We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to stay there again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust Lodge

Save Saved
You added Stardust Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Saratoga, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Can't wait to stay there again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I checked in to the moment we left, the service was top notch. Everyone was so helpful from the young man who led our morning walks to the helpful maintenance man. The room was beyond my expectations. There were many activities to take part in. The lasagna and the chili that were offered on a couple nights were delicious. The morning breakfast was perfect. The location could not have been better. Walking distance to the lake, casinos, Heavenly, and lots of shopping close by. There was nothing negative about the Stardust. We is our new favorite place to stay in Lake Tahoe! Thank you to everyone at the Stardust for making our vacation perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    53
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
79
114
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here twice during our 10 day ski holiday, one night at the beginning and the last two nights purely as we came out early and left later than planned. The first night we stayed in a one bed suite and it was perfect for us with two small children who slept on the very large sofa bed. The small kitchenette was perfect for breakfast before hitting the slopes, beautifully renovated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We would have stayed here had we not already booked and paid for the Embassy suites, but without a refund from there we had to leave. When we decided to stay an extra couple of nights we again booked the Stardust. This time we upgraded to a 2 bed suite and again were stunned at the gorgeous suite! Two lovely bedrooms with two bathrooms, a complete kitchen with everything and a flatscreen tv in both bedrooms and the lounge. Much more room to store the suitcases and the seperate bathrooms made all the difference. ALL the staff could not have helped more, whipping the covers off the lovely pool and spa at a mments notice, free DVD library and popcorn for the kids. When we come back to Tahoe, there is only one place I will ever book again and that is the Stardust. Perfect location for Gondola and ski school. Thankyou for such a memorable stay.

Room Tip: If you have large cases or a lot of baggage and there is 3 or more go for the 2 bed suite. Rooms ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The location of Stardust is perfect if you plan to ski at Heavenly. It's right across the street from the Heavenly Gondola and Heavenly Village. The staff was really nice and helpful with any questions we had.

We stayed in a Studio Suite with a murphy bed, perhaps I should have spent more to get a nicer room. We were in room 216 and it has a definite 70s vibe. We couldn't get the TV to work and didn't have time to report it or mess with it. I was disappointed one morning when I went for breakfast at 9 am and there was nothing left.

If I go again to South Lake Tahoe, I will probably stay at Embassy Suites. I think I'm just used to the style of the Marriotts/Hilton/Sheraton chains. There's absolutely nothing wrong with Stardust, but I prefer something more romantic. My husband would not stop making jokes about the room.

Room Tip: Until room 216 (Studio Suite) gets renovated, I recommend upgrading to a nicer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Stardust is such a great place for any kind of traveler. I stayed there for a business trip and loved having complimentary wi-fi and breakfast in the activity center. They have a DVD library and great flat screens to watch them on. The pool and hot tub are great and they have different activities going on at the hotel daily. The staff was wonderful, very kind and helpful. Stardust is in a great location, close to everything and the rooms are fantastic. I wish I could have stayed longer to take advantage of the kitchenette which come equipped with all you could need. There are several room types including suites with sofa beds that are perfect for the family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We wish you could have stayed longer too! Please don’t hesitate to come back and visit us again. We will soon have our bikes out soon so you can go on a nice bike ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thank you to the WONDERFUL, KIND, and PROFESSIONAL staff at Stardust. Lovely folks, very helpful in every fashion. A question will not go unanswered. Everyone, and I mean everyone is kind. Went above and beyond with courtesy and professional service. (The gentlemen working on maintenance as well). My reservation was made via phone, perhaps one month in advance. I travel and lodge as a corporate traveler, thus... I have been to many establishments. A wonderful welcome and visit. Exceptionally clean facility, grounds, laundry room (free!).Remember, read the web site carefully. You will get exactly what is offered with 5 star service. Ask questions if you are not sure. They are all most helpful. Excellent Taco Cart around the corner, market, bus stop, and Gondola access. I felt safe, and appreciated. I lodged in a back room which was quiet. The bed was comfy. What more can I say... I have Stardust in my eyes..

Room Tip: I pick rooms that will "lead to restful sleep". The back is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Glad you had such a wonderful experience during your stay with us! We very much look forward to seeing you in your next visit to Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our second trip to S. Lake Tahoe to ski Heavenly. The first trip we stayed at the Marriott. It was fine, but it as just a hotel room. Since we were just 2, it did not seem cost effective to get a condo. This year, we stayed at The Stardust and I could not be more pleased! It was directly across the street from the gondola and actually fewer steps that when we stayed at the Marriott (due to the long hallways and elevators). Although the Stardust does not look like much from the outside, the interior room renovations were top notch: Granite counter tops, stainless appliances, the tiling in the bathroom was fastastic! The shower had dual faucets and was big enough for 2. The bathrooms were heated separately and had cieling to floor mirrors to give the appearance of a much larger room. We stayed in 209 which is an efficiency with a pull down murphy bed. The mattress was comfortable and was the perfect size for 2. The kitchen area was fully stocked and incuded a 2 burner stove, a full size regfrigerator and dishwasher, toaster, coffee maker and microwave. There is no washer and dryer in the unit, but is available on premises. We did borrow some DVDs during our stay and used the hot tub as well. It was too cold while we were there to use the pool although it is heated year round to 86 degrees. The staff was very attentive and gave very good recommendations on places in the area to eat. The price we paid was less than half that of a hotel troom at the Marriott and I felt the accomodations were much better overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Please call us when you are ready to come back and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We just returned from a boys trip and stayed at the Stardust. We did not rent a car and took the shuttle from the airport for $27 each way (we walked two blocks to the shuttle pickup but I'm sure you can arrange some sort of transportation if need be). You don't need a car because the Stardust is literally directly across from the Gondola for Heavenly and a block or two from the 3 best casinos. The staff was helpful and as friendly as could be. They had lasagna night on Wednesday for $7 and it was really good. We had a remodeled 2 bedroom unit and it was absolutely perfect. More than enough room for 3 men. They have a heated pool and hot tub that we used daily. This is a simple place that provides lodging, a hot tub and pool, and a continental breakfast. No room service or anything like that, but you are in the middle of everything. We plan to make this trip next year too and we will definitely stay at the Stardust again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Ryan! Happy to hear you found your stay enjoyable and fun and close proximity to everything! Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stardust Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.