We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Beach and Ski Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe Beach and Ski Club to your Saves list
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3601 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Another home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We have been very lucky with our holiday travel lately, first in Italy and now in California we have found another place that we simply didn't want to leave. Our deluxe suite had everything you could ask for, my favorite was the massive spa that relaxed me so much it nearly put me in a coma ! We had a stunning veiw of the lake and mountains, the kitchen was great, although it didn't have an exhaust fan, ( thats my one and only complaint ! ) the king size bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever experienced, and the room service and staff could not be faulted. To top it all off every day was sunny, no wind and the snow at heavenly, was simply heavenly !! Thanks for a great holiday, we'll be back !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    15
    17
    6
See reviews for
45
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham WA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We have owned here for the last 12 years. It has had it,s remodel headaches etc. But it is always fun and beautiful. Staff is always eager to help. best location in South lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caifornia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

This place was like being in a prison. Dont touch , dont look at, dont breath, cant do that cant do this. Charge for everthing. Need an extra half hour at check out thats $50. when you check in they give you a list of offenses the can fine you for.
The heater knob fell off in my hand. The toilet shot water out of the holding tank and sounded like cats in heat when it was flushed. They were some of the crankiest service people I have ever met. Never smile dont even look at you when they are explaing their procedures. Toss papers along the counter to you, If you ask a questions they are offended. I never asked a question the received an answer right away, it was always call back tomorrow when so and so would be in.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear Valley, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

My husband and I were very blessed by friends to be able to stay in this place. We stayed in the Baldwin Building (you must request this to get a room with a lake view). Although they give owners (timeshare) first come-first served - they are extremely accomodating. The staff is very knowledgeable, and helpful, you can ask them anything. The place does activities if your interested in that. It's right on the beach, where they have bbq's, chairs, tables....the paddleboats are moored up at the Marina right next to it, but there's no noise here, with anything. The room was amazing.....clean, completely stocked with extras. TV's, and DVD players, and you can rent movies in the office for $1.00. Free wireless was outstanding. Private Balconies on every room. Perfect view of Heavenly ski resort, and the lake. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We have owned at TBS for 15 yrs; and we're ashamed to say we own. July 4th is our anniv and we go to enjoy the beach & fireworks. We phone in reservations as owners arriving during a non-use week. We were given a studio right in back of the Chevron Station, side view and smell of the large trash cans in the parking lot, and the room smelled horrible due to a water leak under the sink. The building is not being maintained and actually needs an elevator. We ran into senior citizens that didn't realize they had to take stairs, but kept a good attitude. We phoned the front desk immediately upon entering the room, telling about the room and trash smell. Asked for another room. Front desk pretty much said there are no more rooms, yours was assigned as first-come, first-served by when the phone reservation was made. We were asked to "do the best you can and tomorrow we'll put in a fan that cleans the air." No one was sent by maintenance to fix the problem. We will definitely be writing the TBS Board for consideration of putting an elevator in place of the first and second floor rooms facing the trash and gas station. Why would anyone pay $175 a night for a room with only a bed and have a view of the back of a gas station and trash stench? Prior to arrival we phoned the activities coordinator to check on kayak rentals and didn't receive a call for over a week and half. As stated, we are ashamed at the condition and poor customer service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We checked in and the staff could not be more enthusiastic or more helpful.
We went to our room and looked over at the open door of a room being cleaned MUCH to our surprise the maid had the sofa bed upended and was detail vacuuming under it! Our room was clean immaculate and so comfortable it was the first good nights sleep in a hotel ever for me. By the way I have worked in 2 5 star resorts as a concierge, front desk and even in housekeeping.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

My family and I stayed here for a week as part of our timeshare exchange. We had two units, one studio and one one-bedroom unit. Overall, we had a great time and really felt comfortable at this resort.

For starters, the resort is very conveniently located on the main strip, minutes away from restaurants, casinos and the Heavenly ski resort. We really felt like no time was wasted on driving during this trip. A few times we even walked out to the shops, though side-walk plowing doesn't seem to be a priority in South Lake Tahoe. Note: wear warm walking boots with tread!

The units are clean and well stocked, and though the decor is a bit dated, it has that cabin-like charm. Our two units smelled a bit musty, we compared it to stale warm bread, but it wasn't enough to run us out of the room. And while the units were spacious, the kitchenettes were a bit small. Don't expect to cook many, if any meals in here. There isn't an oven or a stove, but burners can be borrowed from the front desk. There are no fans or exhausts though, so a few times our neighbors had to leave their front doors open to get the egg and bacon smell out of their rooms.

The front desk is friendly and while the concierge was helpful, he was also a bit patronizing. The resort has some organized events, which mostly seemed targeted to young children. We were looking forward to enjoying the outdoor hot tubs after a day out on the slopes, but they were a bit of a hike from our unit and there wasn't anywhere to get changed. We just couldn't imagine making the trek in our bathing suit and didn't bother.

Some other good points: great TV channel selection, free wireless, comfortable beds with firm pillows, clean jacuzzi in room, good strong shower and heat lamps in bathrooms.

Some not so good points: TVs in living rooms are hung from ceiling (gave me a headache and neck cramp), unit sound-proofing not the best and no in-room safety-deposit box.

If we ever return to South Lake Tahoe, we'll be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe Beach and Ski Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Beach and Ski Club

Address: 3601 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahoe Beach and Ski Club 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tahoe Beach and Ski Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Beach And Ski Club Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Tahoe Beach And Ski Hotel
Lake Tahoe Beach Ski Club
Tahoe Beach And Ski Resort
Tahoe Beach Ski Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Beach and Ski Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.