We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Alpine Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Inn & Spa
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   920 Stateline Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location and price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

For just below US$80 for 3 persons in a reasonable double queen room. Location is good,walking distance or less than 2 mins drive to beach. Staff at counter is ok, she gets her job done at least. One cannot expect too much from the price one pays for..One more thing, walls between the rooms are thin so don't talk too loudly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
4
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I chose this motel because it was much more affordable than the casinos in the area. The motel is similar to the other non-casino motels in the area, a little older and lacking the bells and whistles of the casino hotels. However, I would highly recommend Alpine Inn & Spa because of its convenient location (within walking distance of everything), comfortable beds and free amenities (pool, hot tub, fridge & microwave & free WIFI). Great value for the money!

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay a little more for a spa room, includes a large jacuzzi tub. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed on this hotel to catch last minute Spring snow on Heavenly from 3/31/12 - 4/2/12. Although tucked a few hundred feet away from South Lake Tahoe Blvd, it is a walking distance to everything: Heavenly Ski Resort Gondola base, Heavenly Village shopping complex, Harrah's Resort, Ski equipment rental shop, hotels, and access to Lake Tahoe. I wouldn't recommend wearing your ski boots to walk up to the Gondola base because although it's a short walk, it can be daunting (you can rent lockers at the base).

After skiing, we would just walk our way around from this hotel, such as the Buffett on Harrah's Resort & Casino or just look around for some cool gears from The Northface, Patagonia, and Salomon.

The hotel staff are friendly. I dropped my car keys on the snow and realized it's lost only after 18 inches of snow had already fallen. The next day, the reception called me while at the slopes to tell me they had found my car keys.

The rooms are far better than any Roadway Inn, Motel 6, or Howard Johnson that I have stayed in. The linens feel fresh and clean as is the pillows--there are four and generously sized just like what I have home, enough for those heavy heads. The rooms are clean. Don't expect a Hampton or Fairfield quality rooms for this price but it is certainly better than typical transient roadside hotels.

It can get noisy when nocturnal people go home at 2 am from partying so I'd recommend a second floor.

Hotel staff clean your room and replenish supplies including towels and linens everyday. Thank goodness, I didn't have to lay linens on my pillows like I used to at other hotels.

I'd stay here again on our next Tahoe ski trip.

Room Tip: You can't beat this inn's location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I've stayed here at least 4 times over the last two ski seasons and it's a clean inexpensive place to stay. They have an upgraded room with a jacuzzi style bath that I like to request when available, which is sure nice after a day on the mountain. They have cable tv and tube televisions. For the price, and location, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

If you are looking for an affordable hotel with easy access to the lake and to the casinos then this is the place. Alpine Inn and Spa is a great motel that has the basic amenities. The grounds are well maintained and the staff is friendly. The rooms are clean and well kept. Located across from Harvey's Hotel & Casino so everything is within walking distance. If you are lucky enough to visit during the summer you might get to hear the concerts going on at Harvey's outdoor stage while sitting in the spa or pool which is a bonus! Would I go back, absolutely!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Well, if you look at the pictures for this hotel, it sure seems accommodative.....Well don't stay here. It took about 10 minutes for the man at the counter to help us :[ We arrived in our room, and it was nothing short of awful. It's a very small room with hardly any walking space. The bathtub is right there in the bedroom, and there's no closet space! We go to use the tub for a nice romantic bath, and there's no drain in the tub. Then they tell us the pump is busted, and the shower doesn't even work. The walls were very thin, the guests here are loud and obnoxious, and it smells horrid. The hot tub is "broken" and the pool isnt even filled. Overall I'd say this is one of the worst stays I've ever had in my life.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

So my friend set this up for his wedding and was given a special rate. Well that was crap because when we got there the other room I resereved for my friends for this wedding the owners charged us more. Second they showed my friend some room and was told that they all had been remodled and looked like the one he showed him. That was also crap. The closet is a joke, the carpets are dirty,, the beds seem like the original beds from when the hotel was constructed. The bathroom is the worst. The hot water is non existant in the sink, the shower barely flowed. Then to top it all off there were people parting all night long and the owner did nothing. It got worse when an argument broke out with a guy and his girlfriend and again the owner did nothing. Then the fight that broke out between 2 guys and the owner was no where to be seen.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn & Spa

Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Inn And Spa
Alpine Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpine Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpine Motel Lake Tahoe
Address: 920 Stateline Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Inn & Spa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alpine Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.