We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic pub atmosphere, big portions, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macduff's Pub

Macduff's Pub
1041 Fremont Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 542-8777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Basic pub atmosphere, big portions, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had found this place on yelp and was determined to go. It is about a two and half mile walk from Stateline area...they were doing roadwork, ripping up pavements, redoing the bike path, working on the grass verge - it was an adventure just to get there and back! Between the crazy people on bicycles on the side walk, and the beeping horns on the street, the trucks that ignore the lights and try to knock you over and the Harley's roaring along, it was not the most relaxing walk i've had. The pizza was good, they have a lot of beers on tap, relaxing, casual atmosphere - the pub bit is up steep stairs - didn't see an elevator - if you have trouble on stairs, eat outside in the beer garden! Very big portions. The staff were friendly, some one had eaten half their burger then decided it was too raw and the waiter insisted that he get a whole new plate. I'd go back, but if you're by the casinos, you may want to take a cab...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    138
    72
    22
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cute but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Always try to give the local venues my business when I travel and had heard many good things about McDuffs. Liked the atmosphere but felt the menu was too limited for my taste and ended up settling on pizza. Not what I envisioned ordering at a "Scottish" pub. But it was good if not a tad on the expensive side. Did have a black Scottish imported beer that was awesome. Worth a try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Macduff's is good Stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

For us this was a change of pace from eating in one of the Nevada hotels. 2 of our party was from the UK and enjoyed the Fish N Chips. My wife and Shepard's Pie which is a family recipe from the owner's mother. I had the Corn Beef and Cabbage which was also good. All the portions were rather large so we ended up taking a lot of food back to our Condo. For me the only concern was the noise since this Pub is also a Sport's Bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

For fresh - homemade pub fare - you can't go wrong here. Even the pizza was good. Burgers are great - as are the French fries, caesar salad and onion rings.
Nice outdoor patio too. Only thing they are missing is being on the lake; worth losing that for the great food though!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brought in our fresh catch and they rocked it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We brought in 4 Mackinaw and they cooked it three different ways. The mixed drinks were a bit pricey. We were stuffed but had to have the bread pudding, and it was the bomb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macduff's Pub also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)

Been to Macduff's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macduff's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.