We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place, close to slopes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Tahoe Inn

Save Saved
You added Park Tahoe Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Tahoe Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4011 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, US-50 Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Santa Barbara
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Average place, close to slopes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a motel-like hotel right on the Blvd, just down the road from the casinos, but still in California. It is just a short walk to the Village Gondola up to the ski slopes. There are a Starbucks and a large shopping center with a grocery store across the street. The lobby also serves coffee, and the hotel is dog friendly. The rooms are good sized and have above average wood furnishings, comfortable beds with memory foam toppers, and good sheets. I really liked the staff person who checked us in.

The drawbacks we encountered were: the phone in our room was clearly broken, with missing buttons, which felt cheap; there were some mildew stains at the top of the wall in the bathroom; in one of our rooms, there was only one full sized towel, so we had to request more; toiletries included only shampoo and lotion; there was a small refrigerator, but no microwave, and the coffee wasn't great; the TV only got a few channels, with no pay-per-view for a night in; there was a pool and hot tub area, but neither was open; and there was both a $12 resort fee (for what, if even the hot tub wasn't open?) and a $25 per night dog fee that we were not expecting. Overall, I felt it just wasn't worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    46
    40
    36
See reviews for
59
76
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Disclaimer: I was here in March of 2009.

My boyfriend and I spent four nights here in March of 2009 while on spring break. It was the right price for us at the time, and we weren't really all that worried about the hotel we stayed at. Our room was clean, unlike some other reviews mention, and the hotel was in average condition. It isn't fancy, it isn't luxurious, it isn't up-to-date, but it was in a great location in regards to Heavenly and some fun spots to go out at night.

We didn't have any issues with our room, the staff were friendly, and we felt it to be appropriately priced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I am disappointed. Rooms were not the best. I had to see three rooms before I chose one. The night lady was very helpful. She gave me three different keys to see if I liked any room. I drove three hours and already tired, so I just did not have any energy to look for better rooms. Every room I went it did not catch my eyes. I did not feel "oh nice" kind. I have been to motel 6 at Lake Tahoe, and I honestly believe it was not better than motel6 from any side. The only thing I liked was the bed. That's about it. I had to take handicapped room because no other rooms were looked clean to me. I was reluctant to walk in barefoot because the carpet didn't look fresh clean. They had Jacuzzi in the handicapped room, but it did not work. I reported the desk about it, but nobody came to fix it. Finally, I found they charge "Resort Fee"; charged me $12/day. I paid $36 for staying three days. I think it is rip off. This place is no way near to be considered as a resort. Paying $12/day for it makes no sense to me. I will definitely not going to this place again. I can find better place with the price I paid. I am giving 2 stars because of the clerks(evening/night) helped to provide a microwave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

They charge $12 per night as a resort charge and they will let you know about the charges while checking out only.Refrigerator in the room are barely working......Floor carpet are damp and smells terrible..THE ONLY good thing about this MOTEL is location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Peeling paint, stained linens. The ONLY thing this hotel has going for it is location. Would have been nice if the front desk attendant had informed me on Sunday (when I inquired about the lift to Heavenly) that the gondolas only run on weekends! My friend ended up with green hair after using the hot tub. Big mistake to stay here. Big case of "you get what you pay for".

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent 2 nights here and thought it was fine. We had stayed there a few years back and it was much more like a hotel than the motel it is now. I found check in quick and easy. Although we weren't informed of the $12 "resort" fee. Room was clean and comfy. Location is excellent. Only real problem we encountered was on Saturday night it was like a frat house. The room next door had a large group in it drinking. They were kicking doors and walls. It was horrendous. I called the front desk 3 times and they failed to answer the phone. Eventually it died down after 1am. Didn't use pool would go back if it was cheap again. Only for the location though

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond city, alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Clean room, nice tempurpedic bed. Close to hiking trails, shopping mall, casinos, private beach.
Didn't expect a big fancy bathroom at this price. Was able to check in early. The pool and hot tub had to be accessed from the street. This pool situation needs improvement .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Tahoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Tahoe Inn

Address: 4011 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, US-50 Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Tahoe Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Tahoe Inn is located on Hwy 50 directly across the street from the Heavenly Village/Heavenly Gondola and is 1.5 blocks from the Stateline Casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Park Tahoe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Park Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Tahoe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.