We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mac and cheese ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macduff's Pub

Macduff's Pub
1041 Fremont Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 542-8777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Mac and cheese ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Seriously. My dude and I are planning on returning for our anniversary that is in a week just for this place. Fabulous with the truffle oil. Mmmm

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    85
    33
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tfal75
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fun Dive Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Always a fun and friendly atmosphere and service, the food is a little pricey but good and portions are large, kind of a dive bar atmosphere pool tables, live music, fun place to go for a night out and some drinks.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Only real pub in South Lake Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Went skiing in Heavenly this year and were looking a real pub. This was the only real pub we found and it turned out to be a pretty nice place. The place is kind of small and the Pub atmosphere is better upstairs but sometimes it's hard to get a table there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The service was very fast - not the place for a long, leisurely meal. The servers were friendly and all work together to give you the best service. As the downstairs dining room was closed, we had to eat upstairs in the more informal bar area. My husband had the shepherd's pie which was good and I had the corned beef and cabbage. It was served in a soupy liquid which made the meal soggy. Will not order it again, but will go back and try their pizza or fish and chips which both looked good. Be sure and check out the kilts on display in the downstairs dining room.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Such a Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

While staying at the "Inn by the Lake", my family and I decided we were hungry after a long day of traveling. Not wanting to go very far, we were going to stop at the diner right near the restaurant...but on our way, my fiancé noticed "macduff's public house" tucked away down the street. We decided to go for it! Boy are we glad we did. The seating area is a bit small, but it adds to the charm big time. The staff was really friendly and made great recommendations. It is a little expensive for "pub food", but well worth it considering the quality. $18 for a WONDERFUL shepherds pie, or $15 for a mediocre Denny's entrée??? I'm thinking the extra 3 bucks is worth it! Since there were so many things that we wanted to try, we came back the next day for lunch and it was just as satisfying! You have to try the Shepherds Pie, Mac & Cheese, and the Tree Hugger Burger (one of the best veggie burgers I have ever had). Oh! and the bread pudding is unlike any other I have ever had. YUM! You wont be left hungry! We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macduff's Pub also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Macduff's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macduff's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.