We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Station House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Pros: walk to stores and restaurants (0.2 mi)
Nicely appointed
Giant TV

So-so
Rooms are on the small size, so is the bathroom
Value

Turnoffs:
Pool and hot tub not in service
WiFi disconnects every 5 min
Wifi information not in room

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    242
    86
    18
    10
See reviews for
153
281
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Close to the Casinos & the beach. Nice & quiet place. Manager very nice & helpful. Room quiet & comfortable. Bed a little too soft for our liking. Free full breakfast at the restaurant is a great idea. We came during the off-season. Looking forward to next year, when the steak house will be open.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review! We take pride in our staff and service for each individual's visit here at the station house inn we always strive to accommodate our guests with a perfect stay and i assure you that I will reiterate what you have said to our staff so that their hard work does not go unnoticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

this was a little off the strip, but we got a free breakfast in the morning, anything off the menu! There was no microwave but we really didn't need it. All the little antique stores had great deals and found some stuff thrift shopping, I collected oil lamps so that was our mission for the weekend. We also had a wedding to go to and the reception was at Passaretti's on Lake Tahoe Blvd. There meat lasagna was awesome and I tasted my husbands tri tip with garlic mushrooms and Wow is all I can say. so all in all it was a very good trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We are so glad to here you enjoyed our full-cooked to order breakfast and that our prime location offered conveinience and flexibility to those thrift shops and wonderful places to eat it sounds like you had a great time we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Traveling with friends. Decided to make best western our choice to spend the night. Although the room we had was quite small, it was clean and the bed was comfy, also a good price. But I think the best part of our stay was the fabulous breakfast we had in the morning. We had our complimentary breakfast at their fine dining restaurant on the property. We could chose from the menu and the special was banana foster French toast. So yummy! And to top it off the most gracious server.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your nice response about your stay . I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your full cooked to- order breakfast over at our Restaurant our wait staff will be happy to hear you enjoyed our special bannana fosters it is really yummy! I agree...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SACRAMENTO, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

In South Lake Tahoe on business for a couple of days. I decided, after reading the reviews of the casino/hotels and their outrageous weekend prices to look else wear close to state-line. The reviews on the this motel seemed mostly favorable so I went with it. Glad I did, great room for the money, clean, comfortable, quiet, no complaints what so ever. I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for you response. I'm so glad too hear you choose us instead of the casinos its nice to be off the main strip its less busy and more relaxing! Our housekeeping staff really takes pride in making sure our guests have a nice clean room when they come stay with us! I will reiterate what you have said to our staff and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Calif.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

In spite of being in the midst of remodeling the front office the front desk person was very helpful. Room was very nice, clean, and comfortable. Couldn't ask for anything more. We ate breakfast at the on site restaurant and was able to chose off the menu. They even let us include a visiting guest for breakfast. Food was very good and service excellent. When I called for price for the night I was quoted an excellent price and when we arrived we were charged about $9 less than quoted. All in all, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! The front desk should be finished by Thanksgiving! Thank you for your understanding when it comes to our remodel. We hope too see you back soon so you can enjoy our new lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We booked this Best Western thinking it was the one at the old location. Sadly, when we arrived we realized they had moved and it was a nightmare. The room was shabby and felt unclean and was SOOOOOOO small we had to put our suitcases on the chairs to even be able to open them. We could hardly turn around in the room it was soooo very small. There was a wardrobe for a closet which was pushed up against the sink and counter, so crowded, couldn't make use of the counter. The stairs leading up to the second floor were covered with a carpet that was completely undone and coming off of the stairs and was a very dangerous tripping hazard. Lighting was very poor so we were very frightened going up and down them at night. There is not enough parking for the number of rooms at this hotel. When returning one afternoon the cleaning staff was walking across the driveway into the hotel and they made sure to walk extra slow, spread out and let us sit in the driveway half in and out of the street for several minutes with an "I don't care attitude that you are having to wait" very rude. The only positive thing was that breakfast was included and it was good and the staff in the restaurant was very nice but you had to arrive very early or they would run out of food. The restaurant, is very dark and is in need of a complete remodel!! As the rest of the hotel. Would never stay here again unless they remodeled and cleaned and repaired everything. We believe we should receive a refund for this awful experience!!!

Room Tip: Try another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
I would like to apologize for not meeting up too your expectations! It must of been frustrating to find out you booked the wrong hotel. The property that you thought you booked is no longer a Best Western they were a larger property on the beach we are a smaller property located near the casinos. It looks like you booked a room with 1 queen bed this room type is our smallest and least expensive room we offer. Had we of known that you were not satisfied with your room we could of made other arrangements like putting you in a king size room which is twice the size of the queens. our parking lot is up to code with the city ordinance we are required to have 1 spot per guest room. As for our parking lot lighting it is well lighted through out our property and the stairs have been re-carpeted. From the sounds of things you were not happy at our property from the start we are taking your feed back in so that we can provide a better experience for our future guests thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Address: 901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Station House Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.