We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Trailhead

Save Saved
You added The Trailhead to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Trailhead
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3892 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Newly renovated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The room I stayed in is brand new. Clean bathroom, clean bed, spotless carpet, nice painting, new AC that runs very strong. TV has dozens HD channels, it seems to be a high end Samsung model. I slept very well during the night. I sense soundproofing must be good. They are next to the town center, so you can park your car at the hotel and walk 5-10minutes to the beach or heavenly village or casinos. They have these HD security cameras around, so no worry about safety. It feels this place is one notch above its competitions, a very good deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your detailed review. We appreciate your feedback. Next time you are in Lake Tahoe, we hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this place for three days and it was a great experience for all of us. The beds are really comfortable and it is really quite in the night. Everything is new and works well. Its front desk is very helpful and has great attitude. The price is cheaper than other places in this area. It's really convenient too. I would recommend this place to other people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate your evaluation. We hope you come back and visit us again really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel was renovated recently. So almost everything is brand new. My room has a big new Samsung TV and other awesome furnitures. The bed is really comfortable. The place is really convenient. Walking distance to the casino, the lake and town center. My experience here is great! I would love to come back next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you noticing the efforts of our remodeling. Thank you for recommending us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

There is a new owner who obviously spent a lot of money on this place and everything is updated. There is new Samsung HDTV in each room. Brand New AC that is so strong and quiet. Very nice custom made furnitures. New bed that smells good and is so comfortable. I like the lights in their bathroom the most. Very nice feel. For their price, this newly renovated hotel is a steal. Everything is on par or better than Holiday Inn Express across the street, but the price is cheaper. Front desk manager Chris is very helpful too.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor has great sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

By far the worst place I have every stayed - I checked out early as everything was disgusting in and outside of the room. The bathroom was dusty and had old, used soap in it. None of the lights or fridge were plugged in and who knows what stains were on the carpet. It was too late to find alternate accommodations unfortunately. I put my own sheets on the bed for fear of what was on there.

On the outside, the "SPA" was a joke almost as vile as all the dog poop everywhere. Lighting was horrific. If the bulbs were in, that is.

Room Tip: Don't stay here under any circumstances - a backpackers inn or tent would be superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I am very sorry to hear that your experience has horrific. I wish I had the chance to address your concerns and frustrations prior to your checkout, we would have gladly gone to great lengths to make your stay as accommodating as possible.
We are excited for our future here, and we will take into consideration a total upgrade on the exterior hot tub as well. We understand a mountain town hotel isn't complete without it, and we are working to find a permanent solution. With our upcoming renovations, I am positive your next vacation to Tahoe will be much more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Trailhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trailhead

Address: 3892 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Trailhead 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trailhead in South Lake Tahoe is located in a picturesque area of California in Lake Tahoe, just a few minutes from the Casinos, Lake Tahoe Beaches, and Heavenly Ski Resort. Adventure awaits, exploring all this great area has to offer. The opportunities are endless, from hiking, biking and skiing, to fishing, swimming and sailing the clear blue waters, Lake Tahoe is truly America's playground. When you stay with The Trailhead in South Lake Tahoe, you can unwind in one of our newly renovated rooms, watch cable TV with HBO and enjoy free high-speed WiFi. The Trailhead promises to serve you with our friendly and knowledgeable staff, ensuring a memorable Lake Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Trailhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trailhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.