We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #34 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    61
    52
    17
    15
See reviews for
71
55
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

overall not to bad,the was room clean, fixtures and fitting a bit tired but all the normal things you would expect at this level property.

Shame they decide to operate a $1.50 scam on a room safe, which is added to all bills, but is optional, you have to ask for it to be removed when you check out, so no good if you want to leave early!!!
I didn't want a safe, but some people might, in which case i'm sure they would be happy to pay $1.50 for it, I would if I'd needed it.

Hardly seems worth it, but I suppose all those $1.50's add up....I expect most people can't be bothered to ask for it to be removed,
I did out of principle.
Heating was very noisy kept me awake all night.

Continental breakfast was not at all bad thou.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Mattresses are very comfortable. Clean, friendly, I don't think you could ask for anything more. Oh yes. The coffee room doesn't open till 7:30, so if you are an early riser take that into consideration.

Room Tip: I don't know what qualifications they ask for in a handicapped room (my friend is an amputee) bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Room was very clean, bed very comfortable and friendly staff from cleaning crew to hotel manager. We stay at this hotel again, especially for the price this was an excellent bargin. I have stayed in rooms that were double the price and this hotel measured up easily. I would say that this hotel measured up to that of the larger casino hotels fancy room going for hundreds of dollars. We were/are very impressed. In addition, we had great view of Lake Tahoe!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake. Although we did not notice until morning, the view of Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place is great! SO close to the lifts and the lake! The woman in charge is a dream! So attending, accommodating and friendly! They even give out samples of healthy stuff like Vitamin C, Icy-Hot and granola bars! She even helped me scan and sent important documents and I never saw her NOT smiling! The rooms are clean and everything pretty much perfect! Forget the casinos...Stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hojo for 2 nights in late feb. The room was standard for this chain. Incredibly comfortable bed, hot shower and reasonable amount of space to put all ski gear ect in the room. Breakfast was not an amazing selection, but as it was free it was great!
Customer service was outstanding. Gave discounts on ski tickets and ski rental gear.
Location was perfect, just a walk to Safeway and some local restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.