We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager is super customer oriented” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #34 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
63
54
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Price-quality is fair, clean, old, good bed. wifi needed to be resetted twice. breackfast terrible. Safe was not usable as it was closed and the password was of course not known. Very friendly people. (Outside season, price very low)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojolaketahoe, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Paul V,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time for writing a review.
I am sorry to hear about the problems with the wifi and safe.
We do our best to make it convenient for our guests by offering complimentary wifi, with several connections available throughout the property. However, being in the mountains, we do have occasional issues with connectivity.
The safe is a Wyndham standard, and I apologize for it not being in working order. Please make sure to call us when you have any issues and we can fix that for you.

We hope to see you again soon. Please email us at hojoattahoe@gmail.com for any special arrangements during your next stay.

Best,

Chuan Mai
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The positive.
1. The staff/manager is quite friendly and the check in smooth.
2. Location is great, can walk to the beach, close to food, grocery stores and the casinos.
3. Room was clean to a point. Will get to that on the negative side of my review.

The negative.
1. There's a $1.50 charge if you use the in room safe. Was advised during check in that I would not be charged unless I use it. When I checked my credit card statement, I was indeed charged the $1.50. Not a big deal and not a lot of money, but just odd. Guess it's just extra income for the owners.
2. Very thin walls. Heard people going to their room at 12am, baby crying, doors slamming. There also is some construction going on Hwy 50 and starts quite early as one other reviewer noted. You can hear everything!
3. Cleaniness. The room was clean upon going in. Bathrooms clean. That was until we noticed an odor by the beds. Upon searching, found an 3/4 empy beer can that began to rot. By the time I found it and threw it out, kids were ready for bed. Would have been a hassle to complain by that time.

Overall, I've stayed here more than a few times in the past and decided to stay again this time based on my previous stays. If you're staying for one night, are young, no kids, then not a bad place to stay. Those with families, might find it a bit difficult.

Room Tip: If you do stay, try and get the upstairs or corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.