We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Yuba City, California, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Room was very clean, bed very comfortable and friendly staff from cleaning crew to hotel manager. We stay at this hotel again, especially for the price this was an excellent bargin. I have stayed in rooms that were double the price and this hotel measured up easily. I would say that this hotel measured up to that of the larger casino hotels fancy room going for hundreds of dollars. We were/are very impressed. In addition, we had great view of Lake Tahoe!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake. Although we did not notice until morning, the view of Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place is great! SO close to the lifts and the lake! The woman in charge is a dream! So attending, accommodating and friendly! They even give out samples of healthy stuff like Vitamin C, Icy-Hot and granola bars! She even helped me scan and sent important documents and I never saw her NOT smiling! The rooms are clean and everything pretty much perfect! Forget the casinos...Stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spryspry61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hojo for 2 nights in late feb. The room was standard for this chain. Incredibly comfortable bed, hot shower and reasonable amount of space to put all ski gear ect in the room. Breakfast was not an amazing selection, but as it was free it was great!
Customer service was outstanding. Gave discounts on ski tickets and ski rental gear.
Location was perfect, just a walk to Safeway and some local restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Richmond, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The room is a very basic motel style room, nothing special. Nice hot shower, bed was decent. Soft pillows.Thin walls you can hear your neighbors. Heater works well. We specifically called before booking to see if hot tub is working, and customer service put us on hold, reached the hotel and they said its working fine. I specifically mentioned that other reviewers had said that they were told the same thing and found out otherwise. well guess what they lied again.Their hot tub is not working and covered up, beware.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms have way better access. access to some rooms upstairs is very poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Persianpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojolaketahoe, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for you comments on your stay. The cover for the hot tub is for not wasting the engery while it's not using. The hot tub is working fine, the guest only need to let us know before go into the hot tub we will remove the cover for them. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our hot tub during your stay. We apology for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Chaun was unbelievably helpful to us on our stay at HOJO. We spent 3 days on our honeymoon. Room price was a bargain. Although an older hotel it was still great value for money. Included free continental breaky and fruit. Lake Tahoe is absolutely beautiful..we loved it! Management lent us ski gear, gave us advise, discount coupons, cold and flu medication and when we were having trouble accessing money even let us make a phone call to our bank. We are very appreciative and would like to say a huge thanks. We would love to go back again one day for longer and enjoy the area without both being sick with the flu. Husband still managed to go skiing for a day which was awesome and i was in heaven taking photos. Bus pick-up at front of hotel to ski run. Restaurants and hotels for meals close by. Amazing little curry shop beside hotel has all you can eat lunch...best curry ever!! Felt safe everywhere. Wish we had hired a car as it was a bit far to walk everywhere and very very cold.

Room Tip: ask for a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiehoneymooners12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#24 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#37 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#5 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing