We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Careful Making Reservations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Beach and Ski Club

Save Saved
You added Tahoe Beach and Ski Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3601 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Westminster, CA USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Be Careful Making Reservations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We made a reservation a month in advance, a few days before our trip I checked their website and saw that they had reduced the rates significantly for new reservations only. Upon check-in I asked them to honor their reduced rates for our stay which they refused to do. I understand what the website said but is it really fair that I pay more then the people who just called in yesterday?

Other prior reviews do a good job of describing the property, great location, private beach, etc., however our room was really old, dirty, and tacky. They are in the process of remodeling all the rooms but it will be some time before they are done so ask for a room in one of the remodeled units.

On check-out I again asked for the reduced rate and was told that since I had reserved on line they could not change it. I was further told that I should never reserve on line but should call the hotel because they would then give me a better price.....it seems like whoever I talked to gave me a different answer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany C, Owner Services/Rental Relations at Tahoe Beach and Ski Club, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your visit to Tahoe Beach & Ski Club. Although we would prefer for all our guests have a pleasant experience, comments such as yours allow us the opportunity to improve the quality of service we offer to all guests.

We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay, and would like to speak with you regarding the specific problems you had.

Thank you again for your input. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit here at Tahoe Beach & Ski Club.


Sincerely,

Tahoe Beach & Ski Club Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    12
    16
    6
See reviews for
38
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The unit was composed of one large bedroom, a living room with a pull out couch, a full size kitchen and two full baths. It was newly remodeled in the three story building next to the street. Because I was on the third floor I was able to see a bit of the lake and the mountains behind them.

However, what makes for a positive experience is more than the accommodations themselves. Upon check in, I was told I did not have a reservation, even though I had made it nine months earlier and called a week before to confirm my stay. It was in my brother's name and not in mine and I was almost refused access. I spent time on the phone with two separate businesses confirming that the reservation was for me and had them fax the documentation to the hotel. This is not something you want to experience almost 3,000 miles from home with no other reservations. Needless to say I was filled with anxiety until I got the proof I needed faxed to the hotel.

I do need to say that my visit to Lake Tahoe was extremely pleasurable and the hotel was pretty centrally located to what was of interest.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that has water view. Who wants to be at Lake Tahoe and not see any of it! Second choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Superior location, fantastic beach, fantastic views and close to most everything. However, the management is doing this location a great disservice in failing to properly maintain and update this location. It should be noted they are doing work in one of the 5 buildings. The rooms have not been updated for what appears to be a significant period of time. The furniture is worn and not very comfortable. I do question how you rent a one bedroom unit with a kitchenette that has all the utensils to cook but unit does not come with a stove or burners to cook with. Why the utensils and other cooking items? I assume you are to use them with the microwave and toaster oven? I should have realized this when I reviewed the club activities which include a presentation on making a meal in a microwave. A countertop burner is evidently available upon request but really this is 2013 and this is a one bedroom unit. Also this is the first one bedroom unit I've been in that has a mini refrigerator. Again not up to what would expect. Worse was the pool/hot tub area. The steps leading to the hot tub are crumbling with loose concrete everywhere including the deck of the hot tub and in the hot tub. Also had to clean the filter on the hot tub as it was so full of leaves, pine needles etc that they were floating back into the hot tub. The pool was not skimmed daily during my stay and also had organic material on top of the water and on the bottom of the pool. This is really a great location, nice private balcony, great private beach, close to the marina, shopping other sites. It is just in need of a major renovation to bring it up to standards seen in other locations. Hopefully the current renovations will be done on the entire facility and address the issues that I have detailed as well as others that I have not addressed.

Room Tip: Check on the renovation and visit after they are completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just had our vacation in March 2013. The room and location were great but hope they would improve on customer care especially for those tourists like us who are not familiar with the place. We had trouble with transportation to see the different places of Tahoe. But each time I call the front desk, we always got an "I don't know" answer. So, we just had to find our way on our own without anybody's assistance from the hotel staff. But then, all other aspect about the hotel was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in December but would love to go back for longer. Of course the private beach was covered in a couple feet of snow when I was there but I am sure it is great in summer, as it was the view was gorgeous. The staff was very helpful and even though they were reluctant to hold our few bags for us after checkout, they did so at no charge. Problem is they do not really have room to hold luggage so do not expect it like you can at regular hotels. Our one bedroom corner suite was huge. I didn't realize when I booked that this was a condo so was surprised when I opened the door and saw the size, full kitchen, dining table, living room, two bathrooms - one with a huge jacuzzi tub, two balconies. I guess we had an updated room because it was furnished wonderfully. I highly recommend staying here and if I ever go back I will plan for a longer stay where I can actually use the kitchen and other great amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rollinsford, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were here in Feb 2013. We had a 1 bedroom condo w/partial kitchen in the newly renovated Bliss Bldg (#2). We were very happy with the condo. The unit was very nicely appointed with new tile floors in the kitchen and baths (there were 2 baths) ample room in both the bedroom and living area. All the appliances and fixtures and furnishing were new. The partial kitchen has no stove top but does have a large microwave, toaster, toaster oven and place settings and flatware for four and a 3/4 size fridge w/freezer.

The access is excellent. The complex is on the main drag but we had no noise issues at all. Access to local attractions was very simple and easy. Heavenly Resort was 1 mile, Kirkwood was 35 miles, Sierra at Tahoe was 17 miles and the casinos about a mile. If you are there in the summer, the complex has 400' of beachfront!

Room Tip: request a room in one of the renovated buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here from 9th Feb until 15th Feb 2013, and having read some of the reviews, I must admit I was a little nervous as to what we may end up with.
However, these fears were unfounded as we found both the staff and the room excellent. We most likely had a renovated room as everyone speaks about, and it was more than sufficient to our needs with a partial kitchen/ lounge area and a separate bedroom, the bed was massively comfy!
Location wise, you're less than a 5 minute drive to the ski slopes of heavenly, via the California lodge. Parking here is easy and free, rather than going for the Gondola in Heavenly village.
Pizza hut on site helped with food after 18 hours of travelling (if your British, don't order the thin and crispy versions of pizza, its like having the filling on a cracker!)
Easy to pick ski-s up from powder house, and the front desk clerks gave us coupons for 15% off.
The place is being renovated, currently on the Carson building, but this had no affect on our stay. Overall, a nice, easy going place.....and we used a third party to book with no problems.

Room Tip: We had 3100 which looked to be a disabled room.....apt for my knee injury during the holiday. Think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tahoe Beach and Ski Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Beach and Ski Club

Also Known As:
Tahoe Beach And Ski Club Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Tahoe Beach And Ski Club Hotel
Tahoe Beach And Ski Hotel
Lake Tahoe Beach Ski Club
Tahoe Beach Ski
Tahoe Beach And Ski Resort
Tahoe Beach Ski Club
Address: 3601 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahoe Beach and Ski Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Tahoe Beach and Ski Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Beach and Ski Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.