We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is best feature; Aging unit; Sound/light is a problem” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Casino Center

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Casino Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4127 Pine Boulevard & Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
sacramento, ca
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Location is best feature; Aging unit; Sound/light is a problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I spent a Saturday night at the Rodeway Inn Casino Center, which is just a few blocks from the Casinos. I used Expedia to book the room as it had a special that was lower priced than booking through the website of Rodeway Inn (paid about $79 with taxes). We paid for a room with two queen beds and were given one on on the first floor, near stairs to the second floor. It seemed that the facility was mostly filled.

When we entered the room it had two queen beds, a small couch, a small and old Zenith TV, an open area to hang clothes and a bathroom with tub/shower. Overall the unit is somewhat small and lighting is inadequate if you want to sit at the couch or the desk. The beds had firm mattresses with clean sheets and bedding. Pillows seemed a little hard for us. The rug is aging, some areas of the walls need cracks filled and painted. The bathtub/shower combo had some stains. Water is hot and comes out quickly. The AC/heater is a wall unit just under the large window. It takes awhile to adjust and determine what heating setting is appropriate for your likes. I had to get up in the middle of the night and turn down the heat..it is effective.

For me the light entering around the curtains of the big window was a major issue. I am a light sleeper and I need a fairly dark room. Unfortunately light comes in around the top, side and bottom of the curtain and where the two curtains meet. This results in a room that is not overly dark.

Sound is an issue. First the sound of people talking late at night or walking by the unit is not deadened. This is common with units like this that have large windows and wall AC/heater units. Then there is the noise of the wall AC/heater unit. It is very near the first double bed and when it turns on you certainly can hear it.

There is a "concierge" whose role is to sell you the opportunity to hear a presentation on a new construction (might be time share..I was not interested in talking to him) or tours.

The breakfast in the morning offers a few cereals, bread, bagel, waffles, cooked eggs, cooked potatoes, cooked sausage patty, juices, coffee, tea, milk, and a very small muffin. The food is quite good, but with high demand the cooked food is sometimes not available. One person has to serve and clean and it may take a few minutes to restock food items. There are seats inside and outside.

Overall I rate Rodeway Inn average. At $79 it was a good value. I probably will look at some other properties the next time I stay overnight at South Lake Tahoe to find one that is more quiet and the room can be darker.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Casino Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey about your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We are making changes to the rooms all the time and recently installed new flat screen TV's and drapes. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    57
    23
    21
    20
See reviews for
24
55
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is walking distance to the beach. It is also a short distance (approx 6 miles) from major attractions. The hotel provides complimentary breakfast which is basic, but descent. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're on a budget and not looking for luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Casino Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey about your stay with us. Your feedback is important so that we can make change and improve our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A solid four star motel for sure. The room was immaculately clean, the bed and linens comfortable,with plenty of pillows. Windows were new, opened and closed easily. The bathroom, again, was spotless - always a good sign! The television had terrible reception, or it was just old and funky. I loved the tiny deck overlooking the pool area, which had some neat lighting at night. The breakfast was indeed large, as others have mentioned; there really was something for everyone, light or filling as you wish.
The building itself shows its age, and the carpets in the hallways could really use a good cleaning. In my room, the heater was awkwardly placed, blowing heat right at the desk chair. but, overall, it was a clean and comfortable place to sleep for a couple of days on vacation. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Casino Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your stay at our hotel. We are making changes all the time and since your stay we have put in all new Flat Screen TV's and Drapes. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
229 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

i stayed here twice in sept. on a hiking trip to lake tahoe. i was very impressed with the motel. it was in a quiet setting, away from the busy highway, and it was quiet at night for sleeping. my rooms were across the street from check-in, in the nicer of their two buildings.
the room had a minifridge and a full kitchen and microwave were available down the hall. the tv had 25 channels but cbs and nbc channels had unwatchable reception. when i asked the clerk about it, she said it's always been that way and blamed the cable company.
the second floor rooms have a balcony, which is nice, but no views. their website says there is a public computer for use, but the clerk said someone broke it so they don't offer use of a computer anymore.
the breakfast was extremely good - eggs, potatos, waffles, oatmeal, cold cereals, bagels, toast, fresh fruit, etc.
the man setting up timeshare visits was very annoying and persistent- he was at every breakfast.
the owner seems to care about the property and is upgrading it. overall, a good place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Casino Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey about your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Rodeway Inn Casino Center in South Lake Tahoe and enjoyed my stay. Be aware that there is no casino at the Rodeway Inn "Casino Center" (it's in CA) but Harveys and Harrahs are a block and 1/2 away on the other side of Stateline Rd. The Lake Tahoe beach is only about 3 blocks away. The room cost was very reasonable and competitively priced. I considered it a bargain. This Rodeway Inn consists of two buildings, directly across the street from each other. As all the motels in this area, the Inn is from the '60's era, but was well kept and clean. I stayed in a room with a small balcony across the street from check-in and check-in's adjoining breakfast buffet area. The rooms in the check-in building do not have balconies. The room was clean, the bed and pillows very comfortable. The shower/bath had excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. The towels were large and thick which was much appreciated at this price point. In this building there is a "community kitchen" on the 2nd floor which has a full size refrigerator/freezer, full size range/stove, a microwave, a sink and a small table with a couple of chairs. I believe a coffeemaker was also there, but not certain. Plates, bowls & utensils are provided and you are asked to clean them after use. I used the freezer overnight to refreeze my "blue ice" packs. I saw microwaves and small "fridges" on carts in the hallway, so these are available for your room. The night I was there there was no excess noise and I slept well.

The free breakfast was much more extensive than I expected. It included not only the usual coffee, oj, and pastries, but also cold cereals, make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, potatoes and some fresh fruit. I very much enjoyed the full breakfast. There is both a nice inside and outside seating area for the breakfast.

The one caveat that I found was that there is a $6.00 per person "resort tax" added to your room charge. This is not a "tax" imposed by any government agency, but rather, an additional charge for your room. There are a few of South Lake Tahoe's motels that add this extra non tax "tax". Just be aware of it and figure it in to your room charge along with the actual local tax.

All in all, I found the Rodeway Inn to be a clean, comfortable and convenient place to stay. I gave 3 stars (average) as compared to all lodging available at South Lake Tahoe. However, compared to those motels in it's "category" it's definitely a 4 star (very good).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Casino Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for the nice review and taking the time to complete our online survey about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here on a trip up the Eastern Sierra to Lake Tahoe. I selected the hotel because of its closeness to the beach and to casinos at the Nevada state line. (One person in our group of four likes to play Roulette when he gets the chance to.) I have to save the hotel was ok but what made it better was the Walking distance to the beach. They had a pretty good breakfast buffet and we could sit outside. A little bit of driving takes you to better beaches on the western side though. The rooms was small but clean and the beds were okay. I can say I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the rooms next to the laundry room at the reception and it was quite busy because they were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Casino Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is old and outdated but it was clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet. For the money this hotel is a great find. It is close to the casinos if you are going to a show, easily within walking distances. They also give you a guest pass to a very nice beach within walking distance as well. The breakfast was simple but tasty. We will definitely stay here again the next time we see a show at Tahoe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Casino Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Your feedback is very important to us so we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn Casino Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Casino Center

Address: 4127 Pine Boulevard & Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Casino Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rodeway Inn Casino Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Rodeway Inn Center
Rodeway Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Casino Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.