We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fun good food great hosts great for the dog” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macduff's Pub

Macduff's Pub
1041 Fremont Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 542-8777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dallas Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great fun good food great hosts great for the dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We only had one night in Lake Tahoe this visit but loved taking the dog down to the Public House rather than all of the posh alternatives. Lively and fun we ate under an umbrella in the breeze with all the other content guests and the other occaissional dog. the owners dog was there and so I am sure that is why all the others were on best behaviour.
Great kitchen and excellent brews and wine list. Well reccommended for a casual evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    81
    28
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fun & unique dinning experience. And great food, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

All I can say is that I fell in love with this place! From the moment I entered this establishment to the time I left I felt welcomed and glad to be there. Eating outdoors (especially in Tahoe) is one of my favorite summer activities so their inviting patio was the place for me. They have a lovely lawn, a shady tree and a big wonderful dog named Bob. I had the opportunity to dine here several times during my stay so I tried several of the dishes with the salads with grilled shrimp & grilled chicken sandwich with hand cut fries outstanding. The chicken pot pie was also terrific. It is served with a huge topping of flakey pastry that just melts in your mouth. The servers were outstanding, especially Joseph who made sure that my meal was good and suggested a perfect wine to supplement my dish. The owners are outstanding and friendly and you can tell that all who either dine or work here are enjoying their experience. I would highly recommend MadDuff's for a real great Scottish/Irish warm Pub experience all in the heart of SLT.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale/Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If I find myself in South Lake Tahoe, I'll eat here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

On my first visit to the Lake Tahoe area, I found that, not surprisingly, it is a extremely beautiful, fairly casual town with a good mix of locals, visitors, and probably a fair number of seasonal residents (my season was summer, some probably live for the winter sports). I came to the Lake Tahoe area first and foremost for its beauty and to be outdoors (I live in Phoenix, this year, we've had 118 degree plus days) and hoped to find good food (not 5 star restaurants that you would find in San Francisco, Chicago, NYC, or other big cities of the World, but, good food) and I did find it here - all three of us were totally happy with our meals (the waiter's suggestion to have the Beef and Guinness Stew surrounded by Pizza Dough rather than in the bread bowl was a good decision for me... it was the right amount of bread) I will say, it wasn't entirely clear how to go about getting a table (no dedicated Hostess) and you had to be prepared for the fairly gruff "greeting" we received from one of the staff, but, in the end, the food was worth the reasonable wait... everyone (including the man with the gruff "greeting" warmed up as things calmed down, so, I would return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Macduff's pub seemed like the place to be! It had delicious food and friendly staff. We were told to go their by some locals. It's not fancy, it's more of a simple yet delicious family dinner. We got the fish and chips and the truffle oil mac and cheese. They were both delicious and filling!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quickly becoming a favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We visited MacDuff's last year because we had a coupon. We visited this year because it was so excellent then. They did not disappoint. We called ahead and they warned us of a big party that night but said if we got there quick we could get seated. We had 15 people in our party. Great service! We were seated right away. Considering they were preparing for a party of 90 this was outstanding. The servers came by often, made great food and drink suggestions and took really good care of us. They acted like they cared. I appreciate that in this day and age. The food was a home run for all of us. Just plan good! We'll be visiting again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macduff's Pub also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Macduff's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macduff's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.