We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for fun in South Lake.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Tahoe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Park Tahoe Inn to your Saves list
Park Tahoe Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4011 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, US-50 Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Red Bluff, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location for fun in South Lake.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms. Nothing fancy. And only a block from the Heavenly gondola! Enough said..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    44
    47
    40
    36
See reviews for
60
78
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westminster
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Liked the beds, loved the staff as they were very helpful, rates good, booked several rooms for wedding wknd. and were able to use their roomy hospitality area, The Tamarak Room, for our group gatherings. Biggest problem was the in-room fridge: as we were on a budget, we brought in our own food, but the fridge wasn't cold enough & way too small, & there was no freezer available! Milk spoiled and blueberries thawed and made big mess! We asked for a microwave & they brought one in. The shower leaked. Rooms were small for more than 2 people, no extra space to just hang out with more than 3. And lobby not big enough for a group gathering either. Enjoyed the hot tub outside. Easy walking to lots of places though.

Room Tip: Beware of parking close to bldg., melting snow from roof made a "rain storm" on car. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This budget hotel features some memory foam beds, which went down a treat with all travelling in our group. The shower is powerful and the bathroom big enough for 2 girls not to struggle to get ready. Location is great being a 5 minutes walk from the Gondola base station. They also have free Wifi.
Staff at reception was helpful and just really nice, too. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The Park Tahoe Inn is a pretty nice place for the price.  I booked through Expedia based on some of the reviews I read there, and didn't really know what to expect since I was going for a budget hotel.  That said, I'm pleasantly surprised with this hotel.  My stay at this hotel happened to be during a snowless January month (who would have guessed), however it has been fairly cold, hovering around 30 degrees during the day.

The location of the hotel is great, literally across the street from a small shopping plaza that has some cheap-eats such as Subway, Burger King and Starbucks. Also within walking distance is a number of restaurants (Applebees is literally next door.) the gondola ride to the top of the mountain and for the brave souls willing to walk a half mile in the cold, a bunch of Nevada casinos.

As for the hotel itself...  The staff was friendly at check in and check out, as well as the few times I went to the front desk for assistance.  There is a pool which was closed for the winter and a hot tub that is open year round.  Refreshments in the lobby included coffee and hot water for tea or coco.

We stayed in room 104, which is a ground level room on the street side which opens to the parking lot, and surprisingly it was fairly quiet.  The room has a large LCD tv with about 50 channels, a small desk, a dresser, a closet like area to hang clothes, and an overall pleasant decor.  The best part is the king size tempur pedic bed; 3 nights on that bed and I now want my own at home!  The bathroom is a standard hotel bathroom: toilet, sink and shower big enough for two people.

There are a few areas that could be improved upon though.  First off is the room was always cold and the bathroom was freezing.  The windows in the bathroom are old and were not very well insulated.  While there was an in-room   heater (which wasn't the quietest of heaters), the cool draft from the bathroom windows quickly made the room cold after turning it off.  Another area of improvement is the  bad design of the bathroom, which could easily be fixed by hinging the door on the other side.  The current layout makes entering the bathroom awkward experience because it blocks the sink and half of the toilet.  Also, the free WiFi Internet is something to be desired; very weak signal strength and considerable lag in download speed.

Overall, I was happy with this hotel and will probably stay here again the next time I visit South Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. Its a nice a quite place in a very central location just opposite to the super market and very close to the Gondola. The room was clean with everything working just fine. The tempurpedic mattresses were interesting .. overall we had a comfortable stay here. One thing to keep in mind.. they do charge extra for parking. I did not realize that while booking the hotel. Also there is no breakfast but that is fine.. it made us try some of the local eating joints in Tahoe.. ;o)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed at the Park Tahoe for one night. It was very quiet. The room was clean. First time sleeping on a Tempur Pedic mattress, which was interesting. Once you get used to it, it's okay. Front desk was friendly. Across the street from Heavenly Village, so you can leave your car at the hotel and walk to the gondola for skiing or snowboarding. You might as well leave your car since you have to pay a $12 resort fee on top of your reservation fee.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, they will put you in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We love the beds. The room was above average but the bed was the best. Location was good and in walking distance to the lifts. We will stay there again. The inn looks so lovely covered with snow. We walked across the street to have breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Tahoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Tahoe Inn

Address: 4011 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, US-50 Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Tahoe Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Tahoe Inn is located on Hwy 50 directly across the street from the Heavenly Village/Heavenly Gondola and is 1.5 blocks from the Stateline Casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Park Tahoe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Park Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Tahoe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.