We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Inn to your Saves list
Travel Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3536 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Berkeley, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Everything worked beside the spa, room was clean and had everything we needed. 5 mins to Heavenly

Room Tip: do not take 36 or 37 which have doors almost on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    15
    7
    36
See reviews for
12
27
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Really good location. Sits between Sierra at Tahoe and Heavenly. Good place to kick your feet up, relax after a crazy day of boarding. And close enough to take advantage of the Casino buffets.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This was the best hotel we stayed in!! I would reccomend this to everybody who comes to South lake. Customer Service was outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The location was perfect because the Lake is across the street and restaurants and markets are within walking distance to the hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and warm and there was cable tv and wireless internet connection. An added bonus was complimentary parking. Pets are not permitted which is perfect for me since I have asthma. The proprietors were warm and considerate every step of the way. All around a great experience and excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Travel Inn at South Lake Tahoe is a budget motel gone wrong. The room was filthy. There was blood on the toilet paper. The lights were broken. The pillows were ripped out. The shower did not drain. The counter outlets did not work. We had to contact the front desk for a TV remote. The drapes were missing pieces. The pool was unusable. The front desk double charged us, and attempted to triple charge, for the additional guest we noted on the initial reservation. Though we had paid for two nights (non-refundable), we left after one. Stay away.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This was my second visit and on both occasions I thought the room was clean and everything in good condition. I see that a couple of reviewers had heater problems and I've no doubt that being cold will affect your opinion. I had no need for heat on either of my stays.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed at this motel for one night. First of all, the condition of the room was horrible and deserved the term "flea bag" motel room. There were missing tile pieces on the shower stall, unfinished walls, shower curtain had black moldew. The beds were ok, but the rest of the furniture was clearly old and deserved to be in a second hand store. No working phone in the room nor heat/ac. The final straw for me was when the male owner, an east Indian male,(race used just for identification) hovered over me while I was getting ice from their "complimentary" ice machine. I had a large bucket but was not intending to fill it up. He however felt I coudln't be trustworthy with his ice and stood in the door way of the room where the ice machine was located presumably to see how much I took. He had previously told me not to take too much ice so as to leave some for the other tenants. I felt this was horrible customer service/treatment and only added to the negative experience of the condition of the motel. In addition, the pool and hot tub they advertise was filled with less than appealing dark water which the above owner stated was "fine". I expressed to him I would be reviewing his motel and so I'm honoring that promise. Mind you this is the first time I have ever posted a review about anything and I truly understand the helpfullness of other reviews. Please do yourself a favor and spend more money on a decent place and not patronize this motel. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 3536 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Travel Hotel Lake Tahoe
Hotel Inn Travel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.