We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Casino Center

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Casino Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4127 Pine Boulevard & Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here as part of a package though Heavenly... but I usually stay at the Rodeway Inn where ever I go. Clean hotel rooms and friendly staff. This Rodeway Inn looks nicer than the pictures online (not usual for hotels I know). The room was clean and came with a porch, fridge, tv, big room, free toothpaste, etc. All the usual amenities you would expect. Its walking distance to all the casinos, Heavenly, and the Starbucks. Full breakfast - oatmeal, fruit, juice, coffee, made to order waffles, scrambled eggs with meat, toast, bagels, etc. Elevators to the rooms (nice with ski gear), free parking, hot tub and pool, friendly front desk staff.

I love the Rodeway Inn for the free wifi at all locations, free breakfast, and free parking. Oh and make sure you sign up for their points program. Ill be back!

Dont expect a 4 star resort. This is a motel... but a darn good one.

Room Tip: Ask for extra towels during your winter trip since you will need to dry off or shower extra after sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    57
    23
    21
    20
See reviews for
24
54
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I went on a short snowboarding trip with a buddy and stayed here and it was everything I could want and more for a $45/night hotel.
Pro's:
-inexpensive
-walking distance to casinos
-clean
-breakfast (better than I expected)
Con's:
-hot tub was not even close to hot enough

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Morne National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
455 helpful votes 455 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Cant believe anyone can say that this dive rates a 4 star on TA. The room is small with a king bed the bed blanket has rips and holes, the internet is a joke, the towel bar is falling off the wall,no card swipe to gain acess into the hallways so any riff raff can walk the hallways in the building across the street. The hot tub looks like a cess pool of germs, it hasnt been cleaned in months or years all the furniture has deep scratches, the walls have nicks and holes. We booked three nights and would leave after the first night but the hotel has a 48 hour cancellation policy so we are stuck. If your looking for a dive with a cheap rate you get what you pay for at this rodeway

Room Tip: simple tip book else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I used my Choice hotel points to stay for 2 nights. The checkin lady was very friendly and efficient. It was a busy weekend and the place was full. The room was across on the 2nd floor with a kingbed. Very comfortable and clean. Its located on a quite residential street so no noise and very quiet at night. The breakfast room is bigger than many other Rodeways with additional tables outside. Lots of hot stuff - scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles, etc and despite being full with a lot of people, the staff did a good job of replanishing. Walking distance to the beach. The casinos are just a two minute drive. Overall a very nice place to stay. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here in early September, and booked room last minute. There are pet friendly, and the free wi-fi was also pretty good. The front desk staff are friendly too! The free breakfast is decent with eggs, waffles, cereal and the usual. You can actually also eat outside or inside which is nice. (Not a rebuke on the hotel, but it is amazing to see people load up food, such as an entire plate of scrambled eggs which must weigh 1-2 lbs...Then throw over 3/4 of it away.)
Anyway, there is a free beach pass to a cute nearby beach (walkable). This saves you a few dollars as I believe admission was $5 each. The casinos are easily walkable, so you can park by your room and don't have to drive again. Our room was on the third floor across street from reception, but there are elevators. This is a good value, and in a great location! A room in a casino, with no amenities, was 5X the price!

Room Tip: Good location, walkable to free beach and the casinos are nearby within a few minutes walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We got a great rate midweek at this nice little place nestled in the pine trees. Our room was a king bed room across the street from the motel check in. Initially it seemed a bit small, but after unpacking, we had plenty of room. It also had a little balcony with 2 chairs and a small table overlooking a beautiful wedding garden. Our room and bathroom were very clean and the mattress on the bed was extremely comfortable. I also liked that the hallways were quite wide which made it easy to move luggage to and from our room. I thought the breakfast was pretty good - they even had scrambled eggs and hash browns! The motel is on a quiet side street but is still only a five minute walk from casinos or the private beach. I would definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: king room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Bird poop all over our balcony, cramped and mismatched room, small lumpy pillows, towel rack and toilet paper holder falling down, greasy breakfast (done serving at 9:30 am!)... I can't figure out why this hotel has been ranked so high in past reviews...
I would have reported problems during stay if anyone had answered at front desk, or been attending it when I walked across the street to the office, to find some help. When I reported problems at checkout, I was denied any discount for the multiple issues, including housekeeping walking in, unannoucnced, at 3 in the afternoon, while I was changing! When checking out, I was told management would call me when "they got back from church", to discuss the issues, but 4 days later, haven't heard from them. It was our 20th anniversary, & I was SO disappointed with this important aspect of our trip. It made me want to cry. The front desk staff blamed me for not walking to their offices, across the street to address the problems before checkout- but I did; as I said, no one was at the desk when I stopped in, and no one answered the phone when I called. Still I was charged full price for our small, mismatched, dirty room. The only good thing were the complimentary beach access, & that the sheets, sink & toilet were clean; I had to wipe down tables, door knobs, telephone and remote on my own, due to visable dust and dirt. What a sad joke.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn Casino Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Casino Center

Address: 4127 Pine Boulevard & Stateline, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Casino Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rodeway Inn Casino Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Rodeway Inn Center
Rodeway Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Casino Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.