We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager had bad customer service at front desk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Station House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Elk Grove, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Manager had bad customer service at front desk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The room is fair, the carpet dirty. It has many stains on the carpet. However, the suite is roomy. The only turndown in this hotel is the bad customer service I received from the manager. He never smile to us and he looks irritated when i presented my AAA membership card. The way he handled my check-in process made me uncomfortable. However, the other staff who also helping me was nice and friendly. The breakfast was not too bad, however, they keep running out of food. Overall, I am not going back here, also the surrounding neighborhood of the hotel is a bad neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    220
    79
    17
    9
See reviews for
140
258
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

this place was perfect. Cheaper than most hotels in the area. Not super fancy (in a good way), close to the main street, good service, nice CLEAN, NEWER LOOKING rooms. very satisfied with our stay here. We will be back. Found a great place to stay at. Plus FREE BREAKFAST. not a continental. Its a breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We took a room at the back of bldg 2, but had some plumbing problems several hours later. The front desk quickly took care,of the issue by upgrading us to a suite, as they couldn't get a plumber in that night.
The rooms are recently upgraded with mission style furniture. The bathrooms are glaringly clean, the towels new and plentiful. The bed is excellent, percale sheets over/under light blanket; comforter wasn't needed. The heat is controlled accurately by thermostat, and is quiet.
Full breakfast is included. The service is very good. I had the special, Eggs Benedict and my husband had pancakes,chichi they offered and made with blueberries for him. They were great. A short stack would have been enough, as the full stack was huge!
I'm sure we will return. Today we will lie by the pool and read...

Room Tip: I can hear a little walking above us, but nothing from rooms on either side, not even plumbing. Sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Near private beach, South Lake Tahoe. Beach pass given at front desk. It has a heated pool and Jacuzzi. Room was clean, staff helpful and breakfast was great. Breakfast is included at a very nice restaurant on site. Only a tip is expected. Nice to be served cook to order great breakfast at a nice restaurant steps from room. This was a real plus. 10% coupon for dinner at this restaurant given at check in. I had a great dinner on my last night there. If in this area again, will definitely stay there again. I had forgotten my feather pillows that I usually travel with. Could not sleep the first night. The housekeeping mgr. went out of her way to find me a feather pillow. Second night slept well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great facility. Easy walking distance to Lake Tahoe and Casinos. Excellent Breakfast. Staff is fantastic...friendly and very helpful. Perfect location and very reasonable rates for this area and quality of property. We always come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We travel often to Reno and Lake Tahoe and usually stay at the big casino's hotels, but this time we decided to stay at the Best Western in Lake Tahoe which is close to the main attractions, in particular within walking distance to a private beach and within 3 blocks to the Casinos and the Gondola rides. We were very pleased with the staff and the room amenities, it was very cleaned and the décor was great. Also, we were upgraded to a King room which is larger than the queen room.. The breakfast was a plus, they offer a full breakfast menu which is included in the room price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, UT
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel so I could see the sights in South Lake Tahoe. It is well located off of the main street within walking distance of the beach at Lake Tahoe. There is a charge to get into the beach, but the hotel provides a free pass so you can avoid the charge. The room was very nice and the free breakfast was at the adjoining restaurant. I was able to get a sit down hot breakfast with waiter service. There was menu provided so you had many choices for breakfast. The hotel has internet service via Ethernet cable. It does not have Wi-Fi. I enjoyed my stay there and will stay at this hotel when I visit Lake Tahoe in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Address: 901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Station House Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.