We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough great things.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stardust Lodge to your Saves list
Stardust Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sparks, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Can't say enough great things.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Stardust has a long list of things they've done right. The location is fantastic, located directly across from the Heavenly Gondola and shopping. A quick walk gets you to lots of restaurants, shopping, casinos, a grocery store and the private beach they provide passes to. The Stardust staff is outstanding, the service offered here is hard to find but greatly appreciated.

The rooms make great use of the space, including a kitchenette in each room with a nice sized fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwave and cooktop. We prefer to eat in and they had barbeques for our use, the kitchens came with all the items we needed and there are plenty of outdoor dining areas to enjoy the weather and their gorgeous flowers and scenery.
They're wrapping up room renovations and the new mountain modern theme is gorgeous!! (Granite counters, wood-like tile floors and a two-headed shower!) They have 2 heated pools, 2 hot tubs, bikes, movies and games for use. I could go on and on...Bottom line is this is the only place to stay when you head to Tahoe!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. If stairs pose a challenge, be sure to request the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    69
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
127
152
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We agree completely with all the positive comments added previously. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the accommodation is spacious and designed to an unusually high quality.
When we return to Lake Tahoe, we certainly won't be considering anywhere else. We are now retired but we know our children would also have loved it here. It is within close walking distance of a range of shops and restaurants, as well as a really nice beach. It is also great to have a hot tub and pool available all year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Then Stardust is perfect for skiing Lake Tahoe. Amenities include outdoor BBQ's, two Hot Tubs, Swiming Pool, Continental Breakfast, just across street from Gondola to Heavenly, most units have been remodeled (check with front desk), Ice machine for those sore spots apres ski, free movies in lobby, flat screens in all rooms, nice decks to Apres Ski on, some rooms are good for partying (VIP, Moongate, Penthouse) Good for those on a budget. Good place to GET YOU SKI ON!

Room Tip: Ask if room has been remodeled recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Stardust Lodge doesn’t look like much. It’s got a weary exterior, as if it hasn’t been renovated since the 1970s. Even the sign resembles something from another era.

But this place is more than all right. It’s even very good. It delivers everything that it claims to, to the tee, which is much appreciated in a lodging industry full of inflated claims and promises.

The suites are a good size, with modern implements, and everything you might need-- complete silverware, cookery, and appliances such fridge (full sized), microwave and coffee maker. They even provide dish soap, towels, paper towels, and sponge. The best thing about the room is that the bathroom has a two-person shower, with two shower heads (one taller than the other) and instead of the annoying ceramic tile, they have used a rock-based “natural” look. Everything works!

The staff is very friendly. They advertise donuts and coffee in the morning, and add some bananas and oranges for good measure. Yes, it’s “just” cheap donuts but they do provide all different kinds. There are two small pools, and free laundry facilities (you need to provide your own detergent). The Stardust even has a decent gym.

There is ample parking inside the courtyard and around the back. And it is the closest place the Gondola, just a block and a half across the street. It’s also within walking distance of anything else you might need—such as the supermarket, drugstore, movie theatre, cafes, etc.

All this for a very reasonable price for Tahoe. What are my complaints? There aren’t any. If the chance arises, I’ll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent guest service by Myra and Andrew! Helpful and professional always! It was because of Andrews great service by phone that we made our reservation! It is for a 40th birthday celebration and we wanted it special! Have only been here 2 nights but very excellent service!!!! Service counts high on our list!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Everything that we experienced at the Stardust Lodge was top notch. The staff that works at the Lodge is great. They are very helpful and did everything they could to ensure that we had a great stay. Our room was very clean and very modern. I looked like it had been recently renovated. If you are in Tahoe to ski you will not find a better place to stay. It is right across from the Heavenly Village so you are literally feet away from the gondola. Lastly they serve a great breakfast every morning. We are health nuts but who doesn't like fresh donuts every morning?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I checked in to the moment we left, the service was top notch. Everyone was so helpful from the young man who led our morning walks to the helpful maintenance man. The room was beyond my expectations. There were many activities to take part in. The lasagna and the chili that were offered on a couple nights were delicious. The morning breakfast was perfect. The location could not have been better. Walking distance to the lake, casinos, Heavenly, and lots of shopping close by. There was nothing negative about the Stardust. We is our new favorite place to stay in Lake Tahoe! Thank you to everyone at the Stardust for making our vacation perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stardust Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.