We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant location and clean, comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4107 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant location and clean, comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This motel is situated very close to the state line. It provided complimentary WiFi and access to a private beach, and was very good value. We stayed here after camping for two nights at Fallen Leaf Lake campground.

The reception staff were friendly and the room was comfortable and clean. The motel could probably benefit from a touch of paint here and there but overall was pleasant.

The complimentary breakfast was adequate and welcome. Overall good value and very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    57
    39
    17
    15
See reviews for
64
71
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family and me stayed here for several days. We've stayed in 9 different hotels during last year so I didn't expect much from this stay either. BUT I was so wrong! For a small price we paid we had all (and even more!) we needed here. Front desk clerk attended us really fast, knowledgeable; housekeepers were attentive to my picky requests, we got great pool, jacuzzi, SAUNA!, barbecue, wifi, huuuuge size room and bonuses on the top! I was provided info I was looking for: 4x4 trails, best places to see etc. I'm one of those annoying guests who will keep bugging hotel staff till the last minute if my stay, but guys, I'm coming back again in September and will only stay in your place!!! Thank you a lot for taking care of me and my little ones:) best wishes!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were traveling from Utah to SF and decided to spend one day at Lake Tahoe. Unfortunately when we arrived there Lake Tahoe was covered with smoke from Yosemite fires (and West Nevada was much much worse). We decided that we don't want to breath smoke and instead go directly to SF. We stopped at the motel to say that we are cancelling our reservation. Person at the desk was very courteous, offered us free upgrade but seeing that we are not staying he did not even charge us cancellation fee (which would be the same one night stay).

Cannot comment on other things, but I did some research before booking and this was very nice and affordable choice among many other places in the same area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at America's Best Value in a few months ago and we loved it. The prices were very reasonable and the accommodations were perfect. The continental breakfast was great with an assortment of fruit, cereal, pastries, coffee, juice, and hot chocolate. Our room was clean, organized and very roomy. If you want to stay in a nice place for a great price, this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments online. We strive to provide the best possible experience and value everyday to our hotel guest at the most competitive prices. Our continental breakfast model has changed a bit and I would like to make a note of that here. It is now served in our hotel lobby. The menu has been redesigned to be more sustainable for our hotel in the off season; croissants, mini-muffins, breads, english muffins, individual packets of margarine, toaster waffles with maple syrup, orange juice, fruit basket, coffee and tea.

Thank you again for your review and please contact us directly in the future for our guaranteed lowest price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very clean! we were provided with a coupon booklet for local restaurants and attractions. our room was great it had a massive California king a large mini fridge, and a large bathroom. This was great location with amazing service!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your opinion of our hotel online. Truly, the majority of our visitors found our hotel to be friendly, comfortable and very competitively priced... unfortunately they don't take the time to leave their thoughts online for others. On the other hand, visitors that didn't like us so much nearly always leave reviews. Thank you for balancing out our public profile.

Myself and our staff work day in and day out with one common objective; to provide a clean, safe and comfortable place and the most competitive prices in our area. We take everything personally here because our guest experiences and comfort are the most important priority to us.

Thank you again and please contact us directly in the future for our guaranteed lowest prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesport, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I will start with the positives: The high speed internet was very fast; better than at the several Best Westerns we stayed at on this trip. You receive passes to the semi-private beach only a three minute walk from the motel (cost is $5 per person without the pass). There is a free washer and dryer available first-come-first-served (but only one of each!). The staff is helpful and courteous. The location is good; two blocks from Harrah's.
Now the negatives: The place is worn-out. The exterior has had a coat of paint slapped on it to cover the fact that the wood is rotting. The carpets are thread-bare. I'm hoping that the stain on one of our chairs was spilled coffee. The bed was slightly better than a hammock--lumpy, sagging, misshaped. The TV was an old, tube-type (though it did get all basic cable channels). The breakfast consists of bread for toast, croissants (that were pretty good), toaster waffles, fruit and barely passable coffee. Weekdays they do not serve until 8 AM (7 AM weekends). The "heated" pool was maybe a degree or two above unheated. There are no rooms with microwave or minifridge (a microwave is available above the ice machine across from the lobby). Air conditioners have two settings, high and low--no temperature control!
The price is good (we averaged just under $100 per room for the three nights we stayed), but you definitely get no more than you pay for here. The weekend we stayed every place on US 50 had vacancies and we probably should have investigated changing locations after the first night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I regret we were not made aware of your observations while you were with us, perhaps we could have offered you a different room or upgraded you into something you may have enjoyed more. We hope to see you in the future and do a better job at satisfying you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Americas best value inn for our 6 year anniversary, we stayed during the week of Aug 4-10, we brought our 3 dogs, when we first got there Raphiel greeted us with a smile, and let us pick which of 2 rooms that he had avail in the specifications we requested on line we would prefer, we chose the room with 2 beds and a balcony which was very clean, beautiful and looked as if it had recently been updated and repainted, it was well worth the price we were paying for each night, we felt like we were staying at a family member's house because of the friendly service we received, the manager James was very accommodating , as well as pretty much all of the staff including Jason the maintenance guy who helped us when he discovered we had a flat tire on the day we were leaving.

They gave us passes for the private beach for ourselves and our friends, the breakfast was very good and always waiting for us when we got up, and anything we needed or asked for was delivered if available.

I really have nothing negative to say about this place other than I wish we could have stayed longer, the staff was so nice and friendly =)

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to get more for their tight vacation budget, personally I think they could charge more but I'm glad they don't, it makes it easier for us to stay there again on our next vacation to South Lake Tahoe.

Thanks for making our vacation so wonderful James, Jason, Angela and Raphiel.

Jackie and Ryan....=)

Room Tip: We thought we had the best room which was #346 with a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind and friendly review. By far, the majority of our hotel guests find our hotel a pleasant and comfortable value but don't take the time to post their comments. In contrast, the few guests that felt they had a negative experience nearly always post reviews. It's refreshing to read such a positive and comprehensive review. Thanks for helping balance our public reputation.

Our staff here are just nice people. We have all planned vacations and traveled ourselves and understand how our guests plan and anticipate a satisfying departure from their daily routines. We assist all that ask for suggestions, directions or assistance with a cheerful smile. It feels good to be helpful and watch our visitors enjoying themselves.

Thank you again for your upbeat shout out to my staff... I know they will smile to know they were acknowledged.

Please contact us directly in the future for our guaranteed lowest prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe

Address: 4107 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique and attractive Tahoe style inn is ideally located only two blocks to the shore of dazzling Lake Tahoe and private beach and marina facilities. Three blocks to famous Nevada Casinos like Harrah's, Harvey's, Mountbleu, Horizon and Lakeside Inn. Only four blocks to Heavenly Village and gondola, the most direct route to America's largest ski resort and a short 1/2 block to Edgewood Golf Course, rated #5 on the American PGA Tour and location of our annual Celebrity Golf Tournament. With everything Tahoe has to offer nearby including famous entertainment nightly and well known restaurants and buffets, you'll be tempted to have fun all day and then stay up late and enjoy the lively Nevada nightlife. Regardless of why you come to Lake Tahoe, AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN - CASINO CENTER LAKE TAHOE is your BEST CHOICE for convenience, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Tahoe West Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Tahoe West Motel
Best Tahoe West Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.