We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   954 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Courteous, helpful staff made every effort to help me with a reservation problem (my mistake). Quick response and happy outcome! Soooo much better to deal with than the big hotels! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
9
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed here for 5 weeks during the 2014 ski season at Heavenly. The Inn is very conveniently located just about 5 minutes from the Gondola and the casinos. My room was always warm and comfortable. The manager was always available if I needed a local's advice about the weather or information about the area. My room was very clean, quiet, warm and there was always plenty of hot water. The room was recently remodeled so everything was very clean and fresh. I slept very well every night and the area is very safe. There are dozens of restaurants and a grocery within walking distance. Lots of things to do nearby if you are not a skier. I look forward to returning next winter if not sooner. A special thanks to the manager, Gary, and the rest of the staff for making me feel so welcome at the Inn. Thanks Guys!

Room Tip: just ask the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corolla, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

First of all, the location is perfect. You are literally minutes away from gondola, casinos and the lake. 
The staff is very friendly and helpful. When we found out we have problems with the microwave and called the reception, the issue was taken care of right away. The guy at the front desk was always there to help, whether it was laundry, toilet paper or questions about cable channels. 
Even though the place is a little dated, the rooms are always clean and cozy. They all have kitchenettes, wi-fi and tvs. What else do you need?
It's a perfect place for the price (we've looked around and it seemed like it was the most affordable inn in that area). 
Definitely coming back next year!    

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

don't expect big comfort and frills in this hotel. This is a very simple, nice place on a good location near the beach. the room had good beds & airco, the walls were rather thin. owner is very considerate and makes you feel welcome. if you're looking for a fair budget hotel, this is the place!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Best Choice inn very much it was very clean. It was also very close to resturants, shopping, moovies, and more. The rooms were recently remodeled. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Overall it was a great stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were pleasantly surprise with this diamond in the rough. The outside needs a bit of updating, but the rooms were exceptionally large, well appointed and spotlessly clean. We even had the sounds of nature greeting us from the room's radio. The mattress were comfy and the linens were soft. The staff, inclining Gary and the owner (a WWII Vet ... salute, in his 80's) were "family". There's no computer in the front desk ... just a big old smile! When we checked out, we got a LARGE basket of goodies .... cookies, chips, soda. Overabundant love to take on the road with us! Never have I received the love AFTER I checked out. That is tremendous.
If you want a simple, genuine and caring place to stay, this would be it! They try so much to help you have a nice staff. KUDOS to this nice inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

they catered to all our needs also added extras for our stay it was our anniversary and they added flowers and made sure we had everything we needed at no extra charge. rooms are like brand new they have been recently remolded. the cleanest hotel room i have ever been in

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl D, Manager at Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are very glad that you and your lovely wife had such a wonderful vacation. We hope you'll come again, so we can continue to cater to all your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe

Address: 954 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have an exceptional location. 3 blocks from the Heavenly Gondolas, less than a minute's drive from Harrah's Casino, and less that five minutes drive from Montbleu.But that's not all!Reserve your Standard Room ahead at Best Choice Inn, and have the ability to customize your room to your liking!Here at Best Choice Inn, we believe in value and customer service. Therefore, when you book any of our Standard Rooms, we'll give you the opportunity to select what kinds of amenities you want!Extra pillows? Coffee and danish for breakfast? A surge protector to charge up those extra electronic devices? An extra something because it's your birthday?Even just creating your dream romantic room and dedicating it to your sweetheart!Book at Best Choice Inn, and you'll have the ability to design your hotel room to your satisfaction. Just request a Standard Room to get started!*Note: customization only applies to Standard Rooms. All Budget and Economy rooms are not customizable. Every room is fitted with free wi-fi, a microwave and small refrigerator, and cable tv. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choice Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.