We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , nice bed but lack of hot water at times was frustrating.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Tahoe Inn

Save Saved
You added Park Tahoe Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Tahoe Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4011 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, US-50 Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location , nice bed but lack of hot water at times was frustrating.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Short walk to the Gondola, great location. Room had a mini fridge, no coffee maker in our room. View of the mountain. Traffic noise since it is right on the strip. The hot water took over 5 min to heat and a few times turned cold while showering then would get warm again. Ok for the price. Room was basic, small.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    46
    40
    36
See reviews for
59
76
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was in South Lake Tahoe. Online, the rooms looked updated and really nice. As soon as we walked into our room, we could see that the room was updated but, in the cheapest way possible. The handles in the shower were pretty much falling off. The shower head was too low and one had to duck down to wash your hair (& we are not that tall). The sink was clogged. The walls were thin, you could hear everything going on in the other rooms. There was only 1/2 roll of toilet paper in the room and we ran out. One day when we came back from skiing, huge blocks of ice had fallen from the roof onto several parking spaces. Had our car been parked there as it was in the morning, there would have been serious damage done to our rental car.

Things got much worse when we checked out. We were charged an extra $12 per night for a "resort fee" which was not disclosed to us when we registered. Also, we were not given a receipt so we called back and asked that one is emailed to us, we never got that either.

It seems like this hotel is pretty confident that lots of people will stay there just because it is in Lake Tahoe. We really got the impression that they did not want to put too much effort into this hotel or the services they provide. If we come back to Lake Tahoe, we will not be staying at the Park Tahoe Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night because we wanted to be close to the Heavenly Gondola. If you just see the hotel from the street, it looks like it could be really nice, and I noticed the property before during other trips to South Lake Tahoe. We were pretty disappointed. The room was not clean, and everything about it was just so cheap and sad. The bed was decently comfortable but the linen was thin and stained. The website said the bath amenities were "local and organic," when they were just really floral smelling and cheap. The towels were rough and dingy, and the bathroom didn't seem very clean. We only had a standing shower, but the showerhead was about 5 1/2 feet off the ground so it was difficult to use. No in-room coffee. We will not be returning, nor would I recommend the place unless all you care about is location. The Stardust Lodge is next door, even closer to the Gondola, and a much nicer and friendlier hotel. Stay there instead.

Room Tip: At least try for room on the second floor, as the walls are thin and you could probably hear people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The good: we scored a very fair rate on a 2 night last minute weekend ski trip. The location is within easy walking distance of the Heavenly Gondola, lots of shopping/ dining options, and the Nevada casinos. The average: the room was clean, but small and basic, and the bed was ok. The not-so-good: there was plenty of hot water in the shower, but you need the skills of a safecracker to be able to adjust it from scalding hot to really hot but tolerable; parking is very tight, and we knew that coming in, so if you're coming on a weekend, plan on getting there early and pretty much ditching your car the rest of the weekend; and we were stuck with a $12 daily fee at checkout for we still can't figure out what - hopefully it wasn't for the Internet, as the sign in code they gave us didn't work.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had been here before, so we were ready for a good time. The thing was it had been many years since we had stayed here, and it hasn't changed. I do believe they were using the same blanket we used the last time. The heat fluctuated and the skimpy bed coverings didn't work to keep us warm...so we were getting up and down all night messing with the heat. There was no hot water in the shower...after letting it run for 17 minutes, it still didn't get much above tepid. It wasn't cleaned properly and it was just an overall letdown. I would not stay here if I had had a choice...next time I'll stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 122...maybe that makes a difference?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived the evening of December 26th and checked out the morning of the 29th, 2013. The ski conditions were wonderful and Tahoe was packed hence very few places to lodge. It came to our attention the first night that the "Outdoor Year-Round Jacuzzi" was not functioning which would not have been such a disappointment if we had hot water to shower with. This came to our attention when we tried to shower after our first day of fabulous skiing in the 14 degree weather. We attempted calling the front desk for at least an hour from both our room phone as well as our cell phone but to no avail. The following day a staff person sent in maintenance. After running the water for a full half hour we were each able to have a tepid shower with an hour wait between the two showers. Additionally, the " complimentary refreshments" are only morning coffee. When we suggested that they give us a break on the bill they took off the $12 parking fee and refused to give us any other discount as we had remained staying there. Given that it would have been next to impossible to find another place in Tahoe during that time frame and the clause that they would charge us for cancelling anyway we were stuck with no hot water in below freezing conditions in a first world country. We have traveled all over the world and have yet to experience such shoddy regard for a basic amenity or at least the courtesy of an apology and some sort of reasonable mitigation. My parked car did not need a hot a shower, I did. .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a motel-like hotel right on the Blvd, just down the road from the casinos, but still in California. It is just a short walk to the Village Gondola up to the ski slopes. There are a Starbucks and a large shopping center with a grocery store across the street. The lobby also serves coffee, and the hotel is dog friendly. The rooms are good sized and have above average wood furnishings, comfortable beds with memory foam toppers, and good sheets. I really liked the staff person who checked us in.

The drawbacks we encountered were: the phone in our room was clearly broken, with missing buttons, which felt cheap; there were some mildew stains at the top of the wall in the bathroom; in one of our rooms, there was only one full sized towel, so we had to request more; toiletries included only shampoo and lotion; there was a small refrigerator, but no microwave, and the coffee wasn't great; the TV only got a few channels, with no pay-per-view for a night in; there was a pool and hot tub area, but neither was open; and there was both a $12 resort fee (for what, if even the hot tub wasn't open?) and a $25 per night dog fee that we were not expecting. Overall, I felt it just wasn't worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Tahoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Tahoe Inn

Address: 4011 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, US-50 Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Tahoe Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Tahoe Inn is located on Hwy 50 directly across the street from the Heavenly Village/Heavenly Gondola and is 1.5 blocks from the Stateline Casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Tahoe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Park Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Tahoe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.