We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Inn reinforce the concept of 'motels'” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Inn to your Saves list
Travel Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3536 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Travel Inn reinforce the concept of 'motels'”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Pros:

Great Location. Walking distance to the Tahoe Queen and Lake Tahoe itself. Walking distance to restaurants.

Easy to find

Relatively cheaper than the other 'hotels' in the area.

Cons:
A very poor bang for the buck despite being a little cheaper.
A motel in every sense of the word.
In my room: No soap nor hair dryer.
Very noisy since room was next to main street.
Towels were discolored and not cleaned at all.


Conclusion: Pay a little more and get a much better room at Harveys or Harrah's Or Mont Bleu.

Would not go back again.

Room Tip: If at all possible avoid room 36 and 37. These two rooms are on street level and the walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    16
    7
    38
See reviews for
14
28
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The room has a nasty smell, the door frame was coming apart, it's super hard to lock your door, the ac we had was a conventional fan that plugs in the wall and 1950's heater that does even work. When we arrived there was a big storm that knocked out all power in Tahoe so we had no power for a couple hours there he had no problem but to top that off this place is so old that it's water is connected to a pump/well out side the motel. So we had NO WATER To The Bathroom. We tried to leave and cancel out reservation and manger kept saying no I can't do that. He said call expedia and figure it out with them! Expedia even called to get a refund and he told them my motel so no! So I would recommend finding some where else in this beautiful city! Except this place!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Most disgusting place ever. We walked into our room and one of the bed covers was stained with BLOOD about the size of a football easy to see.Asked the managers to change everything then went to show me and said "look it didn't soak through" are you kidding me? I said I wanted everything changed which they finally did,It seems to me when your room doesn't have a particular item they take it from another room, instead of just replacing it. for example our room didn't even have one chair the room next door had at least two. no AC only one fan for two rooms. Beds were too soft needed several pillows just to make one decent one. Save your money go somewhere else

Room Tip: don't waste your time or money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Checked in after a day of driving around lake tahoe. Found the rates to be reasonable. I now know why. No water in the pool. Toilet tank cracked. Rooms smelled. Staff was pleasant. No air conditioning. NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Spend a little more, or drive down a ways to Harrahs and get a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We might have given this 2 stars -- no AC, pool was dismantled, fairly low-res furnishings, sketchy wiFi. But at least it's one of the more "inexpensive" places in town at ~$100/night and fairly central. However... One night, the guy in the room next door came past our open door and started yelling at us. He said the management told him that we had complained about him making too much noise. We hadn't complained and we also hadn't even heard him. We told him he must be misinformed, and that we hadn't made any complaint. A few minutes later, the manager called our room and said that she didn't want any trouble, so could we please not agitate the man. I went over to her office and asked what was going on. At first she said the same thing -- "don't want any trouble." But, then she said maybe the guy was crazy. So, why did she tell him we had complained? Why was she calling us to tell us not to make any trouble? Something is really rotten in Tahoe here. This happened on our last night's stay, otherwise we would have checked out. This was really unpleasant, and we'll NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

THE BAD: This hotel was probably built in the 1970s and that was the last time improvements were ever made to it. It is by all standards a dump. The very few available electrical outlets are likely 40 years old. The TV is at least 30 years old. The mattress was so thin we could feel the individual metal coils beneath. The blanket, too, is very thin and the heater has no labels. Turning the heater on to each of the available (unlabeled) settings seemed to do nothing but blow tepid air so we left it off and shivered through the night. The curtains are worn and have holes. Likewise the bedspread was moth-eaten. The bath towels are about as small as you can buy before you start calling them hand towels. The shower head is set at a perfect height if you are 5'4" tall. Otherwise you need to scrunch down to get your head wet. The pool and spa have been closed for two years.

THE GOOD: The price was really low compared to other area hotels. The staff is friendly. The WiFi (though a bit slow) works just fine. The water gets nice and hot quickly.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor so you are not hearing people move about through your ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

our stay at this hotel was satisfactory. helpful staff.
this hotel is near by to all scenic places and good restaurants. if you are not looking for luxurious motel and don't want to spend more money this is good motel to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. La...
#38 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#51 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#39 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort /...
#41 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 3536 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Travel Hotel Lake Tahoe
Hotel Inn Travel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.