We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

this is the first hotel that we stayed in that actually had a shower that was handicap accessible. the shower was open and had a chair in it for the disabled person to just walk into the shower. The handicap parking spots were right in front of the rooms so you did not have to park 1/2 way across the parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

located on beach side of the boulevard; next to CVS - very convenient to buy any items we needed; easy to walk to the beach and to the Tahoe Queen dock - no parking hassles; be sure to buy tickets at the front desk for the Gondola, Tahoe Queen, and other major attractions - it costs $3-$5 less than at the site.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank channelswim4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkgrove
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I booked a room with them using the 800 number talk to the non English speaking person that assured me that the room I wanted was available. It was the three queen in one room. So I went ahead an booked it well like 2 hrs later the management called an said that that room was not available so I called the 800 number back an told them about it they want to put me in a two queen bed with an roll away for $15 dollers less. The three queen room was $230 the two queen was $215. Like really you guys messed up but can't give us a better deal. So they did not give us a better deal so we did not end up going. Very poor costumer service an they need to let American a own these place we can under stand them when we make resavition

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill64ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Northern California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have never stayed at a "HoJo" and honestly hadn't heard good things about them anyway. This little gem in South Lake Tahoe was a pleasant surprise. The manager was very friendly and even gave me a partial lake view room. The room itself was updated and fairly modern. It's also located near a CVS and many restaurants. The price was very good too. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Be sure to ask for a room in the back on the second floor... it's a bit quieter.

Room Tip: In the back of the complex on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Small room and it is an older property, but close to many sights. The advice given by the manger for renting bikes and buying discount tickets for the gondola ride to the top of Heavenly was very helpful. We also used the food discount coupons given at check in. The breakfast room was very small with not enough seating but the food choices were good for only a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Rooms were clean, shower was tiny, could hardly turn around. Front desk clerk was very helpful and nice. Within walking distance to grocery store and restaurants. Continental breakfast was disappointing but there was coffee and juice, beagles, toast and muffins. The Brewery at Lake Tahoe is about a block away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#24 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#37 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#27 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing