We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Majal

Taj Majal
3838 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8905
530-541-6495
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Thank you for a great meal. Had lunch yesterday with Speaker and Comedian Shayla Rivera. We loved the Chicken Tikka Masala and the garlic naan. The service was quick and friendly. The next time Shayla does comedy shows in Tahoe, we will be back for more great Indian food. Hopefully that will be soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    22
    22
    8
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Awesome Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went to lake Tahoe and felt really happy on finding an Indian restaurant. The food was good and authentic. The service was also nice so was the atmosphere. After a tiring day we felt happy that we got some good Indian food. Don't miss this when you are in Lake Tahoe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

DO NOT EAT HERE - very overpriced, 12 hrs later still repeating on me.. The meat Somosa is dry, the tikkia masala was bland. The naan the worst I've ever had. The rice was good. We ordered 2 curries with rice, naan, somoas, and 4 pieces of tandoori chicken ( very small pieces and dry) I nearly died when the bill was $71 no drinks and before tip. I had ordered to go as we arrived in Tahoe late and wanted to eat in our hotel room. I so regret eating here. I beg you don't ignore the reviews on here like I did.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The best indian deserts i have had in a long time. And for those who like their food hot try the chilly garlic nann.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
“the food is not good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

i don't like anything in buffet.the food is not freshly made and very tasteless. i will not recommend this place for vegeterian.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Majal also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Taj Majal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Majal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.