We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly and Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Trailhead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Trailhead to your Saves list
The Trailhead
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3892 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
1 review
“Clean, Friendly and Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Me and my most handsome of boyfriends stayed here for two nights in January. Reception was very friendly and our room was spotlessly clean. The room looked as though it had been recently redone in a quirky mountain style. Our room (117) had a two person jacuzzi bathtub and a kingsize bed. Breakfast was the typical free continental breakfast (pastries, instant oatmeal, fruit and coffee). There was also free wifi that worked pretty well (currently being used for this review!). The digital heater was new and more than capable of reaching any desired temperature. Good location that is close to both the Nevada casinos and the California restaurants. Tyler and Ashley are the best!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

This is a nice little place to stay the one night if you're visiting Lake Tahoe on a budget, aren't really going skiing, and can't make it back within a day. The rooms are quite comfy, and we got a room with a jacuzzi right inside - but the jacuzzi is part of the bedroom, and the bathroom is super small and cold in the back of the room. Our friends got a room with a huge bathroom with a regular bathtub, so I guess those are the two choices you have.

The WIFI is great here with many hotspots covering every corner of the building, so I wouldn't see a problem getting connected. We didn't bring a laptop, but for everything we do on our phones and tablets it was good enough.

The front desk people were quite friendly and helpful. But beware that the office closes for the night - and they don't open until 8 AM. We wanted to check out early in the morning, grab some breakfast, and go - but that wasn't possible here. The person even came 20 minutes late, so we had to wait for them to open the office and another half an hour to brew the coffee, which was a little damper in our trip - but if you're going skiing, the slopes are already packed by 8 so don't rely on this hotel for your morning coffee/pastries if you live here.

This hotel is located at the perfect place - amongst many different restaurants and not far from the CA-NV stateline so you could even go to one of the casinos if you want.

Room Tip: Some rooms have jacuzzis with tiny bathrooms; some have huge bathrooms with regular bathtubs - your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review, January 6, 2015
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our very best to provide a clean and warm environment for everyone in our newly remodeled rooms.
We do apologize for the inconvenience of not having our lobby open on time. It is not in the norm for us to be late. We will keep the earlier start in mind for the future.
Please do come see us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

This is yet another motel that I have stayed in, in the US. It's got nice rooms with heaters that work. The rooms are clean and spotless.

The whole place is run by a single receptionist so this can take some time. The wifi is ok. Not brilliant but you can email or Skype on it.

The morning breakfast is insipid coffee with a muffin. That you collect at reception. (No tea coffee making facilities in the room).

The only place this place really falls down is the price. I know it's California, but the price just isn't worth it. It's about 25% overpriced.

You'd get better value in a $30 a night room down the road. (Which was full)

Beef up the breakfast and drop $15 on the price and this place would be perfect.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review, January 6, 2015
We are so glad you chose to stay with us. For future reference, we can always loan you a coffee pot for your room upon request at check in, free of charge.
I'm sorry if you felt we were a bit pricey, but we are a newly renovated property with up to date amenities. We compare our prices to many places in Tahoe and are pretty reasonable compared to some.
We hope that wont affect your decision to stay with us again in the future, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We recently stayed at the Trailhead (Aug 2014). We were lucky enough to get a room with a hot tub. The hotel has been completely remodeled, it was warm, attractive, clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the interior furniture looked custom made and had a rustic appeal to it. Chris the GM couldn't have been more accommodating. The location was perfect, close to everything including an I Hop for breakfast within walking distance. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review, January 6, 2015
We are so happy to her you enjoyed your stay with us! Please, come stay with us again in the future and don't hesitate to let your friends know how great our hotel is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I recently stayed at the Trailhead Motel in South Lake Tahoe, CA and was pleasantly surprised. I have a few places I like to stay at in Lake Tahoe and could not find them anymore....so I started looking at everything and The Trailhead came up. I will return as I was able to rest quietly after a VERY LONG drive and need the QUIET.

Room Tip: I was upstairs and perhaps that made it as pleasant but I believe it was because it is set back off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review, January 6, 2015
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Please, do come to us again in the future, we're always here to help and to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful upgraded hotel. Everything in the rooms are brand new. Beds. Pillows. A/C. Mini-fridge. Close to all the action. Walk to the lifts or to the casinos.

Excellent value for Lake Tahoe, which usually is impossible.

Five stars.
Will stay again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Mumbles, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We booked this motel after reading positive reviews on trip advisor and appeared to be good value for the area. It is indeed in an excellent location to walk into heavenly village, where there are shops and endless restaurants. The room has been nicely done out with a 'lodge' feel unfortunately the new bedding topper is shiny nylon...and they really should have replaced the old stained sinks and baths. The hot water was a big concern....when you run the shower it occasionally scalds you going absolutely boiling hot, I'm assuming if anyone in the block maybe flushing the toilet etc. we were able to jump out the water each time....but I would be fearful of using it with children. We did report this to reception so hopefully they will have sorted it out by now! The male receptionist is disinterested and grumpy, even if you ask him advice on what to do wear to eat etc. The pool is unfortunately drained and with lots of the beaches being private in the area the pool would definitely improve this lodgings. Overall one of the better motels we stayed in during our time in America.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback. I am sorry about the hot water situation. Sometimes getting the perfect temperature is difficult, as one guest will say it is too cold, and the next guest will say it was much too hot. I apologize you were one of those who found it too hot. We have turned down the temperatures on our boilers to hopefully a more comfortable (and safer) level. I am also a bit concerned about the service you received. I was there when you all were loading up your truck, and I know which associate was on duty that day. He is new to the area, and perhaps a bit timid making recommendations due to a lack of confidence in his choices. I will be creating a list of my favorite restaurants, things to do and attractions so that he can be more accommodating and confident. I will also coach him and work with him so that he will provide better service to all of our guests. Thank you very much for choosing us, and saying that we were one of the best hotels on your trip to America. We sure hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Trailhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trailhead

Address: 3892 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Trailhead 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trailhead in South Lake Tahoe is located in a picturesque area of California in Lake Tahoe, just a few minutes from the Casinos, Lake Tahoe Beaches, and Heavenly Ski Resort. Adventure awaits, exploring all this great area has to offer. The opportunities are endless, from hiking, biking and skiing, to fishing, swimming and sailing the clear blue waters, Lake Tahoe is truly America's playground. When you stay with The Trailhead in South Lake Tahoe, you can unwind in one of our newly renovated rooms, watch cable TV with HBO and enjoy free high-speed WiFi. The Trailhead promises to serve you with our friendly and knowledgeable staff, ensuring a memorable Lake Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Trailhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trailhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.