We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but Dark and Needs Renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Tahoe Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Park Tahoe Inn to your Saves list
Park Tahoe Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4011 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, US-50 Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
El Dorado Hills, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location but Dark and Needs Renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed here with our dog and found the location to be perfect to enjoy shops and restaurants - all within walking distance. The base room price was a value, but the value is offset by the nickel-and-dime add-on charges: parking $5. per day, $25 per day pet fee, and a room "service charge" of $7 a day despite the fact that they say they will only change the towels and bedding every 3 days unless you request otherwise. The rooms are dated and dark with very small bathrooms. The hotel is near a busy intersection so there is a lot of traffic noise. On the plus side, the mattresses are Tempur-pedic and very comfortable. There were two pools but only one was filled and although the amenity list promises two mineral jacuzzis, both were covered and unusable. The hotel was obviously 2 motels put together and the only way for us to get to the working pool or the breakfast room was to walk all the way around the building. One of the reasons we picked the Park Tahoe was because they promise "free wifi" and my husband has to spend and hour or so each day working in the room but the wifi signal didn't reach our room. They did, however, move us to a room next to the office which was close enough to get a signal and this worked just fine. The desk clerk made a great suggestion: she advised us to take our dog to the very dog-friendly Kiva Beach near Camp Richardson which we found to be a great place to spend the day for both us and the dog.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    49
    48
    40
    36
See reviews for
60
84
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fresno CA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights as we got a good rate on Expedia and they allowed our golden retriever. Be aware that there is a nightly charge for the dog as well as for parking. The location was great for South Lake Tahoe, right on the main street close to shopping and restaurants. Front desk was very nice and helpful. The rooms were small, but not as small as some of the reviews make them seem. We had 3 people plus the dog with 2 queen beds and it was manageable.

Now the cons... Room could have been a bit cleaner - carpeting had pretty severe stains and the bedspreads looked like they could use some updating (sheets were good though) Free wi-fi was HORRIBLE - not just slow - seriously, we could not use our laptop or ipad - worse than the old dial-up! Complimentary breakfast was not consistent. One morning all the donuts and bagels were gone by 8:15 while breakfast is supposed to be available til 9 am. Don't count on this to start your day! Also we like to have a microwave in the room, but there wasn't one - had a fridge though.

Overall, the hotel is just ok. Not the best, but not the worst. Not sure if we'd stay here again. There were a few other motels that allowed larger dogs that we may try next time, but then again, we may come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The biggest asset this hotel has is its location. It sits right on Highway 50; is a five minute walk to Lake Tahoe; just accross the street is the Heavenly gondola & some shops (including a grocery store); and Harrah's & Harvey's casinos are just down the block. The room was small, but functional with furnishings that were in keeping with Tahoe's lodge-like feel. There was also a small fridge so we were able to bring snacks & drinks back from the grocery store and keep in the room. The beds were also extremely comfortable (memory foam beds).
The downside: Upon checking in we were told there was a $7 daily "environmental fee." When we asked the desk clerk what this was for, she was not real clear in her explanation & said it allowed them to be more green. I have stayed in hotels where they encourage guests to re-use sheets, towels, etc to help our environment, but I have never been charged extra for it.
Here is what our $7 a day "green fee" got us: no wash clothes. Although we asked twice (once we were even told they were not out of the laundry yet, but would be brought to our room when housekeeping cleaned that day) we never did receive them. We only received one tiny bar of soap & no refills on toiletries (shampoo, lotion). Even though it was clear that we were using the toiletries (they were in the shower, not tucked inside my suitcase) we were not supplied any more than what was in the room when we arrived. Our bathroom trash was not emptied. Only one night stand lamp worked (I did report this to the front desk & they assured me house keeping would replace it- never happened). Our room keys were deactivated...daily (another trip to the front desk). At one point, when coming back from the pool, I had to go to the front desk in my bathing suit as I couldn't get into my room. She actually asked me if I had my ID on me.
Additionally, we received a code to utilize a free wireless connection. It never worked either.
All of this during a two day stay.
For the price, the hotel (location, cleanliness, comfort) was a good value; however, with all of the annoyances I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Ne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Check in lady was sooooo rude. the men that work their were way more friendly and helpful, so be aware if you do go there, she can be tough. Especially if you have a couple of questions about where to go to the beach or get a good bite to eat (Izzy's Burgers). The rooms are o.k. the beds were comfy. A wall unit for temp control (which I despise b/c of the constant noise). Breakfast was basic continental in a small room. Not sure how enjoyable it would be if it was a busy time of year. After being in Tahoe I would stay at the best western which has beach front rooms. Pools were drained and hot tub was only warm. Other hotels pools were filled and hot tubs had steam. after three days of driving that was a real bummer. wifi was down the whole time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We used this site to determine our stay for Lake Tahoe because we have a dog. This property has a great website which lured us in plus the previous review were pretty good. Well, we can tell you that this place is horrible. The room was dark, the bathroom was dated and cold and very small. The shower floor was not cleaned. The bedding was stained which made us feel like it was dirty. The tv was old and the reception was snowy. In fact, there was more snow on the tv reception then there was in the mountain scenery. The "complimentary" breakfast was terrible. No real food at all..some dry cereal and baby stale muffins..no fruit, no yogurt..just awful. We will NEVER stay again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTManagement, Manager at Park Tahoe Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
All rooms have 100W eco-friendly light blubs and multiple fixtures and provide pleasant and normal lighting. The light bulbs do take about 60 sec to warm up to full power, but once warmed up they are very bright. All rooms look exactly as they do on our website. Also, as listed on our website, we are currently in our slow season and our continental breakfast is limited due to the slow season. It is a complimentary breakfast which provides coffee, oatmeal, cereal, OJ, hot cocolate, and muffins. This summer we are hoping to replace our bagels with waffles to provide a hot item. When peak season hits, we will be adding the yogurt, bagels (or waffles), and fruit. We provide a VIP Card which will get you a 10% discount at the local breakfast cafe across the street, should anyone wish for a hot breakfast. All bathrooms have been recently remodeled and include new tile and new shower doors. Only a few rooms have bathtubs, otherwise all rooms have showers. We receive very few compaints regarding the size of the showers. All of our rooms are cleaned every day, unless a Do Not Disturb sign is posted on the door. We inspected this particular guests' room due to their uncleanliness complaints and we were unable to locate the aforementioned stains or dirt. It is our goal that every guest have an enjoyable experience and strive very hard to please. We apologize this guest was unable to have an enjoyable experience, as we tried very hard to accomodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

I read a number of reviews, both good and bad, before making our reservation. This place was well worth the travelocity discounted price of $76. It's well located within walking distance to shopping, gondola and casinos. The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful! Don't expect a hotel though, it's really motel style. On the plus side - beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and large enough for 2 people to move around, bathroom seems re-done, small fridge in room, and Starbucks is across the street. On the downside - motel style, sorry excuse for breakfast, crummy coffee. Our room had a shower so if you prefer a bathtub you might want to ask which your room has. Overall good place to stay a night or 2 for under $100. Don't expect a boutique hotel, it's not.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

If you are looking to stay in walking distance of everything in South Lake Tahoe: heavenly gondola, the lake, casinos, super market, restaurants, bars, Park Tahoe is the Place. It is located on a major intersection and had more of a motel then a hotel feel, but I still found the location quite after 10 PM.

The room was on the smaller side but very comfortable. The beds are great. There are two pools and hot tubs. The breakfast is included and simple, but delicious.

I only paid $60 a night which made the hotel well worth it considering it's across the street from the Marriot Grand Residence which goes for $300 a night. I imagine the price is higher in the high season, but still over all a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Tahoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Tahoe Inn

Address: 4011 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, US-50 Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Tahoe Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Tahoe Inn is located on Hwy 50 directly across the street from the Heavenly Village/Heavenly Gondola and is 1.5 blocks from the Stateline Casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Tahoe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Park Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Tahoe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.