We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    72
    65
    23
    20
See reviews for
86
67
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

overall not to bad,the was room clean, fixtures and fitting a bit tired but all the normal things you would expect at this level property.

Shame they decide to operate a $1.50 scam on a room safe, which is added to all bills, but is optional, you have to ask for it to be removed when you check out, so no good if you want to leave early!!!
I didn't want a safe, but some people might, in which case i'm sure they would be happy to pay $1.50 for it, I would if I'd needed it.

Hardly seems worth it, but I suppose all those $1.50's add up....I expect most people can't be bothered to ask for it to be removed,
I did out of principle.
Heating was very noisy kept me awake all night.

Continental breakfast was not at all bad thou.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Mattresses are very comfortable. Clean, friendly, I don't think you could ask for anything more. Oh yes. The coffee room doesn't open till 7:30, so if you are an early riser take that into consideration.

Room Tip: I don't know what qualifications they ask for in a handicapped room (my friend is an amputee) bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Room was very clean, bed very comfortable and friendly staff from cleaning crew to hotel manager. We stay at this hotel again, especially for the price this was an excellent bargin. I have stayed in rooms that were double the price and this hotel measured up easily. I would say that this hotel measured up to that of the larger casino hotels fancy room going for hundreds of dollars. We were/are very impressed. In addition, we had great view of Lake Tahoe!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake. Although we did not notice until morning, the view of Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place is great! SO close to the lifts and the lake! The woman in charge is a dream! So attending, accommodating and friendly! They even give out samples of healthy stuff like Vitamin C, Icy-Hot and granola bars! She even helped me scan and sent important documents and I never saw her NOT smiling! The rooms are clean and everything pretty much perfect! Forget the casinos...Stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hojo for 2 nights in late feb. The room was standard for this chain. Incredibly comfortable bed, hot shower and reasonable amount of space to put all ski gear ect in the room. Breakfast was not an amazing selection, but as it was free it was great!
Customer service was outstanding. Gave discounts on ski tickets and ski rental gear.
Location was perfect, just a walk to Safeway and some local restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.