We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent clean and comfortable rooms, breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Station House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    250
    90
    19
    10
See reviews for
154
292
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Arrived a few days before Christmas and just as a 3 day snow storm was starting.

Arrival was smooth and efficient with no issues and we were quickly in our room (a double, double to accomodate myself, wife and teenage daughter). The room was clean and spacious but some of the wallpaper was pealing slightly and the decor was a little dated. For a motel style venue the place was good for our needs.

Throughout the stay the staff were excellent. Reception dealt well with a couple of problems, including arranging to have us move room when they didn't feel they could promptly resolve a problem with the bathroom. The cleaning staff worked hard and we always returned to a clean room each day. A special mention to the snow cleaning team. We had over 2 feet of snow within the first 2 days and further significant falls during the week. The team worked constantly to keep the car parks as clean as possible and made it as easy as possible for people to move their cars safely.

The hotel has wifi but we could only get a reliable signal in reception.

The stay included complementary breakfast as the adjoining restaurant. Again the service was excellent, as was the food.

OVERALL - A good place to stay for winter in Tahoe but could use a little update

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here on 12-24 and 12-25, renting 2 rooms, one with a king size bed and the other with a queen size bed. Rooms were decent size, comfortable bed. Hot/full breakfast was complimentary, although it's not a buffet, so you can only order one item from the menu. The location is walking distance from Heavenly, which makes it great for ski trips. Hotel is not old and not new either. Wait for breakfast was around 15 minutes on both days in the morning at 8AM. Reception service was average, although in the restaurant the person seating us was very nice.

Room Tip: Book on AAA.com for the lowest rate and arrive early if you want an additional sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Good location with beach access and reasonable pool. The only reason to stay. Very small and soft QS beds. Air condition couldn't cope with summer temperature. Breakfast a disaster. We will look for different location next time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you, for your response we are sorry too hear your stay wasn't as we would wish it to be! Yes, the queen rooms are the least expessive rooms we have to offer also are smallest rooms as well we haven't had problems with are air conditioners in the summer season but will look into it! Also are complimentary full sit down breakfast is served in a 2 hour time period unfortunally we have to move 200 plus guests through our restaurant in a timely mannor we would like to apologize for any inconvience this might of caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

There are many motel style hotels in Heavenly and this is one of the best. We booked a 5 day trip over the Xmas holidays and were delighted with the price considering we booked it only a week out. The rooms were large and spacious with a king size bed and a fridge. Like all Best Western Hotels, the Station House Inn has a welcoming family feel. The hotel has a pool, spapool and a steak restaurant all within a minute of your room. The hotel is a 5 min walk to Heavenly's main gondola and there is a free shuttle bus if that's too far. We would definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms look fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I've stayed here a few times over the year and its a nice place. This best western is a great location, just a couple of blocks from stateline, and has pretty good rates. the breakfast is complementary and is actually really good. the beds are a little uncomfortable but i like firm mattresses so this is just a preference this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Address: 901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Station House Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.