We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Budget Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #32 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
daventry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value Budget Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Clean room, WiFi, Comfy bed - what more could you want in this price catagory!
If you are loaded then goto a 5* hotel, however for the monetarily disavantaged this is top value - no complaints. Also close (staggering distance) to a brew pub and other interesting eating establishments!!!!!! Need a Lake?.... sooooooo close.

Room Tip: Dunno .... only used one!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    48
    16
    11
See reviews for
64
54
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a basic budget hotel with clean rooms that stands out for one thing - the managers are very friendly and extremely helpful - willing to help you with anything you need. Internet service was very convenient. Discounts to local eateries. Great partial view of the beach from one side of the hotel. Parking was a little tight, but we never had a problem. Location is convenient - short walk to everything, including a nice beach overlook spot with a bench to relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Old property in desperate need of renovation. Walls, windows & doors offer no sound barriers at all. We were on 2nd floor, end room, facing front, parking and pool. We were with our 11 yr old twins, their first trip to Tahoe for our friend's wedding. A joyous occasion for all.
1st night we had teenagers next door partying, yelling to their buddies off the balcony shared by all on our row of rooms, doing beer bongs and smoking cigs & pot that could be smelled in our room. Going at it till 2 am when we finally had enough & called mgr. I couldn't believe she wasn't already aware of the racket. She tried to get them to stop, had to call cops. They settled down only until cops left. We all got about 3hrs of sleep.
To the mgrs credit she asked them leave the next day after she validated that the kids lied to her when they said they talked to us and promised they wouldn't repeat that night. It was ridiculous. Plus, the manager apparently refunded their money as she asked them leave. (What about offering to do something for those of us that suffered?).
2nd night she replaced the rowdy teenagers with what might have been a very nice family. Unfortunately, soon after getting back to their room from watching fireworks, their baby cried non-stop until well after midnight. We didn't complain, obviously not the baby's fault. And the parents apparently had no idea how thin the walls/doors were....They would walk outside on the balcony, we assumed to help out the people in the room with them, but it made it even worse for us as they were right in front of our door and the sound funneled straight in our room. When they would go inside, we could clearly hear through the walls, and the adjoining doors were even worse, as the sound traveled through them more clearly.
The manager, Chuan, (possibly the owner?) was very nice, however, we will NEVER go back there. It was a good price for the location to the event, the lake, casinos and shopping. However, not worth the aggravation and sleep deprivation, plus the exposure to cigarette and pot smoke. Had she at least offered to do something to make up for their terribly run down property, it would have left less of a bad taste and we may have considered it in the future, more likely if they renovate/update. At this point. I have no desire to set foot in any HoJo property. I'll stick to Holiday Inn, La Quinta, Marriott, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Staff very accommodating, glad to make your stay welcoming. Location is the name of the game here, CVS and Pizza Hut close enough to share parking lots. Couldn't be nicer and more central in south tahoe. We spent 3 days there.

Showers were a bit low but the greatest pressure I've ever had in a motel, bar none. Needs an update but when your in Tahoe who spends time in their room?

If you were born with a silver spoon in your mouth try the Ritz Carlton, if you want GREAT value in a great venue try HoJo in South Lake Tahoe they are the best.

Room Tip: Ask to check the room before you buy, we did and they were happy to do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.