We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They need to STOP charging for non-working Wi-Fi!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2375 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, US 50/Lake Tahoe Boulevard at SR 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“They need to STOP charging for non-working Wi-Fi!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for three nights on an Xmas Ski trip. I've stayed at lots of Motel 6's, & this was a good one. Pretty convenient to Heavenly, & all the major stuff, and the staff was pretty friendly, even working with us to move us to a different room after our first night to try & boost the Wi-Fi signal. Also they refunded me the $2.99 per night fee since the Wi-Fi was NOT up to par. All in all, pretty good in a pinch, & reasonable, but where M6 excels is in being TRULY pet-friendly! Cindy at the front desk was super-sweet & gave us a bag of doggy treats upon check out before the long snowy drive back to San Francisco. I applaud M6 for being TRULY pet-friendly, but please -- fix the Wi-Fi issue!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    43
    24
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
28
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Cheap and conveniently located, this Motel 6 should do the job for a cheap ski weekend. Most awesome is that they allow dogs for free. We even left ours in the room in violation of their pet policy, and in response they just called and told us to come make him stop howling (I swear he never does this at home!).

A few tips:
- The beds come standard with one extremely soft pillow and one brick-like pillow, so if you want anything in between there you should bring your own.
- While you're at it bring your own blanket or comforter, theirs are pretty thin.
- And your own shampoo. All you get at the M6 is soap.

Once you know that, knock yourself out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Me and my boyfriend were on a road trip. We were going to camping in South Lake Tahoe, but it was already dark when we got there and we hadn't booked any campsite. Motel 6 looked nice so we stayed there. It was cheap as for the weekend stay, no more than $60. The rooms looked like new, the motel was probably after a refit. We were very pleased. It was comfortable and clean. This motel was one of the nicest on our 3-week road trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe for a week. The rooms were typically appointed for the chain and everything was clean upon arrival. Our room was serviced daily by housekeeping (we couldn't find the DND sign), and it was nice to come back to a fresh clean room every day.

A couple of things to bear in mind: The price quoted online does not include a local 3.5% tax, refrigerator and microwave are $3 a day, and their S-L-O-W wifi is $2.99 a day. Also remember that Motel 6 shamelessly charges by the person so keep that in mind as well.

The pool was in working order, the front desk staff was all very helpful and friendly, the housekeepers waved hello, and the property felt safe and welcoming. Our room keys worked the entire week and we never had any issues finding parking. The Chinese Buffet next door attracted some sketchy people, but they were ultimately never a problem.

I always stay in Motels as opposed to Hotels as I like to spend my vacation money when I am awake. Therefore for the amount spent, I have to say that Motel 6 provided what I need: A comfortable bed, a clean room, and a hot shower. The reason for not having 5 stars is due to charging $2.99 a day for S-L-O-W internet. C'mon, that should be included these days.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bike path are considerably quieter than the highway-side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

But I was expecting a little better.

The TV was the oldest I had seen in even a Motel 6 for over a decade. The rooms were clean, but dated. This was a very large complex so I would have thought it would be updated.

The complex has a laundry/dryer room so that was very helpful.

This location is on the outskirts of South Lake Tahoe so you pretty much have to drive everywhere.

This location was also very expensive (About $80.00) which lowers the value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

A little better than camping, you don't have to share your bathroom. Pros are not sharing bathroom with strangers and you get a coffee maker/mini fridge/micro in room. Convenient b/c you can go to the grocery store to get meals. Cons--dirty, and small. There arent many good Restaurants in SLT. We keep looking for that great hole in the wall Mexican place. We find lots of hole in the wall but none worth going back to-ever.
Motel 6 is a good place if you want to go camping with your dog. It's also close to the trail.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We didn't want to pay too much for a room cuz we knew for the most part that we were just going to be sleeping there.

The good: Very friendly staff, very clean rooms, location was good

The bad: The highway was loud in the room, and there was no coffee pot in the room. We brought our own coffee pot though expecting that. They did have coffee/tea in the lobby in the morning.

With our overall experience, we were very happy. The other perk about staying in there is we had a non-smoking and we couldn't smell the other rooms at all. We would go back and stay again.

Oh! And we thought the beds were super comfy!!! We actually went out and bought a new bed after our trip cuz we realized our bad our old bed was!!! lol

Room Tip: Bring your coffee pot if you like it your way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe

Address: 2375 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, US 50/Lake Tahoe Boulevard at SR 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 Lake Tahoe
Motel Six Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Motel Six
Lake Tahoe Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.