We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service/Great Rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3892 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Reno
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Service/Great Rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I'm a week late on my review but a friend of mine and I spent 2 nights - one night in the big king size in-room spa which was awesome - the bed was very comfy! The only complaint I had was the wi-fi was too slow and I wasn't able to use my laptop much...2nd night we stayed in a cheaper room which was also very nice and clean... my only complaint was that the tub filled up when taking a shower which was uncomfortable...the husband/wife team were very nice and we did take advantage of free muffiins/orange juice/coffee...if you're extremely picky - this might not be for you but otherwise my friend and I had a great stay here and would recommend to anyone...

Room Tip: The in-room spas are perfect for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    15
    7
    9
    11
See reviews for
5
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Customer service was terrible. Restroom was dirty, bedsheets were dirty with stains and burned with cigarretes. They overcharge customers I will not recommend anyone going there. ....................................................................................

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I first read the reviews here before staying at the Vagabond Inn Lake Tahoe and we thought we would give them the benefit of the doubt because we thought we got a good deal. Next time, I'll spend the money elsewhere.

We stayed in the king room with fireplace and in-room large spa tub. The only thing we liked was the spa tub and fireplace. The bed was hard. The a.c. outlet next to the nightstand for the alarm clock wouldn't keep my phone charger plugged into it. My charger would just fall back out (maybe that was why the alarm clock was unplugged). The TV was supposed to include HBO (according to their website), which we couldn't find. A lot of the TV channels seem to have poor reception. The shower itself was small and smelled of mold. Also, the shower had a shower curtain rod and rings to hang a shower curtian, but no shower curtain! So the floor and some of the toilet, which was next to the shower, would get wet. Don't forget to ask for extra towels for this area! The soaps are the smallest I have ever seen. I didn't know they can make them that small. There was a tree that seemed to brush against the exterior wall as the wind blew and you can hear this all night. It wasn't not loud, mostly an annoyance. The room was cold so I tried turning on the the room AC/heater, but it never got warm, it just blew cold air so forget that. The fireplace did have a thermostat on it so we just left it on and that worked. The room looks run down.

When we left I told the manager about the tree noise. And when I mentioned the missing shower curtain he looked confused as though he didn't know why I mentioned it or ???. I also mentioned a urine stain on the floor next to the toilet (which we didn't leave) he said that they would take care of it. Their maids should have already taken care of it!! This motel is nasty and I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone! Couples, family or friends, anyone!!! For the money, I would look at other motels. If this is how Vagabond Inn motels are, I would never stay at another one again.

Room Tip: Close to stateline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just stayed here for one night. The place was filthy. There were bottle caps & stuff still under the bed. The ceiling in the bathroom had a huge hole that was breaking loose. The cuurtains were torn and dirty. It smlled like animal urine. The carpet had a sticky feel to it. The air conditioner did not work well. The towels did not seem to be very clean.The bed spreads were dirty too.Most of the hotels were booked for the Sugarland concert, we have stayed at Vagabonds before.. but this was terrible. We should have used the money for sleeping bags and slept in the campground.

Room Tip: Don't settle for anything. Just because there are concerts etc.going on.. don't assume that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonville, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days over the New years holiday. We booked our room through booking.com, and had originally just booked a king size room, but upon arrival we realized that the hotel was in need of some TLC, no water in pool or hot tub, although it is winter time...and decided to ask for an upgrade. We were able to upgrade to the spa room for an additional $80 total, and we felt that we got a great deal, given the holiday weekend. The room was clean, and being on the end made it pretty quiet, even in the middle of new year's eve when everyone was loud, we could only barely hear anything.Traffic noise is no worse than at any other hotel located on the main Blvd. The hot tub worked great, filled in a reasonable amount of time, and the jets worked well. The TV is on a swivel, but it doesn't really move very far, so My husband just moved the entire entertainment center when we used the hot tub. There was several little niceties in the room, bandages, breathe right strips, shampoo, body wash, axe hair jel, toothpaste, great if you forgot something. I only went to get the free breakfast once, and it was after 11am, but there was still coffee and granola bars available. All in all, we had a great experience, and we feel like we got a good value for the holiday weekend. The staff in the office was very nice, and helpful. With a Do Not Disturb sign on the door, we were not bothered at all, the housekeeping staff was happy to give me towels and toiletries, when I asked for them.

Room Tip: corner rooms seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. We reserved a non-smoking room that smelled like smoke. Lucky for us the manager on duty sprayed some air freshness to take care of the smell (sense the sarcasm).

Pretty much everything in the room was in dis-repair from the beds, to the TV and beyond. I honestly don't know what to say about the bathroom. State campground bathrooms far exceed the quality and cleanliness of this hotel.

If every other hotel/motel in the Lake Tahoe area is full, and you have a tent or a car, stay in one of those. Otherwise, drive back home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our room had a view of the snowy mountain. The location is quite walkable to the stateline highway where Harrah's and Harvey's are location. We had a nice overnight stay in this hotel. i was just somewhat bothered by the sink placed outside the main bathroom. The rooms were clean although a bit old. There was a pool (probably heated because we did not try it). The main hotel area is elevated compared with the neigboring establishments and I liked it. It was also the probably the reason why we could view the snowy mountain from our room. Amazing! There was supposed to be a complimentary continental breakfast included but don't be fooled as it will just be a muffin and a coffee, quite a false bonus in the hotel booking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe

Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe Hotel
Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3892 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn in South Lake Tahoe is located in a picturesque area of California in Lake Tahoe, just a few minutes from the MontBleu Resort Casino & Spa, Lake Tahoe Beaches, Lakeside Marina, and Heavenly Ski Resort. Adventure awaits, exploring all this great area has to offer. The opportunities are endless, from hiking, biking and skiing, to fishing, swimming and sailing the clear blue waters, Lake Tahoe is truly America's playground. When you stay with us in South Lake Tahoe, you can unwind in one of our rooms with a jacuzzi tub, watch cable TV with HBO and enjoy free high-speed WiFi. Vagabond Inn promises to serve you with our own brand of Western hospitality. Great Value, Friendly People - it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.