We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macduff's Pub

Macduff's Pub
1041 Fremont Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 542-8777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were visiting SLT and decided to take a chance on Macduffs as it was close to our motel.
Perhaps the bast food and service we encountered on our trip through NorCal.
We had the fish and chips, and the Reuben sandwich. Both were fresh and tasty.
Another highlight was the selections of beers and cocktails. My margarita was made with fresh squeezed juice - best I've had in a long time.
The bartender, waitress, and manager all came over to ask us about our dining experience.
My answer is -- don't miss Macduff's!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    81
    28
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saline, Michigan, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic British food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The food here is excellent. I had the Shepherds pie and it was the best I have had in the US, made with real lamb. I tried my son's fish & chips and they were excellent too. The chips weren't UK style but still good. Service is good and food was served very quickly. Prices are a little high. The place is pretty basic but decked out like a British pub and looks quaint from the outside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Truly memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

While visiting South Lake Tahoe, we went fishing two days and had accumulated three large mackinaws. We asked our fishing guide if he knew any place in town that would cook them for us. Boy oh boy did we luck out with MacDuff's Public House - 1041 Fremont Avenue, South Lake Tahoe - tel: 530-542-8777. We brought our catch to MacDuff's (our guide only gutted them) and they were very accommodating in fileting them and cooking them for us. Our dinner was beyond excellent. They prepared ALL the fish in three different ways - part blackened, fried, and the third selection was in a sherry & butter sauce. Our fish was accompanied by a nice salad, absolutely delicious roasted vegetables, and fries. The fish was superb!!!!! The staff was excellent and happy we were there. The cost was $19.50 per person. The restaurant is the type of place we like to go to also. It is a blue jeans place with no fancy cloth tablecloths - just your typical good place to go eat and drink beer. It was an unforgettable experience that I will remember forever. Hats off to MacDuff's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food expensive for pub food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a pear salad $13, Ruben $13 the salad was very good, sandwich ok , but I thought the price was high for what we got. Good food higher prices

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Awesome Pub in SLT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have no idea why we've never gone to Macduff's, but now we're hooked! A little difficult to find, but it's across from the lake, down Fremont Street, just off Hwy 50. What a surprise! Outside dining had a waiting list, so we opted to eat at the bar upstairs. A bit stuffy, but there's nothing better than watching a Giant's game, drinking a cold one, eating pub grub and hanging out with the bartender. He had cornbeef and cabbage and it was cooked to perfection. I had a chicken pie and WOW! was I every surprised! Amazing fluffy crust and great filling. Pliney the Elder made a brief appearance (imagine that??), and there were so many beers on tap, that we'll have to come back many times to try them all. We had a great time, stayed late and will be back next time we're in SLT.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macduff's Pub also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Macduff's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macduff's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.