We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean & comfortable bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Travel Inn to your Saves list
Travel Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3536 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“A clean & comfortable bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This was my second visit and on both occasions I thought the room was clean and everything in good condition. I see that a couple of reviewers had heater problems and I've no doubt that being cold will affect your opinion. I had no need for heat on either of my stays.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    14
    7
    36
See reviews for
12
26
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed at this motel for one night. First of all, the condition of the room was horrible and deserved the term "flea bag" motel room. There were missing tile pieces on the shower stall, unfinished walls, shower curtain had black moldew. The beds were ok, but the rest of the furniture was clearly old and deserved to be in a second hand store. No working phone in the room nor heat/ac. The final straw for me was when the male owner, an east Indian male,(race used just for identification) hovered over me while I was getting ice from their "complimentary" ice machine. I had a large bucket but was not intending to fill it up. He however felt I coudln't be trustworthy with his ice and stood in the door way of the room where the ice machine was located presumably to see how much I took. He had previously told me not to take too much ice so as to leave some for the other tenants. I felt this was horrible customer service/treatment and only added to the negative experience of the condition of the motel. In addition, the pool and hot tub they advertise was filled with less than appealing dark water which the above owner stated was "fine". I expressed to him I would be reviewing his motel and so I'm honoring that promise. Mind you this is the first time I have ever posted a review about anything and I truly understand the helpfullness of other reviews. Please do yourself a favor and spend more money on a decent place and not patronize this motel. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We found the Travel Inn to meet our needs both in price and location. If you are expecting a fancy motel/hotel with a lot of amenities, look elsewhere. For the value, the accommodations were adequate and the room was clean. The motel staff were very accommodating and the motel was within easy driving distance to the lake itself as well as area restaurants and casinos. South Lake Tahoe is beautiful and our stay was nice. If you want a budget motel this is the place!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

They offered us a family room because we had 5 people.The room was so nice and clean and had a beautiful view from the window!And we got a excellent price for it!The Internet is very convinient.All of 5 laptops connected with the good signal!The owners of the motel were so nice.We love there.We'll be back!

Room Tip: a family room for a group is really cheap and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

This is a great place to stay at a very reasonable price. This is a no frill hotel, but rooms are great and service is good. If you have time, talk with Sue at the front desk. She will tell you everything you want to know about tahoe.

Room Tip: Good clean rooms at very reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

It is located close to Heavenly and gives you walking and driving access to local grocery stores, it has a Brew Pub next door, if that is your thang(Great food). A nice hot tub and a friendly, easy going staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 6 weeks for a big ski trip and was more than happy with the stay. Stayed in the rooms out back wich have a very homely feel to them, and had a very good heater for winter nights wich didn't leave you with a cold the next mourning. The front desk was very helpful and very nice people. I would definatly recomend this hotel if you were looking at staying in the tahoe area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 3536 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Travel Hotel Lake Tahoe
Hotel Inn Travel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.