We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All these years going to Tahoe, who knew” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Getaway Cafe

Getaway Cafe
3140 HIghway 50, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96155
530.577.5132
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Getaway Cafe serves alpine comfort cuisine just a short distance from your favorite outdoor activities in South Lake Tahoe.
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All these years going to Tahoe, who knew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We've been to Tahoe at least 4 times a year fro the last 30 years. Don't know when tis place opened but this trip we found it. Stopped for a quick lunch on our way to see the fall color on 89 / 88.
The special lunch sandwich for the day was a chicken club on sourdough. Chicken breast, jacks cheese, bacon, lettuce, tomato, and avocado on sourdough with honey mustard. WHAT a sandwich. Wife and I both ordered it. Only mistake we made was each getting one, we could have shared. We each ate 1/2 and had the other half for dinner. Came with fries.

Great meal, good value, Outstanding FRIENDLY service.
This is now a must stop for us when near Tahoe valley.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane G, Owner at Getaway Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
To answer your question, Bill, we opened up in 2006. Though it's taken a few years for you to discover us, I'm thrilled that your first lunch was such a memorable one. We definitely load up our sandwiches, so sharing is a good call! I look forward to see you and your wife next time you're in the area.

All the best,
Diane, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cozy and Good Food after a long drive up the mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived after a long drive up the mountain tired and hungry. Heard about this café so decided to get something to eat. It is quaint and the food and service were very good. The waitresses were friendly and service was quick. But then they did not rush us out, we relaxed a while then left to continue our trek into Lake Tahoe. We had sandwiches for lunch but the menu was really nice and we plan on stopping there again to try other items next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane G, Owner at Getaway Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
That long drive up the mountain sure can work up an appetite! I'm glad that you felt right at home and enjoyed your sandwiches. I'd love to hear your thoughts on some of our other dishes, too, so don't be a stranger. We'd love to welcome you back!

Cheers,
Diane, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love their breakfast. The food is very good, the service is timely and the atmosphere welcoming. Their home fries are awesome. We go there on a regular bases and have always had a great meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane G, Owner at Getaway Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We love hearing from our regulars, Raquel! I'm thrilled that you've only been impressed by our welcoming atmosphere, quick service, and tasty home fries. If there's ever anything we could be doing to take your experience up a notch, just let me know. I appreciate the feedback!

See you soon,
Diane, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Worth the drive from south lake! This is the best restaurant for breakfast ever! I had the coconut crusted french toast- mmmm!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane G, Owner at Getaway Cafe, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for making the drive out from South Lake to see us! I'm flattered that we're at the top of your list for breakfast, and it's great to hear that the Coconut Crusted French Toast hit the spot. It's a house specialty! Thank you for sharing your experience—don't be a stranger!

Best,
Diane, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth the ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were staying at Harvey's and kayaking early morning from Baldwin Beach. We're always looking for small, neighborhood places to eat in Tahoe and found this great place for an early breakfast.

Service was great and we even ordered sandwiches to go for our kayak trip. They were extremely accommodating and all of the food was good. It's just a short ride from the casinos and a great find. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane G, Owner at Getaway Cafe, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for making a point to discover local restaurants in Tahoe, Lenora. I'm glad that your early breakfast was tasty, and I hope that your sandwiches traveled well for your kayak trip! Can't wait to welcome you back next time you're visiting!

Best,
Diane, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Getaway Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Getaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Getaway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.