We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HoJo's S. Lake Tahoe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Elizabethtown
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“HoJo's S. Lake Tahoe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

When I booked this hotel, I understood that it was on the lake, and I chose a room with a Jacuzzi. When I arrived, the only Jacuzzi room was a handicapped room, but I was offered a room with a “lake view.” The “lake view” from the room was a bit of the lake on the left, and a bit on the right. The rest of the “view” was of the motel that was actually on the lake. But we did have a great view of their parking lot. The hotel is tired and is apparently being renovated, which it badly needs. Our room had a hole in the wall patched with spackling, but not painted over. The coffee maker had only one pack of coffee, decaf, and the condiments were packed in a ziplock bag. The room was small, but adequate. Would I stare there again? Probably not.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    65
    58
    22
    16
See reviews for
77
60
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I recently spent the night here on my way to Reno (I had an afternoon flight and preferred staying at Tahoe over Reno) and was pleasantly surprised. First of all, as I pulled up I contemplated cancelling my reservation and going somewhere else. The place looked a little dumpy and was definitely run down. But, since it was only for one night, I stuck it out and am glad I did.

The room was large and the bed reasonably comfortable. Everything was clean and the staff were very friendly. Sure things weren't as up to date as other more expensive hotels but everything worked just fine and I got a great night's sleep (which is really all I care about anyway).

Yes, the place can do with an update but, all in all, for $35 a night (especially at Tahoe), I feel like it was money well spent. I can't say I'd go out of my way to stay here again but I also wouldn't be adverse to it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We spent two nights at this dump they call a hotel. The rooms and the hotel needs a top to bottom upgrade. But as is, I would avoid it at all costs.

While the rooms were clean, they were old and uncomfortable. Further, there were parties going on all night in the parking area, with people coming and going all night, thanks largely to the strip being a half mile away.

If that wasn't reason enough to stay away, the fact that is has NO direct access to the lake is another. In short, I would suggest shopping around. You will find better, as there is not shortage of hotels, resorts and motels in the area.

Room Tip: Go with an upstairs room... to help cut down on the noise. But if there is a party going on in the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in January 2012. The room was large and clean, and most importantly it was very warm. The lady at the front desk was very friendly. There is a diner called Heidis in front of the motel and there is an Italian restaurant across the road. We ate in the Italian both nights, it was really good. About 500m up the road there is a bar called McDuffs that was busy and good fun.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

We got a last minute reservation on a busy 3 day weekend for a decent price. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and there wasn't much road or other guest noise. The only downers were a very small shower with not the best water pressure and the heater took a while to heat up the room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I spent almost an entire month at this hotel. The rooms are very clean, and they provide free wifi, and a continental breakfast. The hotel is close to the beach/lake, but the best part of our experience, was the managers. This couple are so gracious, helpful, and informative, that they made all of the difference. We will always stay at this hotel when we visit Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011 via mobile

Very middle. Not good and yet not bad. Very easy to forget! Decent if you need a clean room to sleep in. Pool is right near the main road!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojolaketahoe, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you for your review-- as a small 50 room property, we do our best to ensure a clean, comfortable and pleasant stay at a value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe

Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.