We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, lousy decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tep's Villa Roma

Tep's Villa Roma
3450 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 541-8227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Destelbergen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, lousy decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Tep offers an excellent and exhaustive salad bar (with soup!), complimentary with all main dishes. My wife had the ossobuco, I had chicken cacciatore. Both dishes were very tasty, be it a bit overwhelming. Luckily you can take any leftovers with you. Good service! The decor however is a real eyesore. A makeover is long overdue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    71
    33
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We ate here on a weeknight. The restaurant was fairly full, but service was efficient. We ordered the meat lasagne, which was a large portion and verY tasty--lots of ricotta and meat, with a tasty red sauce. Salad bar had a large variety of items and dressings. Minestrone on the salad bar was very good. Took home a piece of cheesecake with strawberries which was very good. The strawberry sauce was sliced berries in a sauce that was just the right consistency and seemed homemade, as did the bread. Only downside--they were out of cannolis.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“It's good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food here was pretty good. There was no waiting over the Labor Day weekend, and the service was good too. They let you get your own salad and soup before your meal which was actually nice, because it was much faster this way and you can pick just what you want. I'd return here. The prices were pretty reasonable too compared to a lot of the area restaurants.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food for the Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We go here every time we go to South Lake Tahoe. The food is great, the atmosphere is great especially in the winter with the fire. They have a good large salad bar and soup. The food is always good and hot and more than you can eat. You can't go wrong eating here. The entrees are very reasonably priced. We were there on a Friday evening and they were busy but the service was excellent as always.
Take the coupon out of the local coupon book for a free appetizer, I suggest the stuffed mushrooms they're delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Busy place, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very popular place in the middle of the Lake Tahoe action. The welcome was good, menu extensive and food pretty good. Only gripe was the slightly unhappy nature of the bar lady and waiting staff, raising a smile seemed a challenge. Our waitress also promised bread, but didn't deliver it.
Shame - I like bread too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tep's Villa Roma also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Tep's Villa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tep's Villa Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.