivate any noise from footsteps above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were travelling in the States for a month and stayed at a variety of places of all different costs and standards, and this place was really a good base for travelling round Lake Tahoe. We were staying 2 nights as we needed to set off at 4am on the 2nd day so didnt want to spend much on a room that we would be leaving so early. It was excellent value. It was clean and comfy and for the price we paid £49 for the 2 nights it couldnt be faulted. It is in a great location within walking distance to the Lake with free access to the beach. Right on the state line so on the other side of the road you are in Nevada. If you want a place on a budget this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

For just below US$80 for 3 persons in a reasonable double queen room. Location is good,walking distance or less than 2 mins drive to beach. Staff at counter is ok, she gets her job done at least. One cannot expect too much from the price one pays for..One more thing, walls between the rooms are thin so don't talk too loudly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I chose this motel because it was much more affordable than the casinos in the area. The motel is similar to the other non-casino motels in the area, a little older and lacking the bells and whistles of the casino hotels. However, I would highly recommend Alpine Inn & Spa because of its convenient location (within walking distance of everything), comfortable beds and free amenities (pool, hot tub, fridge & microwave & free WIFI). Great value for the money!

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay a little more for a spa room, includes a large jacuzzi tub. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed on this hotel to catch last minute Spring snow on Heavenly from 3/31/12 - 4/2/12. Although tucked a few hundred feet away from South Lake Tahoe Blvd, it is a walking distance to everything: Heavenly Ski Resort Gondola base, Heavenly Village shopping complex, Harrah's Resort, Ski equipment rental shop, hotels, and access to Lake Tahoe. I wouldn't recommend wearing your ski boots to walk up to the Gondola base because although it's a short walk, it can be daunting (you can rent lockers at the base).

After skiing, we would just walk our way around from this hotel, such as the Buffett on Harrah's Resort & Casino or just look around for some cool gears from The Northface, Patagonia, and Salomon.

The hotel staff are friendly. I dropped my car keys on the snow and realized it's lost only after 18 inches of snow had already fallen. The next day, the reception called me while at the slopes to tell me they had found my car keys.

The rooms are far better than any Roadway Inn, Motel 6, or Howard Johnson that I have stayed in. The linens feel fresh and clean as is the pillows--there are four and generously sized just like what I have home, enough for those heavy heads. The rooms are clean. Don't expect a Hampton or Fairfield quality rooms for this price but it is certainly better than typical transient roadside hotels.

It can get noisy when nocturnal people go home at 2 am from partying so I'd recommend a second floor.

Hotel staff clean your room and replenish supplies including towels and linens everyday. Thank goodness, I didn't have to lay linens on my pillows like I used to at other hotels.

I'd stay here again on our next Tahoe ski trip.

Room Tip: You can't beat this inn's location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I've stayed here at least 4 times over the last two ski seasons and it's a clean inexpensive place to stay. They have an upgraded room with a jacuzzi style bath that I like to request when available, which is sure nice after a day on the mountain. They have cable tv and tube televisions. For the price, and location, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn & Spa

Address: 920 Stateline Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Alpine Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpine Inn And Spa
Alpine Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpine Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.