We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
2 reviews
“Reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Price-quality is fair, clean, old, good bed. wifi needed to be resetted twice. breackfast terrible. Safe was not usable as it was closed and the password was of course not known. Very friendly people. (Outside season, price very low)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojolaketahoe, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Paul V,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time for writing a review.
I am sorry to hear about the problems with the wifi and safe.
We do our best to make it convenient for our guests by offering complimentary wifi, with several connections available throughout the property. However, being in the mountains, we do have occasional issues with connectivity.
The safe is a Wyndham standard, and I apologize for it not being in working order. Please make sure to call us when you have any issues and we can fix that for you.

We hope to see you again soon. Please email us at hojoattahoe@gmail.com for any special arrangements during your next stay.

Best,

Chuan Mai
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    83
    73
    33
    21
See reviews for
95
77
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The positive.
1. The staff/manager is quite friendly and the check in smooth.
2. Location is great, can walk to the beach, close to food, grocery stores and the casinos.
3. Room was clean to a point. Will get to that on the negative side of my review.

The negative.
1. There's a $1.50 charge if you use the in room safe. Was advised during check in that I would not be charged unless I use it. When I checked my credit card statement, I was indeed charged the $1.50. Not a big deal and not a lot of money, but just odd. Guess it's just extra income for the owners.
2. Very thin walls. Heard people going to their room at 12am, baby crying, doors slamming. There also is some construction going on Hwy 50 and starts quite early as one other reviewer noted. You can hear everything!
3. Cleaniness. The room was clean upon going in. Bathrooms clean. That was until we noticed an odor by the beds. Upon searching, found an 3/4 empy beer can that began to rot. By the time I found it and threw it out, kids were ready for bed. Would have been a hassle to complain by that time.

Overall, I've stayed here more than a few times in the past and decided to stay again this time based on my previous stays. If you're staying for one night, are young, no kids, then not a bad place to stay. Those with families, might find it a bit difficult.

Room Tip: If you do stay, try and get the upstairs or corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FELTON
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great location for access to Lake Tahoe fun. The blacktop road work outside is almost finished...this will take care of the noise and slight odor problems we noticed.
The pool (closed) looked like a good one when in season. The staff opened up the hot tub cover for us in the late afternoon so we could enjoy a soak and the setting sun after our 1/2 day boat trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#39 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#51 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tahoe Chalet Inn
Tahoe Chalet Inn
#30 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#82 of 130 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort /...
#41 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.