We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable & Close to Heavenly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Alpine Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Inn & Spa
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   920 Stateline Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Affordable & Close to Heavenly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I've stayed here at least 4 times over the last two ski seasons and it's a clean inexpensive place to stay. They have an upgraded room with a jacuzzi style bath that I like to request when available, which is sure nice after a day on the mountain. They have cable tv and tube televisions. For the price, and location, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    12
    3
    9
See reviews for
5
21
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

If you are looking for an affordable hotel with easy access to the lake and to the casinos then this is the place. Alpine Inn and Spa is a great motel that has the basic amenities. The grounds are well maintained and the staff is friendly. The rooms are clean and well kept. Located across from Harvey's Hotel & Casino so everything is within walking distance. If you are lucky enough to visit during the summer you might get to hear the concerts going on at Harvey's outdoor stage while sitting in the spa or pool which is a bonus! Would I go back, absolutely!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Well, if you look at the pictures for this hotel, it sure seems accommodative.....Well don't stay here. It took about 10 minutes for the man at the counter to help us :[ We arrived in our room, and it was nothing short of awful. It's a very small room with hardly any walking space. The bathtub is right there in the bedroom, and there's no closet space! We go to use the tub for a nice romantic bath, and there's no drain in the tub. Then they tell us the pump is busted, and the shower doesn't even work. The walls were very thin, the guests here are loud and obnoxious, and it smells horrid. The hot tub is "broken" and the pool isnt even filled. Overall I'd say this is one of the worst stays I've ever had in my life.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

So my friend set this up for his wedding and was given a special rate. Well that was crap because when we got there the other room I resereved for my friends for this wedding the owners charged us more. Second they showed my friend some room and was told that they all had been remodled and looked like the one he showed him. That was also crap. The closet is a joke, the carpets are dirty,, the beds seem like the original beds from when the hotel was constructed. The bathroom is the worst. The hot water is non existant in the sink, the shower barely flowed. Then to top it all off there were people parting all night long and the owner did nothing. It got worse when an argument broke out with a guy and his girlfriend and again the owner did nothing. Then the fight that broke out between 2 guys and the owner was no where to be seen.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This was the worst hotel stay I've ever had. The hotel management was rude and refused to give us the quoted price over the phone. Get things in writing!! Our room was on the 2nd floor and whenever another tenant turned on their shower, ours dripped louder and faster. We had 2 light bulbs out. The dresser drawers had no handles so they were pointless. The TV had cracks. Regardless of price, it's not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

-Location is pretty close to the lake and casinos.
-Walking distance to the lake and casinos.
-Go to the lake for FREE, the motel provides the passes.
-AFFORDABLE.
-Offers great deals :D

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PnD5893
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We booked the Alpine Inn with the old owners for a large wedding in August. About a week before the wedding I get a call from Ace the new owner confirming our stay. We got there only one week after they took over and major changes were already under way. All the rooms are being refurbished. And the family that now owns the Inn are helpful, friendly, accomodating and professional. It was a great stay, (we booked half the hotel rooms). They have big plans for their establishment and the attitude to be successful. If you have stayed there before and were not satisfied give them another try. The prices are still a great value and you get the service you deserve.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn & Spa

Address: 920 Stateline Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Inn & Spa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alpine Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpine Inn And Spa
Alpine Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpine Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.