We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff-best location-fun and funky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust Lodge

Save Saved
You added Stardust Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“great staff-best location-fun and funky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Old time timeshare in the best location in Tahoe--two blocks from Harveys and Harrahs--two pubs and a brewery within a block.bikes, great continental breakfasts and a wonderful staff. We were fortunate to get one of the remodeled rooms and I must say that they did a wonderful job in the remodel. I understand that it will be two more years until they are all done over.

Staff again was wonderful and helpful...hope to be back before another ten years passes..

Room Tip: I like the 2nd floor away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to leave a comment about your stay. Please keep us in mind for your next visit to Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    53
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
79
115
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We exchanged our timeshare for a week at the Stardust Lodge in South Lake Tahoe.
Basically it is a motel that is being converted for timeshare use. Last time we stayed we had just a room with a pull out bed. This time we had a separate bedroom. The units are nothing special and do not have air conditioning or elevators for 2nd floor. However, it is the best location and the staff are great. There is always something to do. Because it is a smaller setting and because of the activities you meet a lot of nice people. We had terrific weather and did some travelling around. Went to Carson City (shopping), Virginia City (history and just fun), and Emerald Lake (beautiful), golfing. There is so much to do. Just walk around. The lake is close, bicycles are available. 2 pools and 2 hot tubs. Again the staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Probably make sure you get a separate bedroom. If you have trouble walking request a main floor if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Happy to hear you had an enjoyable vacation through the exchange! We hope to see you soon! Give us a call if you are in town and looking for a place to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coalinga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stay at this lodge everytime we go to south lake tahoe which is once a year in the summer. We love it! Very Clean and Quiet. Walking distance to casinos. Friendly and helpful staff! Close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us! As soon as you decide you are ready to come back please give us a call so we can book you next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

If I have to visit South Lake Tahoe again, I will definitely stay at Stardust Lodge. Sure, it looks like motel from outside, but the inside the room was a hotel feel. This place is for family, couples, young and old. They have activities planned throughout the week for all ages. The customer service was exceptional. They were very friendly. They guided us with any questions we had. The room was cleaned 3 times a week which was nice. The room had microwave, full size refriegerator, coffeemaker (no coffee, bring your own ground coffee), toaster, plates, cups, mugs, silverware for 4. We stayed at older room, which is waiting to be renovated, so they didn't have dishwasher. We took a look at the renovated room and it is nice, but no complaining with the room that was given to us.
They had breakfast everyday: boiled eggs, donuts, fruits, coffee, juice, hot chocolate. I would recommend downstairs room since it's closer to shops. It's right in front of Heavenly Gondolas (which were breathtaking), restaurants, walking distance to everything including stateline border. Our experience was great and we would stay here again depending on availability ofcourse, since we noticed every night they had 'no vacancy' sign up, so plan ahead! :)

Room Tip: Get a room on 1st floor across the gym so it's quicker to get to shops and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time and leaving a comment about your stay with us. I’m glad that the staff helped with any questions you had during your stay. Call us soon when you are ready to come back and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainier, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed one week at The Stardust. The rooms were extremely nice and roomy and clean. The staff did an exceptional job . The activities were so fun and the meals they served were great. They booked a cruise on the lake for us for our anniversary saving us money. It is within walking distance of the casinos, eating places and even the theater. We plan to make this an annual event.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
What a great way to spend your anniversary in beautiful Lake Tahoe! Please let us know when you are ready to come back and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at stardust lodge during our stay at South lake tahoe. This place is right opposite to the heavenly gondola ride and stateline. Needless to say it is at a prime location with walking distance to the Harrah's, Harveys etc. Room wise it is ok though colors in room are dull and wife didnt like it much. There are all kitcen utensils, hot plates etc if we you plan to cook food. Breakfast is not worth mentioning. I took the tahoe queen cruise package along with the stay for which they have arranged the passes before my arrival. We just needed to pick up the time for cruise and there is a free pick up shuttle stop(heavenly cinema) to Ski Run Marina(Tahoe Queen departs from here) which was very convenient. They also provided the Lakeside beach private pass which i think most of the hotels in that area offer.
Overall it was ok for short stay but if you dont plan to stay long in your room it is OK considering the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I appreciate you leaving a comment about how your stay was. Please let us know when you wish to stay with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Stardust Lodge in August 2012. From the outside, it looks like an older motel that was converted into studio condos - but the inside of the rooms are very nice. When we walked in, we were surprised to see that our unit didn't have a bedroom- and it took us a minute to realize that the wall unit contained a Murphy bed. But it was comfortable and worked out fine with just the two of us staying in the room.

The resort as a whole works very hard to cater to it's guests. Free cookies upon check-in, free coffee anytime in the lobby, free popcorn, planned activities for both kids and adults, free bike rentals, a DVD library that you can borrow from (again...for free!) to watch movies in your room, free breakfast in the a.m. (donuts, coffee, juice, hardboiled eggs) and free access to Lake Tahoe. The resort is not located right on the lake - but on the main road in South Lake Tahoe. The lake is about a 10 minute walk - or 2 minute drive - away. The resort has 2 pools (kept at a very nice 86 degrees) and 2 hot tubs - with certain hours reserved for adult use only. Overall, they do a really nice job in upkeep of the property.

The unit we stayed in has a partial kitchen with a sink, stovetop, microwave, full size refrig and a dishwasher. No oven - but that was OK for us. Dishes, papertowels, dishwasher soap and salt and pepper were all stocked in the unit.

The location is nice - it is about a 3 minute walk to the casinos in Stateline, NV and right across the street from the Heavenly gondola. Lots to see and do within walking distance. We used South Lake Tahoe as a home base and took day trips to other towns and parks around the area.

Overall, our experience was very positive and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hello- thank you for leaving feedback about your stay with us. Sounds like you had a wonderful time! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stardust Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.