We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Station House Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Avery, Ca.
1 review
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our check-in experience was less than satisfactory. we were left standing at the counter without being acknowledged for the better part of 10 minutes. There was no bell to ring so we waited---this was at 2:30 in the afternoon. When reception finally showed up she was flippant and immediately pissed my husband off. Other than that our stay was very pleasant. The room was clean and very nice. The swimming pool was clean and warm with plenty of seating around it. It is a short walk to the lake beach and a pass and towels are provided. A lovely cooked to order breakfast was provided at the restaurant next door. It was delicious and the staff was very pleasant. This hotel gives you a good value for your money. Overall it was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    267
    93
    20
    10
See reviews for
161
308
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed at other locations in Tahoe but decided to take a chance since the rate was so good. We were not disappointed. The room was very quiet and nicely updated. The full wall mirror made the room seem huge. We were on a motorcycle and they were very accommodating to put us in a ground floor room with a view of the bike parked. Although this property is stating to be a non-smoking facility the office staff smoke on the premises and I had to walk through her smoke more than once going between our room and the lobby where the courtesy computer is located. Housekeeping likes to shout across the parking lot to each other. Once our room door and window were closed we were back in our quiet, clean haven. Would we stay there again? If we could get the same low rate, then yes.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is off the main drag there is no road noise. Room was well insulated for sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your response! I apologize for the situtation with my employee. I will let them know to go off property next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have to tell you that we have been to Lake Tahoe a few times before, but never to this motel, and we had some anxiety before arriving because we are more Hilton/Marriott/Hyatt vacation people, but our stay was so nice; we would return in a heartbeat.

Location, Location, Location: It does not bet much better than this place for South Lake Tahoe. We did not move the car for 2 days, and walked to everything. You are a few blocks walk from the Lake, Boating, Jet SKi, Beach, Fine Dining, IHOP, Carrows, Baja Fresh, Casual Dining, Fast Food Dining, Subway, all the major Casinos, Shows, Buffets, Large Supermarket, Hardware Stores, Ski Stores, Outdoor Clothing Stores, Multiple Bike Rental, Ice Cream Stores, Ski Lift, and Nightlife. This is the area you want to stay in. The last time in South Lake we stayed at one of the tower Casino Hotels next door in Nevada and it was fine, but this area is better because you are down at the lake! Plus, who wants to deal with all that Casino smoke when you are on vacation?

-Free Breakfast is included 7 to 10 am and it will be one of the best ones you will have. (Get the pancakes.)
-Staff was very accommodating with special requests and we made a few.
-Our room was newly refurbished and super clean--cleaner than most 4 star hotels we have been in.
-Towels were fine quality. (Note: Shampoo and Soap Bars said "Made in China." We do not like that. Nothing that you would rub on your skin and scalp should be made in China.)
-Bed was OK, not the best, not the worst--could be better. (This is really the weak link in the room that keeps us from giving an excellent rating.)
-Parking was easy right next to the room.
-Room Size is on the smaller side. We had a Queen Bed Room and there was no room at all for a full size suitcase. We fortunately had a couple of bags and 3 carry on size pieces that we found room for under the chairs and a dresser top. We had a bicycle for the bike ride that weekend, but that had to stay in the car at all times. There was absolutely no way to get a bike in that room unless it was going to sleep in the bed. LOL So if you are bringing bikes or skis or anything other than a few smaller bags--know that they will stay in the car unless you get a bigger room.

Area seems safe, and is well lit at night.

We went in the pool and hot tub both days and it felt so great. Hot tub was HOT and we could not find a way to turn down the temp. Pool was warm and appreciated. Hot tub is small, 6 adults is the limit it seemed and we made friends with the other two couples that came in--nice group of guests. Another day we met other nice folks at the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We hope to see you again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My best friends' wedding weekend in South Lake Tahoe. The stay was excellent. The service was good and we had fun. The location was AWESOME......close to the beach, shopping, places to eat...etc. I couldn't ask for a better hotel. The room was clean, but at the same time not that big! I stayed in a room that had a Queen size bed, my husband had to curl up in order to not have his feet off the bed. But overall, the stay was AWESOME!!!!! We had a nice time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Check in was a breeze. Included was a pass for each of us to the private beach area. This was a nice surprise. Breakfast was included which was an a la carte option. This is the first time for us at a Best Western. Nice to have but also comes with having to tip the waiter. The pool was nicely heated. A welcome even though it was a warm day, it would not have been a comfortable option if the water temp was not heated. The room was comfortable even though the bed was probably requiring a mattress renewal. Overall worth the price we paid.

Room Tip: There are no lifts therefore if you are unable to carry your bags up a flight of stairs request a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Room was very clean, staff was friendly, and the complimentary full breakfast was good. Best Western did not disappoint. The price was one of the lowest in the area for a room that included breakfast. Location is about one block from beach and two blocks from Heavenly Village's shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Address: 901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Station House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Best Western and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.