We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
1261 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Heavenly Summer Getaway
NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have stayed at many B&Bs and have seldom had such a warm and welcoming experience.

What we loved:

First and foremost, Linda and Johan! What gracious hosts! They are truly delightful and immediately made us feel at home. It is obvious they love what they do and treat their guests like family. Tasty breakfast every morning, cookies and water in our room every day, tons of excellent recommendations for places to eat and check out (along with discount coupons), and just lovely company. We enjoyed chatting at evening happy hour each day over beer, wine and snacks.

Other pros include the location (except for the noise – more on that below), which is close to Heavenly Valley ski resort (bus picks up/drops off just across the street) and within walking distance of lots of great restaurants. We particularly enjoyed Nepheles (including the hot tubs you can rent there!) and Blue Angel Café – both recommended by Linda and Johan.

There is also a huge DVD collection to choose from. We only took advantage of this once during our stay, but there are plenty of options.

So, why not five stars? A few factors, which were important to us, though may be less so to others:

Noise. The Lodge is right on the intersection of Ski Run Blvd and Pioneer Trail, and there is a lot of traffic. Even with ear plugs, we could hear cars and trucks go by. Also, the walls between the rooms are very thin, so we could hear people talking, watching TV, and even snoring.

Room size. The rooms are definitely cozy, but for us who were skiing and had a lot of gear, it felt a bit too cramped. A common storage room for guests to put skis and dry/warm their boots might be a good addition to the Lodge. The bathroom in particular was tiny and very cold (as was the kitchen) since the only heating is from the fireplace next to the bed. None of the rooms have tubs, so if you want something to rest your tired skiing legs at the end of the day, it is not ideal. As others have pointed out, it is also hard to find outlets in the room, though there were several in the kitchen.

Despite these issues, we really had an amazing time! Great value and highly recommended. Thank you, Linda and Johan!

Room Tip: Each room has a unique décor and somewhat different set-up, so ask for a recommendation before booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    17
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
113
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Pros: Adorable, comfortable rooms. Wonderful owners who treated us all like we were their VIP guests. Very quiet location.
Cons: Bathrooms are a little small

While on a road trip in California, we made a one day stop in Lake Tahoe to attend a concert. Most hotels in the area were booked due to the concert and the Celebrity Golf Tournament in town. We found this place and decided to spend a little more than we planned for a one night stay. The minute we arrived, we wished we could stay longer. The owners Linda and Johan were very welcoming and did everything they could to make sure our stay was comfortable. The rooms were cozy B&B style, with themed decor. I think we stayed in a room called something like "Fisherman's Dream." The rooms were very clean and well maintained. We even had a plate of cookies for our stay. Our hosts served us a terrific breakfast in the morning, with lots of choices. The location was on a quiet street, which was ideal for sleeping. The location was also convenient - it was only a short walk down to the beach or the shopping and casino area.
I would recommend this place to anyone visiting South Lake Tahoe. I only wish I had stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Came here based on all the good reviews and was not disappointed! The rooms are perfect for couples or small families, very cozy and more personal than any hotel room or condo rental. Before even arriving Linda and Johan made sure our needs would be met and when we arrived we were instantly at a home away from home. Every morning we awoke on just about the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on, had the warmth and enjoyment of a gas fireplace that worked off the thermostat and ate delicious various breakfast items; courtesy of our host. Linda and Johan supplied us with maps,coupons,local business cards and ideas for the day. The next time I come to Tahoe, I will not bother looking anywhere else!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was me and my husband's first trip to Lake Tahoe. I researched several places to stay and narrowed it down to three. I ended up choosing Heavenly Valley Lodge because I called to ask a few questions, and Linda was so warm and kind. I can't imagine ever wanting to stay elsewhere on our return trips (because we will be returning!). The rooms are small, but so cozy and the bed was extremely comfortable. The smaller room was a non-issue because let's face it, you're in Tahoe. Why do you want to be indoors! And also, the big river rock fireplaces were so cozy and romantic. In the evening cuddling up in our comfy bed and having that as our backdrop was wonderful. What really sells this place is Johan and Linda of course. The detail they take to the little extras they put in your room (snacks every day, good coffee, nice toiletries) are just the start. They have a fabulous breakfast every morning. The typical "continental spread" but also Linda makes a hot dish every morning as well. She also gladly accommodated my Gluten Free request. My husband and I were here celebrating our 10 year anniversary, and they even surprised us with a bottle of champagne and some special chocolate to celebrate. Another highlight of the day was the social hour in the evening. There was a full bar and always excellent appetizers. We also enjoyed getting to know Linda and Johan as they are both such wonderful interesting people. We definitely felt like we had known them much longer than the three nights we were there! We are already planning a summer trip with our son in tow :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is THE place to stay in South Lake Tahoe! Absolutely wonderful stay for my husband and I, and we'd never think of another place. Convenient location, yet very quiet. The hosts, Linda and Johan, are incredible - so friendly and caring, they felt like family in such a very short time! The breakfasts are AWESOME! The rooms are even better in person, and full of those amenities that you wish other places would have. Cookies every night. A small refrigerator and microwave and toaster. Real glasses and plates. Lots of DVD movies to watch for free. Free wifi. I thought the fireplace, that warms the room, was so neat - it turns on when the room gets too cold based on your setting on the thermostat!!!! They think of everything, including putting a car window ice scraper near our room door because of the weather the night before. They are full of suggestions of things to do and see. WE LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cozy Cabin - perfect for the 'wood look' of a wood cabin! Heavenly Hideawa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This cottage was a perfect home away from home for our family of four. The location was great! Linda and Johan were so sweet and nice! Very genuine, helpful and accomodating people.

The location of the cottage was perfect for us. The kitchen was very well stocked with good quality items. It was like cooking at home. There was one bedroom, which didn't fit more than a bed and an amoire, but it was very comfortable. The couch was very comfy too, and the living room was adorable!
Our favorite part was the hot tub! It was a little tricky when we were trying to turn it off, but it was the perfect addition to this cabin.
The yard is HUGE! Plenty of space to run around, especially if you have little ones. There is enough parking for one large vehicle, maybe two small cars. And there was free WIFI!

If I had one complaint, and it is a small one, the tv is small and far away from where you sit. But really, were aren't there to watch tv! I took off one star for cleanliness only because the bathroom rug looked in need of washing or replacing, but the rest of the place extremely clean, and deserves five stars!

The place was the perfect size for four people with plenty of comforts. I would defenitely recommend this place, and would rent it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan and Linda d, Owner at Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful Review of Heather Lake Cabin. We have since bought new rugs for the bathroom. All rugs and linens are cleaned before each checkin. We are glad you enjoyed the cabin and hope you will return to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times now and love the friendly service and quiet atmosphere. It's close to the ski lift and best, its in town. Cute and romantic rooms with a fireplace are hard to beat.


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1261 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2011. Managed by the Owners! All of our rooms were completely remodeled with brand new beds, linens and furnishings! Our goal is to make this a unique, wonderful and relaxing experience for our guests. We invite you to experience a Lake Tahoe stay like no other...we are now officially open!!! Lake Tahoe has so much to offer and is also a great home base for skiing, boating, fishing, hiking, biking or just to relax in a beautiful serene location. It is also close to neighboring hotspots such as Yosemite, San Francisco, Napa Valley Wine tasting, and other Northern California & Nevada locations. The Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast is a quiet, Tahoe-Style property located at 1261 Ski Run Blvd just below the world-famous Heavenly Ski slopes, and only a 1/2 mile down to the shores of Lake Tahoe. The property is on a wooded acre and is very spacious and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.