We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handicapped rooms are HUGE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Morro Bay, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Handicapped rooms are HUGE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Mattresses are very comfortable. Clean, friendly, I don't think you could ask for anything more. Oh yes. The coffee room doesn't open till 7:30, so if you are an early riser take that into consideration.

Room Tip: I don't know what qualifications they ask for in a handicapped room (my friend is an amputee) bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    65
    58
    22
    16
See reviews for
77
60
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Room was very clean, bed very comfortable and friendly staff from cleaning crew to hotel manager. We stay at this hotel again, especially for the price this was an excellent bargin. I have stayed in rooms that were double the price and this hotel measured up easily. I would say that this hotel measured up to that of the larger casino hotels fancy room going for hundreds of dollars. We were/are very impressed. In addition, we had great view of Lake Tahoe!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake. Although we did not notice until morning, the view of Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place is great! SO close to the lifts and the lake! The woman in charge is a dream! So attending, accommodating and friendly! They even give out samples of healthy stuff like Vitamin C, Icy-Hot and granola bars! She even helped me scan and sent important documents and I never saw her NOT smiling! The rooms are clean and everything pretty much perfect! Forget the casinos...Stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hojo for 2 nights in late feb. The room was standard for this chain. Incredibly comfortable bed, hot shower and reasonable amount of space to put all ski gear ect in the room. Breakfast was not an amazing selection, but as it was free it was great!
Customer service was outstanding. Gave discounts on ski tickets and ski rental gear.
Location was perfect, just a walk to Safeway and some local restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Richmond, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The room is a very basic motel style room, nothing special. Nice hot shower, bed was decent. Soft pillows.Thin walls you can hear your neighbors. Heater works well. We specifically called before booking to see if hot tub is working, and customer service put us on hold, reached the hotel and they said its working fine. I specifically mentioned that other reviewers had said that they were told the same thing and found out otherwise. well guess what they lied again.Their hot tub is not working and covered up, beware.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms have way better access. access to some rooms upstairs is very poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojolaketahoe, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you very much for you comments on your stay. The cover for the hot tub is for not wasting the engery while it's not using. The hot tub is working fine, the guest only need to let us know before go into the hot tub we will remove the cover for them. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our hot tub during your stay. We apology for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.